LibGuides: E-Books: Law

Overview

Administrative Law
Business Law
Common Law
Contract Law
Criminal Law
Environmental Law
Family Law
Humanitarian Law

Administrative Law

Administrative Justice in Context This book comprises a definitive collection of papers on administrative justice, written by a set of very distinguished contributors. The chapters adopt a variety of disciplinary perspectives, including those derived from political science, public policy, social policy, accounting and information technology as well as from law.
Administrative Law Administrative Law provides a sophisticated but highly accessible account of a complex area of law of great contemporary relevance and increasing importance.
Administrative Law in the Political System Now revised and updated in a fifth edition, this comprehensive text explores the role of administrative law in public policy from a social sciences rather than a legal perspective.
Law & Legal Issues in the United States : Analyses & Developments
Law and Happiness Law and Happiness brings together the best and most influential thinkers in the field to explore the question of what makes up happiness and what factors can be demonstrated to increase or decrease it.
The Secrets of Law The Secrets of Law explores the ways law both traffics in and regulates secrecy. Taking a close look at the opacity built into legal and governance processes, it explores the ways law produces zones of secrecy, the relation between secrecy and justice, and how we understand the inscrutability of law's processes.
Values in Global Administrative Law The present collection brings together some of the leading scholars working in the field of global administrative law to address past and future challenges related to global governance. Each of the contributions picks up on the more general theme of the values that do or should inform global administrative law, and the book in this way provides a novel and thought-provoking commentary on this most engaging area of debate.
Women and Law : Critical Feminist Perspectives

Business Law

Business Law Designed for non-lawyers, Business Law is written in a clear and easy-to-follow style which avoids excessive legal terminology and presents the need-to-know facts and cases.

Common Law

Law & Equity : Approaches in Roman Law and Common Law In Law & Equity, specialists in the field examine the curious dual structure that shaped the law of England and Rome. Why did this dual structure come about and how did it influence historical developments in substantive law?
Withces, Wife Beaters, and Whores : Common Law and Common Folk in Early America The early American legal system permeated the lives of colonists and reflected their sense of what was right and wrong, honorable and dishonorable, moral and immoral. In a compelling book full of the extraordinary stories of ordinary people, Elaine Forman Crane reveals the ways in which early Americans clashed with or conformed to the social norms established by the law.

Contract Law

Commercial Contracts : Drafting Techniques and Precedents
Contract and Consent : Representation and the Jury in Anglo-American Legal History In Contract and Consent, the renowned legal historian J. R. Pole posits that legal history has become highly specialized, while mainstream political and social historians frequently ignore cases that figure prominently in the legal literature. Pole makes a start at remedying the situation with a series of essays that reintegrate legal with political and social history.
Mistakes in Contract Law This book explains the common law doctrine through an examination of the historical development of the doctrine in English law. Beginning with an overview of contractual mistakes in Roman law, the book examines how theories of mistake were received at various points into English contract law from Roman and civil law sources.
Reconstructing Contracts Douglas Baird takes stock of the current state of contract doctrine and in the process reinvigorates the classic framework of Anglo-American contract law, showing that Oliver Wendell Holmes's set of principles, properly understood, continue to provide the best guide to contracts for a new generation of students, practitioners, and judges.

