Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for English
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. It offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more. Furthermore, this database includes over 3,000 author profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in more than 4,400 journals and series from 1926-present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Using JSTOR Video
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new windowThe Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that "contains over +2 million MARC fiction and non-fiction records for children's and young adult media as well as more than 400,000 quality reviews for many of these titles accessed in a single search.
- Critical Companion to J.R.R. Tolkien : A Literary Reference to His Life and Work This link opens in a new windowThe Critical Companion to J.R.R. Tolkien provides a reliable, up-to-date, and encyclopedic source of information on this influential writer for high school and college-level students, teachers, and the general public. Coverage includes: a concise but thorough biography of Tolkien.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowContains biographical information, overviews, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all genres and disciplines.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new windowLists over 4,400 currently indexed periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
- Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics This link opens in a new windowThe 4th ed., (c2012) of the landmark reference work on all aspects of the study of poetry and poetics, now with more international coverage on the poetries of more than 110 nations, regions, and languages.
- Salem Literature This link opens in a new windowCovers Critical Insight authors, works, and themes, along with Magill's Literary Annual (1977-present), and Masterplots.
