This is the "Home" page of the "United Nations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries home page

United Nations  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.missouristate.edu/unitednations Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Welcome to the United Nations Subject Guide! 

This is a selective guide designed to assist researchers and students in gaining access to United Nations materials available within the library’s collections and databases, and via the Internet.

Use the tabs above to find links for various types of information. 

If you have any questions, comments or suggestions please use the information on the right to contact me (either chat, phone, or email).

If you are having trouble finding what you need and want immediate assistance, feel free to call the Reference Desk at (417) 836-4535.  You can also email the Reference and Government Information Department or set up a research consultation by using the Ask A Librarian link. 

 

The UN Collection: What is it & Where is it?

 What is the UN collection?

As a full depository for UN publications, Meyer Library receives official records of the main organs of the United Nations:

  • General Assembly
  • Security Council
  • Economic and Social Council

Significant UN sales publications covering important global issues are also received, adding to the breadth and depth of the Library's internation collection, are in SWAN (the online catalogue) and available for circulation via MOBIUS & Interlibrary Loan.

Access to United Nations documents offered electronically is provided by UNBISnet, UN Official Document System (ODS), and the UN Treaty Collection found in the Indexes & Databases section (under “U”) of the Library’s website at http://library.missouristate.edu/.

In 2001, Meyer Library acquired a retrospective microform collection of UN documents covering the years 1946 to 1994 adding important historical resources to this noteworthy collection.

Where are the UN Documents?

The older collection of UN documents, 1946-1994, is located in two areas and in two formats.

 The 1946-1981 documents are in Readex microcards and are located in the Microforms Department on the lower level of Meyer Library. To best utilize this older format style, the library has purchased a reader/printer-scanner so that researchers can not only read these documents, but can also scan them in order to copy, e-mail, or fax.

The 1982-1994 documents are on microfiche and are located in the Government Information area on the first floor of Meyer Library. Reader/printer copiers are available for reading or copying these documents.

The recent collection of documents, 2001-present, is also located in the Government Information area on the first floor of Meyer Library. Along with the actual print documents are a variety of indexing tools and other reference sources which are designed to assist patrons in their research.

 Worth noting! 

Meyer Library acquired books by and about the United Nations long before becoming a UN depository!  Those books as well as United Nations documents with Library of Congress call numbers are identified in the online catalog by the location "MSU Meyer General."

 

Google Scholar

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Fuhrman
Contact Info
United Nations Depository
Reference & Government Information Dept.
Meyer Library, Missouri State University
Send Email

Available for FREE: Research Consultations!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip