Research Tutorials
This is the "Home" page of the "News Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries home page

News Resources   Tags: campus news, local news, news, newspapers, us news, world news  

A guide to international, national, local, and campus news sources.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.missouristate.edu/content.php?pid=71023 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Grace Jackson-Brown
Contact Info
Meyer Library
Office 110F
Send Email
 

Databases for Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Source - This EBSCO database provides full-text coverage for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, and selective coverage for over 330 regional newspapers.

Lexis-Nexis Academic - provides newspaper articles dated after 1980.


Kansas City Star -
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from the Kansas City area, with coverage from 2007 to present

NewspaperCat - A catalog of online digitized newspapers from museums, archives, and libraries across the United States and the Caribbean.

New York Times - Contains the full-text, digital version of the New York Times from June, 1980 to present.

Springfield Newspaper Index - part of the Springfield-Greene County Public Library's Ozark News and Historical Index, which indexes Springfield newspapers (1867-2002) and provides selected topical indexing to regional periodicals primarily from the 1970s to 1990s.

Wall Street Journal - The Wall Street Journal online offers full-text coverage of all articles by Wall Street Journal staff writers from 1984 to date, including the current day's news.

World News Digest -This online news digest is updated weekly and summarizes current events. You can browse by decade and by year the most important events, year’s top stories, historic events, key issues and people. 

 

Newspaper articles dated before 1980: 

To find newspaper articles dated prior to 1980, you will need to use print newspaper indexes, which list newspaper articles organized by topic and year.  The following indexes would be excellent guides to national and regional news.  The New York Times Index is located in the Reference area on first floor, while the other four indexes are located on the lower level in the  Ref Newspaper Indexes area:

New York Times Ref AI21 .N45 

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Ref News Index AI21.S79 B44

Los Angeles Times  Ref News Index AI21.L65 L67   

Chicago Tribune   Ref News Index  AI21.C45 C47

Washington Post  Ref News Index  AI21.W33 O54x 

To use an index, select the volume with the correct year and look up your topic.  Make a note of the newspaper title, year, date, page and section where your article is located.  Try looking for articles from different newspapers across the country for unique information and perspectives on the topic.   Remember the reference staff is available to assist you!

Take the information about the article you have found to the Microforms Department, located in the basement (lower level) of Meyer Library.  The Microforms Department contains the microform collection, current newspapers, and periodicals.  The library maintains back issues of newspapers and some magazines on microform instead of keeping paper copies.  Microform readers are available that can be used to view and print articles from microform.  If you need assistance, Microforms Department staff will be happy to help you.

 

For Help!

Chat Online

Text: Text us with your question at (417) 708-9463

Phone Reference: Call us for help at 417-836-4535

Research Consultation Request Form 

Walk-In Assistance:  Go to the Reference Desk on the first floor of Meyer Library for help

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip