Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Mathematics
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
- ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
- Scitation This link opens in a new window Scitation is the database platform for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals and conference proceedings.
Google Scholar
Reference Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics (1 user only) This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 4,000 definitions on all aspects of statistics, including theoretical, survey, applied, and medical. Also includes short biographies of over 100 important statisticians
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography contains biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. It sheds light on not just the history of science, but on the history of humankind
