Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Language Study
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. It offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more. Furthermore, this database includes over 3,000 author profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in more than 4,400 journals and series from 1926-present.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive encyclopedia and reference product. It includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window A guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over a half million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
- World Almanac This link opens in a new window Essential Facts and Statistics on Hundreds of Fascinating Topics.
