Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Chemistry
- CAplus [Chemical Abstracts Plus] This link opens in a new window CAplus covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, providing bibliographic references mainly to journal articles and patents from more than 10,000 scientific journals. The bibliographic portion of this database provides comprehensive coverage of the published research literature in chemistry from 1907 to the present.
- CASREACT This link opens in a new window CASREACT contains "more than 16 million single- and multi-step reactions and more than 600,000 records from journal articles and patents with reaction information."
- CAS Registry This link opens in a new window CAS Registry covers specific chemical substances, including organic compounds, biosequences, coordination compounds, polymers, alloys, and tabular inorganics, covering 1957 to the present.
- ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window SciFinder is a platform that "allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more."
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography contains biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. It sheds light on not just the history of science, but on the history of humankind
- Salem Science This link opens in a new window This is the online version of seven scientific resources including Earth Science resources in weather, water, environmental issues, etc., and resources on forensic science
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Designed for general science students, with full-text periodicals, books, biographies, videos and images.
