Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases Best for Career Exploration
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Salem Careers This link opens in a new windowContains the online equivalent of four print resources emphasizing science and other emerging careers: Communications & Media, Healthcare, Hospitality & Tourism, Physics, and Information Technology.
Cost of Living Index This link opens in a new windowProvides up-to-date income and cost comparisons for over 300 urban areas in the U.S., including housing, utilities, transportation, health care, groceries, and other goods and services.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance contains information on more than 820 jobs in over 120 career fields or industries. Each career article provides a brief summary of the career, including recommended school subjects, personal skills, work environment, minimum educational requirements, salary ranges, certification or licensing requirements, and employment prospects and outlook.
Publication Date: 2017-08-01