It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ash Grove High School: REL 131 Religion in America
Use quotation marks to combine multiple words into a single phrase or concept when searching. Example: "applied behavioral analysis"
Boolean Operators: AND
Connect key terms with AND to specify you want resources that include all listed items. Example: yoga AND mental health
Boolean Operators: OR
Connect related terms or synonyms with OR to find resources that contain one, some, or all of the terms listed. Example: idea OR concept OR notion
Synonyms and Related Terms
Add synonyms of related terms to your search to expand your resource pool. Synonym example: (scarcity OR shortage) Related term example: data OR information OR documentation OR records)
Enclose related terms and synonyms in parentheses to specify that the database should parse them as a single unit. Think mathematical order of operations. Example: food AND (shortage OR scarcity) AND Missouri AND (youth OR adolescents)
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
The ATLA Religion Database is a major research tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with most coverage from 1949 to the present.
Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
The landmark Encyclopaedia Judaica contains more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists, with more than 2,600 brand-new entries, many focusing on gender issues and New World geographic areas of the United States, Canada and Latin America.
It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of Quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Quranic studies.
It features "approximately 300 signed articles that trace the historical roots of the relations between politics and religion in the modern world and consider how these two elemental institutions of society have combined to shape public discourse, affect social attitudes, spark and sustain collective action, and influence policy, especially over the past two centuries."
Encyclopedia of Religion in America covers issues in a wide variety of social science disciplines, from American history to cultural studies, political science, gender studies, psychology of religion, and more. It describes the role of religion in the political, social, cultural, and historical framework of North America.