Criminal Law

Criminal Justice : A Beginner's Guide
Essays on International Criminal Justice
How They Got Away with It : White Collar Criminals and the Financial Meltdown
International Criminal Law : A Collection of International and Regional Instruments The present collection is a selection of the most important instruments. It is meant to guide students and practitioners through the labyrinth. Its focus is on international (universal) and European instruments.
Introduction to International Criminal Law Written by one of the world's pioneers and leading authorities on international criminal law, this text book covers the history, nature, and sources of international criminal law.
Legal Ease : A Guide to Criminal Law, Evidence, and Procedure Legal Ease is a versatile book that addresses how laws evolve and change as if they were living, breathing entities that are a mirror reflecting societal change. This new third edition offers the reader an expansive and practical guide to the many aspects of law.
Philosophical Foundations of Criminal Law
Sex Offender Laws, Second Edition : Failed Policies, New Directions
The Collapse of American Criminal Justice Rule of law has vanished in America's criminal justice system. Prosecutors decide whom to punish; most accused never face a jury; policing is inconsistent; plea bargaining is rampant; and draconian sentencing fills prisons with mostly minority defendants. A leading criminal law scholar looks to history for the roots of these problems—and solutions.
The Diversification and Fragmentation of International Criminal Law This volume deals with the tension between unity and diversification which has gained a central place in the debate under the label of ‘fragmentation'. It explores the meaning, articulation and risks of this phenomenon in a specific area: International Criminal Justice.
The Eternal Criminal Record For 60 million Americans a criminal record overshadows everything else about their identity. Citizens have a right to know when someone around them represents a threat. But convicted persons have rights too. James Jacobs examines the problem of erroneous records and proposes ways to eliminate discrimination for those who have been rehabilitated.
The Handbook of Comparative Criminal Law This handbook explores criminal law systems from around the world, with the express aim of stimulating comparison and discussion.
The New Philosophy of Criminal Law The authors in this volume go beyond traditional questions to challenge our conventional understandings of the criminal law. In doing so, they draw from a number of disciplines including philosophy, history, and social science.
The Realities of International Criminal Justice The Realities of the International Criminal Justice System takes an analytical and critical look at the impact of the major instruments of international criminal justice since the 1990s with the advent of the International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and Yugoslavia.
Whose Criminal Justice? : State or Community? Drawing on the different disciplines of Law, criminology, forensic psychology, social work and public management, the contributors explore the shifts and progress made in criminal justice in England and Wales over the past two decades and highlight the possibilities and pitfalls for the future.

Environmental Law

Criminological and Legal Consequences of Climate Change This edited collection, the result of an international seminar held at the International Institute for the Sociology of Law, OÃ±ati, Spain in 2010, explores the potential legal and criminological consequences of climate change, both domestically and for the international community.
Exploring Wild Law : The Philosophy of Earth Jurisprudence Wild law is a groundbreaking approach to law that stresses human dependence on nature. For the first time, this volume brings together voices from the leading proponents of wild law around the world. It introduces readers to the idea of wild law and considers its relationship to environmental law, the rights of nature, science, religion, property law and international governance.
Greenprint : A New Approach to Cooperation on Climate Change
International Environmental Law and Policy for the 21st Century International Environmental Law & Policy for the 21st Century, 2nd Revised Edition, provides a fresh, comprehensive, and in-depth analysis of the immense and challenging field of IEL, perfect for the needs of students, scholars, professionals, NGOs, and lay readers alike.
Plato's Revenge : Politics in the Age of Ecology In this provocative call for a new ecological politics, William Ophuls starts from a radical premise: 'sustainability' is impossible. Ophuls warns us that we are headed for a postindustrial future that, however technologically sophisticated, will resemble the preindustrial past in many important respects. With Plato's Revenge, Ophuls, author of Ecology and the Politics of Scarcity, envisions political and social transformations that will lead to a new natural-law politics based on the realities of ecology, physics, and psychology
Taking Back Eden : Eight Environmental Cases That Changed the World Taking Back Eden is the gripping tale of an idea—that ordinary people have the right to go to court to defend their environment—told through the stories of lawsuits brought in eight countries around the world.
The Future of International Environmental Law

