Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Accounting and Finance
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window This database provides company profiles, SWOT reports, financial data, industry statistics, as well as news coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present. It also contains a glossary of business terms.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Emerald eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text access to nearly 150 journals. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science.
- Mergent Online (10 user limit) This link opens in a new window Provides financial information on over 10,000 U.S. companies and 20,000 non-U.S. companies, as well as industry information for world-wide industries.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- CCH Tax Research Network This link opens in a new window An online tax research service from Commerce Clearing House which includes federal and state tax reporters, as well as IRS publications. Coverage is current and updates vary according to the publication.
- Encyclopedia of American Business This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of American Business is designed to help students understand the complex world of American business. Topics discussed in this resource were selected based on their prominence in the Wall Street Journal and other ‘principle’ texts used in beginning management, marketing, economics, finance, and accounting courses.
- Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia includes more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
