Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Boolean Operators: AND
- Connect key terms with AND to specify you want resources that include all listed items. Example: yoga AND mental health
Boolean Operators: OR
- Connect related terms or synonyms with OR to find resources that contain one, some, or all of the terms listed. Example: idea OR concept OR notion
Synonyms and Related Terms
- Add synonyms of related terms to your search to expand your resource pool. Synonym example: (scarcity OR shortage) Related term example: data OR information OR documentation OR records)
- Enclose related terms and synonyms in parentheses to specify that the database should parse them as a single unit. Think mathematical order of operations. Example: food AND (shortage OR scarcity) AND Missouri AND (youth OR adolescents)
Article (Periodical) Databases
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Associates Programs Source
Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content.
Business Insights: Essentials
This database provides company profiles, SWOT reports, financial data, industry statistics, as well as news coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present. It also contains a glossary of business terms.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Emerald eJournal Collection
Full-text access to nearly 150 journals. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Your gateway to the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Covering the field of library science, information management and more, this database contains more than 330 full-text journals.
ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics (1 user only)
Provides nearly 4,000 definitions on all aspects of statistics, including theoretical, survey, applied, and medical. Also includes short biographies of over 100 important statisticians