Family Law

A Troubled Marriage : Domestic Violence and the Legal System The development of a legal regime to combat domestic violence in the United States has been lauded as one of the feminist movement's greatest triumphs. But, Leigh Goodmark argues, the resulting system is deeply flawed in ways that prevent it from assisting many women subjected to abuse.
Domestic Violence : Legal Sanctions and Recidivism Rates Among Male Perpetrators Cosimo examines the effects of civil and criminal legal sanctions for domestic violence related offenses on recidivism and on whether the number of legal sanctions imposed by the courts influences non-recidivism status.
Equality, Dignity, and Same-sex Marriage : A Rights Disagreement in Democratic Societiesv This book studies the concepts of equality and dignity, and reveals their inadequacies as grounds for same-sex marriage. It argues that the moral disagreement involved entails finding common ground for deliberation between parties who share fundamental values as fellow rights-holders.
Family Law : Text, Cases, and Materials The second edition of this comprehensive guide to family law, presents everything an undergraduate family law student needs in one volume. Drawing on their extensive experience, the authors offer a detailed and authoritative exposition of family law illustrated by materials carefully selected from a wide range of sources.
Family Law Reimagined This is the first book to explore the canonical narratives, stories, examples, and ideas that legal decision makers invoke to explain family law and its governing principles. Jill Elaine Hasday shows how this canon misdescribes the reality of family law, misdirects attention away from actual problems family law confronts, and misshapes policies.
Inside the Castle : Law and the Family in 20th Century America Inside the Castle is a comprehensive social history of twentieth-century family law in the United States. Joanna Grossman and Lawrence Friedman show how vast, oceanic changes in society have reshaped and reconstituted the American family.
Justice for Kids : Keeping Kids Out of the Juvenile Justice System Justice for Kids presents a compelling argument for rethinking and restructuring the juvenile justice system as we know it.
Mothers on Trial : The Battle for Children and Custody Although mothers generally retain custody when fathers choose not to fight for it, fathers who seek custody often win—not because the mother is unfit or the father has been the primary caregiver but because, as Phyllis Chesler argues, women are held to a much higher standard of parenting. Incorporating findings from years of research, hundreds of interviews, and international surveys about child-custody arrangements, Chesler argues for new guidelines to resolve custody disputes and to prevent the continued oppression of mothers in custody situations.
Papa's Baby : Paternity and Artificial Insemination In Papa's Baby, Browne C. Lewis argues that the courts should take steps to insure that all children have at least two legal parents.
Red Families V. Blue Families : Legal Polarization and the Creation of Culture Red Families v. Blue Families identifies a new family model geared for the post-industrial economy. Rooted in the urban middle class, the coasts and the'blue states'in the last three presidential elections, the Blue Family Paradigm emphasizes the importance of women's as well as men's workforce participation, egalitarian gender roles, and the delay of family formation until both parents are emotionally and financially ready. By contrast, the Red Family Paradigm--associated with the Bible Belt, the mountain west, and rural America--rejects these new family norms, viewing the change in moral and sexual values as a crisis.
The Right to Be Parents : LGBT Families and the Transformation of Parenthood The Right to be Parents is the first book to provide a detailed history of how LGBT parents have turned to the courts to protect and defend their relationships with their children
What Is Parenthood? : Contemporary Debates About the Family What Is Parenthood? asks bold and direct questions about parenthood in contemporary society, and it brings together a stellar interdisciplinary group of scholars with widely varying perspectives to investigate them.

Humanitarian Law

An Introduction to International Refugee Law This book provides an overview of the development and substance of existing international refugee law with a view to reveal its gaps, caveats, and inadequacies that militate against the establishment of an effective legal regime to address mounting global refugee crises. The book pursues a reformist agenda towards affording legal coverage to all refugees generated by any genuinely involuntary grounds.
Crimes Against Humanity : Birth of a Concept This book tells the story of the emergence of the concept of crimes against humanity. It examines its origins, the ethical assumptions underpinning it, its legal and philosophical boundaries, and some of the controversies connected with it.
Human Rights and the Environment : Philosophical, Theoretical, and Legal Perspectives The book examines the genesis and development of environmental rights (or the Right to Environment) in international law and discusses their philosophical, theoretical and legal underpinnings in the context of sustainable development and the notion of solidarity rights.
International Human Rights and Humanitarian Law How do international human rights and humanitarian law protect vulnerable individuals in times of peace and war? Provost analyses systemic similarities and differences between the two to explore how they are each built to achieve their similar goal.
International Humanitarian Law
International Humanitarian Law : Origins, Challenges and Prospects In three distinct volumes the editors bring together a distinguished group of contributors whose essays chart the history, practice, and future of international humanitarian law.
International Humanitarian Law : Theory, Practice, Context Also available as an e-book This book is about international humanitarian law or - as it is also called - the 'law of armed conflict' or 'law of war'. It emerged from a series of lectures delivered at the Hague Academy of International Law.
International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights Law : Towards a New Merger in International Law
International Humanitarian Law and the Changing Technology of War
Sustainable Development : Towards a Judicial Interpretation Sustainable Development presents a succinct examination of the emerging principles in international, regional and national legal regimes that are providing a basis for supporting environmental protection in the global community through adherence to the philosophy of sustainable development.
The Law of Internal Armed Conflict From regulations in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries according to the doctrine of recognition of belligerency, this book traces the subsequent development of international law by the Geneva Conventions and their additional Protocols, as well as through the more recent jurisprudence of the Yugoslav and Rwandan tribunals.
Women, Armed Conflict and International Law

