Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Biomedical Sciences
- Biological Abstracts (10 user limit) This link opens in a new window Biological Abstracts indexes articles in over 4,000 scientific journals from the life science and biomedical research literature, with coverage back to 1969. Topics covered include botany, pharmacology, biochemistry, microbiology, and evolutionary ecology, genetics, and more.
- CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (8 user limit) This link opens in a new window CINAHL with Full Text provides citations and full-text articles published in nursing journals, including information on consumer health, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Four medical databases which contain results and reviews on the health care effects of evidence-based clinical trials and research studies.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window This medical literature database contains citations which may link to full-text articles from medical and life science journals around the world.
- ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
- Salem Health This link opens in a new window Salem Health is the online version of five resources: Magill's Medical Guide, Psychology & Mental Health, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Addictions & Substance Abuse, and Infectious Diseases & Conditions.
- STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library (Varies from 1-5 users) This link opens in a new window An easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals, providing access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions.
