Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Art
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Full Text indexes and abstracts 425 periodicals dating back to 1984, with full text for 125 periodicals beginning in 1997. It covers art history, folk art, graphic arts, painting, sculpture, architecture, and pottery, there is also detailed coverage in advertising art, archaeology, costume, film, and textiles.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window This comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) "supports courses in American history and literature and is an outstanding, cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
- Oxford Art Online (3 user limit) This link opens in a new window Provides online access to four art reference sources, covering all aspects of visual arts and includes 40,000 selected image links to museums and galleries
- Picture Book Database This link opens in a new window Combines data from thousands of picture books as well as many publisher, author, and illustrator websites.
- WGSN This link opens in a new window WGSN contains up-to-date information about the apparel, style, design, and retail industries collected from all over the world.