Overview

Indigenous Peoples Law
Intellectual Property Law
International Law
Labor Law
Law of War
Legal Research
Legal Theory
Maritime Law
Natural Law
Patent Law
Property Law
Religious Law
School Law
Tort Law

Indigenous Peoples Law

Aboriginal Title : The Modern Jurisprudence of Tribal Land Rights Aboriginal title represents one of the most remarkable and controversial legal developments in the common law world of the late-twentieth century. This book is a history of this doctrine and the explosion of intellectual activity arising from this inrush of legalism into the tribes'relations with the Anglo settler state
Beyond Intellectual Property : Toward Traditional Resource Rights for Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities The concept of traditional resource rights (TRR) reflects the necessity of rethinking the limited and limiting concept of intellectual property rights (IPR). This book introduces the TRR concept in a manner organised around a series of questions that might emerge in a community when a visitor arrives to collect information or cultural or biogenetic materials. Each chapter begins with a summary of the main issues it addresses and ends with options and suggested actions.
European Conquest and the Rights of Indigenous Peoples : The Moral Backwardness of International Society At the heart of contemporary struggles is the core right of self-determination, and Keal argues for recognition of indigenous peoples as 'peoples' with the right of self-determination in constitutional and international law, and for adoption of the Draft Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples by the General Assembly.
Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights This book is a full-length study of the rights of indigenous peoples in international law, focusing in particular on instruments of human rights. The primary reference point is contemporary law, though the book also examines the history of indigenous peoples through the lens of historical legal discourses.
Indigenous Peoples, Constitutional States and Treaties or Other Constructive Arrangements Between Indigenous Peoples and States
Property Rights, Indigenous People and the Developing World : Issues From Aboriginal Entitlement to Intellectual Ownership Rights
Tribal Law and Order : A Plan to Enhance Tribal Justice
Who Owns Native Culture? 'Documents the efforts of indigenous peoples to redefine heritage as a protected resource. Michael Brown takes readers into settings where native peoples defend what they consider to be their cultural property... By focusing on the complexity of actual cases, Brown casts light on indigenous grievances in diverse fields... He finds both genuine injustice and, among advocates for native peoples, a troubling tendency to mimic the privatizing logic of major corporations'--jacket.

