201 Careers in Nursing201 Careers in Nursing, the new edition significantly expanding, updating and revising 101 Careers in Nursing, is your guide to careers in nursing practice, education, research, and so much more.Comprehensive in scope and for nurses at all levels, each career description includes educational requirements, core competencies, and required skills. Interviews with nurses working in a variety of roles and settings bring to life the breadth of opportunities available to nurses today.
Achieving Competencies For Nursing Practice : A Handbook For Student NursesThis book will offer examples to nursing students to enable a creative and innovative understanding of how the competencies may be demonstrated in the many contexts where practice occurs with individuals, groups or possibly communities.
Comprehensive Neonatal Nursing Care : Fifth EditionThis book provides a complete look at neonatal healthcare delivery. This edition includes discussions of contemporary topics of interest, such as informatics, genetics, global health, and family-centered care, which are vital to providers caring for neonates today. The case studies and the evidence-based practice dialogues at the end of each chapter provide great opportunities for further reflection.
Encyclopedia of Nursing EducationWritten by luminaries in the field of nursing education, this is the only current and comprehensive compendium of important topics in nursing education. It contains more than 175 detailed entries, and will be a valuable reference text for doctoral- and master's-level nursing students, nursing faculty, university and hospital libraries worldwide, and hospital nursing departments and schools
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, Third EditionThe award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references.
Fast Facts About Nursing and the Law : Law for Nurses in a NutshellThis Fast Factslegal reference provides the quick, reliable legal information that nurses need to protect themselves in practice, management, and education. The only resource of its kind, it has been authored by highly respected nurse attorneys and practitioners who present complex information in straightforward, accessible language organized into easily digestible segments
Fast Facts for the Pediatric Nurse : An Orientation Guide in a NutshellThis new addition to the Fast Facts series delivers the core information for orienting novice nurses or nursing students to the challenging field of pediatric nursing. Pocket-sized and formatted for quick access to the knowledge a pediatric nurse needs daily, it is packed with concise information on both disease processes and well child care, and offers the clinical advice that comes from years of experience
Fast Facts on Adolescent Health for Nursing and Health Professionals : A Care Guide in a NutshellThis latest addition to the ìFast Factsî series, authored by nursing luminary Judith Herrman, is a pithy, authoritative guide to adolescent health designed specifically for nurses at all levels and other health professionals. It is the only book written for health care professionals who work with adolescents in schools, community agencies, neighborhoods, and other settings. It contains abundant resources for best servingóand having a positive impact onóthis population. Designed to provide speedy information retrieval, the guide describes a broad spectrum of health and health care issues particular to adolescents, reviews current data, explores behaviors and risk factors, and addresses nursing implications for treatment.
Mentoring in Nursing : A Dynamic and Collaborative Process, Second EditionTransformative Learning Theory offers a uniquely inclusive methodology across all levels of nursing education for educators and students focused on common nursing arenas and situations. This is the only book to present practical, innovative strategies for novice and experienced nurse educators to apply Transformative Learning Theory in various curricula, courses, and learning situations.
Middle Range Theory for Nursing : Third EditionThis third edition of a two-time AJN Book of the Year Award winner contains two new theories, including self-reliance theory and transitions theory. It revises and updates all other content, and provides ladders of abstraction for each theory to guide students in their appropriate use. T
NURSING: The Ultimate Study GuideNot your typical study guide, this single resource contains all of the core information an undergraduate nursing student needs to know from the first day of nursing school through the NCLEX-RN. Written in a succinct, well-organized, easy-to-read format, the guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course.
Nursing Homes ExplainedThe book educates readers about the long-term care industry and the field of gerontology, with a discussion on death and dying, Alzheimer units, rehabilitation processes, elder abuse, the physician's role, and how corporations, middle management and direct care providers operate within the elder-care/medical profession.
Nursing Older AdultsThis book, edited by a team of renowned older adult and nursing experts, considers the principles and practices of older adult nursing as well as the wider social considerations to do with an ageing population.
Nursing Research Using Historical Methods : Qualitative Designs and Methods in NursingThis is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of historical analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency.
Nursing the Acutely Ill Adult : Case BookThis text, part of the Case Book series, will help students integrate their knowledge of pathophysiology, pharmacology and nursing care so they can apply it in professional practice.
Pediatric Nursing Test Success : An Unfolding Case Study ReviewThis novel resource for course content review of pediatric nursing and NCLEX-RN preparation features a potent learning techniqueóthe use of unfolding case studiesóto enhance critical thinking skills and enable students to think like a practicing nurse. Covering both basic and advanced nursing concepts of caring for children and families, this format embeds required content into compelling, real-life scenarios that evolve over time.
Pioneering Theories in NursingPioneering Theories in Nursing traces the origins of nursing theories through their founders. Unlike other nursing theory texts, this book provides the personal story on some of the greatest nursing leaders, clinicians and theorists to date so the reader can understand the context within which the nursing pioneer developed their theory. It will attempt to explain the theories and practice of nursing and provide food for thought for students and practitioners, encouraging reflective thinking.
Psychiatric Nurses Perceptions of the Constituents of the Therapeutic RelationshipPsychiatric nursing is invariably linked with a therapeutic role; however the question remains unanswered in relation to the extent psychiatric nurses perceive the importance of the constituents of the therapeutic relationship. The aim of this book is to ascertain the nature and comprehension psychiatric nurses assign this therapeutic role.
Rural Nursing : Concepts, Theory, and Practice, Fourth EditionThe fourth edition of the only text to focus on nursing concepts, theory, and practice in rural settings continues to provide comprehensive and evidence-based information to nursing educators, researchers, and policy-makers. The book presents a wealth of new information that expands upon the rural nursing theory base and greatly adds to our understanding of current rural health care issues.
The Essence of Nursing Practice : Philosophy and PerspectiveThis one-of-a-kind book provides an in-depth analysis of nursing practice as a concept and area of study, rather than as an aggregation of specific techniques and skills. The text addresses the essential features of nursing practice using a five-level nursing framework developed by the author. This framework promotes a deep understanding of how nursing should be holistically practiced rather than focusing on particular nursing competencies.
To Comfort Always : A Nurse's Guide to End-of-life CareTo Comfort Always is an award-winning basic primer for nurses on how to care for patients at the end-of-life. This book is a guide to understanding the needs of both patients and families and the important role nursing plays in addressing those needs providing the reader with a framework that defines the nursing role in terms of the skilled clinician, the advocate and the guide. This updated edition provides readers with new content specifically on chronic illness and dementia.
What Makes a Good Nurse : Why the Virtues Are Important for NursesNursing's values are in danger of becoming marginalised further precisely because that which nursing does best - providing care and helping individuals through the human trauma of illness - is difficult to measure, and therefore plays little, if any, part in official accounts of outcome measures. Derek Sellman sets out the case for re-establishing the primacy of the virtues that underpin the practice of nursing in order to address the question: what makes a good nurse?
Related Subjects
See also Health, Law, Medicine, and Psychology in this Subject Guide