Intellectual Property Law

Intellectual Property Law From copyright to patents, from data protection to freedom of information, and from e-commerce to cybercrime, Intellectual Property Law Essentials explains how UK statue law protects and regulates your information and ideas. End-of-chapter summaries of essential facts highlight the key things you should have learned, and summaries of essential cases show how the law is enforced in practice.
Intellectual Property on Campus : Students' Rights and Responsibilities What issues arise when students'uses of intellectual materials are legally challenged, and how does the academic context affect them? What happens when users of intellectual property, either within or outside the academic structure, violate students'rights to their intellectual products? In Intellectual Property on Campus, TyAnna K. Herrington addresses these concerns.
Intellectual Property Rights And The Life Science Industries: Past, Present And Future (2nd Edition) This book is a highly readable and entertaining account of the co-evolution of the patent system and the life science industries since the mid-19th century. The pharmaceutical industries have their origins in advances in synthetic chemistry and in natural products research. Both approaches to drug discovery and business have shaped patent law, as have the lobbying activities of the firms involved and their supporters in the legal profession. In turn, patent law has impacted on the life science industries.
Intellectual Property, Market Power and the Public Interest
No Law : Intellectual Property in the Image of an Absolute First Amendment The original text of the Constitution grants Congress the power to create a regime of intellectual property protection. The first amendment, however, prohibits Congress from enacting any law that abridges the freedoms of speech and of the press. While many have long noted the tension between these provisions, recent legal and cultural developments have transformed mere tension into conflict. No Law offers a new way to approach these debates.
The Economic Structure of Intellectual Property Law
The Eureka Myth : Creators, Innovators, and Everyday Intellectual Property Breaking new ground in its examination of the U.S. economy and cultural identity, The Eureka Myth draws out new and surprising conclusions about the sometimes misinterpreted relationships between creativity and intellectual property protections.
International Law and Indigenous Knowledge : Intellectual Property, Plant Biodiversity and Traditional Medicine In International Law and Indigenous Knowledge, Chidi Oguamanam argues that the crisis of legitimacy indigenous knowledge poses for the intellectual property system compels a re-thinking of the concept of intellectual property itself.
International Law and Indigenous Peoples

International Law

An Introduction to International Law National judges are a sort of propelling force behind international law to the extent that they perceive the need to realize that international solidarity which is too often lacking at the level of governments. Hence they are the principal addressees of this book.
An Introduction to International Refugee Law This book provides an overview of the development and substance of existing international refugee law with a view to reveal its gaps, caveats, and inadequacies that militate against the establishment of an effective legal regime to address mounting global refugee crises. The book pursues a reformist agenda towards affording legal coverage to all refugees generated by any genuinely involuntary grounds.
Children's Rights : Laws and Practices in Sixteen Nations
International Criminal Law : A Collection of International and Regional Instruments The present collection is a selection of the most important instruments. It is meant to guide students and practitioners through the labyrinth. Its focus is on international (universal) and European instruments.
International Law : Contemporary Issues and Future Developments Invited contributions from well-established scholars and emerging stars in law and politics provide instructors and students with a compact, essential reader of timely essays on the key issues facing international law today.
International Law and Indigenous Peoples
International Law and the Future of Freedom International Law and The Future of Freedom is the late John Barton's exploration into ways to protect our freedoms in the new global international order. This book forges a unique approach to the problem of democracy deficit in the international legal system as a whole—looking at how international law concretely affects actual governance.
International Law for Humankind : Towards a New Jus Gentium This volume is an updated and revised version of the General Course on Public International Law delivered by the Author at The Hague Academy of International Law in 2005.
International Law in the New Age of Globalization The essays in this volume address various challenges posed by globalization to the international legal order, in fields which include the use of force, humanitarian law, international trade and investment law, dispute resolution, human rights, and environmental law.
Justice Among Nations Justice among Nations tells the story of the rise of international law and how it has been formulated, debated, contested, and put into practice from ancient times to the present. Stephen Neff avoids technical jargon as he surveys doctrines from natural law to feminism, and practice from the Warring States of China to the international criminal courts of today.
Peoples and International Law Peoples and International Law is a detailed survey of the law of self-determination with a focus on the concept of nations and peoples. It engages with different aspects of this law with particular emphasis on the drafting and implementation of international instruments.
Reflections on Global Law Reflections on Global Law provides an interesting and vital look into the newly emerging field of global law. It allows the possibility for readers to discover global law from the perspective of various academic experts who stem from a whole range of different legal disciplines.
The Concept of Unity in Public International Law 'Fragmentation'has become a defining, albeit controversial, metaphor of international law scholarship in the era of globalisation. Some scholars see it as a new development, others as history repeating itself; some approach it as a technical issue and some as the reflection of deeper political struggles. But there is near-consensus about the fact that the established vision of international law as a unitary whole is under threat. At the core of the fragmentation debate lies the concept of unity, but this is hardly ever rationalised and is more assumed than explained. Its meaning remains vague and intuitive. 'The Concept of Unity in Public International Law 'attempts to dispel that vagueness by exploring the various possible meanings of the concept of unity in international law.
Fog of Peace, The : The Human Face of Conflict Resolution Presenting a unique combination of psychological theories, geopolitical realities and first-hand peace-making experience, this book sheds new light on some of the worst conflicts in the modern world and demonstrates, above all, how empathy can often be far more persuasive than the most fearsome weapons.
The Politics of International Law Professor Martti Koskenniemi, a well-known practitioner and a leading theorist and historian of international law, examines the recent debates on humanitarian intervention, collective security, protection of human rights and the 'fight against impunity 'and reflects on the use of the professional techniques of international law to intervene politically. The essays both illustrate and expand his influential theory of the role of international law in international politics.

Labor Law

An Introduction to Labor Law, Third Edition An Introduction to Labor Law is a useful and course-tested primer that explains the basic principles of the federal law regulating the relationship of employers to labor unions. In this updated third edition, which features a new introduction, Michael Evan Gold discusses the law that applies to union organizing and representation elections, the duty to bargain in good faith, economic weapons such as strikes and lockouts, and the enforcement of collective bargaining agreements.
Child Labor in America This book examines the current state of enforcement of America's federal child labor laws by the Department of Labor. This historical issue of child labor in America is also briefly reviewed. In addition, recommendations are made about reforms to strengthen protections for working children from hazardous working conditions.
Employment Law Your introductory guide to the laws that govern and protect companies and workers in Scotland. From contracts to parental rights, and from unfair dismissal to discrimination, this guide explains employment law as it applies to employers, employees and lawyers in Scotland.
More Than They Bargained For : Scott Walker, Unions, and the Fight for Wisconsin
The Idea of Labour Law In this volume the contributors seek to take this body of scholarship seriously and also to move it forward. Its aim is to provide, if not answers which satisfy everyone, intellectually nourishing food for thought for those interested in understanding, explaining and interpreting labour laws - whether they are scholars, practitioners, judges, policy-makers, or workers and employers.

Law of War

A History of the Laws of War: Volume 3 : The Customs and Laws of War with Regards to Arms Control This unique work of reference traces the origins of the modern laws of warfare from the earliest times to the present day. Relying on written records from as far back as 2400 BCE, and using sources ranging from the Bible to Security Council Resolutions, the author pieces together the history of a subject which is almost as old as civilisation itself.
Extraterritorial Use of Force Against Non-State Actors Three frameworks of international law are examined in detail. These are the United Nations Charter and framework of international law regulating the resort to force in the territory of other states; the law of armed conflict, often referred to as international humanitarian law; and the law enforcement framework found in international human rights law
Human Rights, Intervention, and the Use of Force This collection presents an analysis of the irreducible dilemmas posed by the foundational challenges of sovereignty, human rights and security, not merely in terms of the formal doctrine of their disciplines, but also of the manner in which they can be configured in order to achieve persuasive legitimacy as to both methods and results.
International Legal Protection of Human Rights in Armed Conflict
International Military Missions and International Law By considering different international legal sources, including humanitarian law, human rights and criminal law, this book seeks to identify the rules applicable to International Military Missions engaged in different actions in the context of peace operations.
Islam and War : The Disparity Between the Technological-Normative Evolution of Modern War and the Doctrine of Jihad The author examines jihad from an historical discursive perspective, taking account of the economic and cultural contexts in which the doctrine first developed in Islamic law, as well as the doctrine's applicability to international law and relations.
Just and Unjust Warriors : The Moral and Legal Status of Soldiers This book contains eleven original and closely argued essays by leading figures in the ethics and laws of war and provides an authoritative treatment of this important new debate.
Law and War Law and War investigates such questions as: What can efforts to subsume war under the logic of law teach us about the aspirations and limits of law? How have paradigms of law and war changed as a result of the contact with new forms of struggle? How has globalization and continuing practices of occupation reframed the relationship between law and war?
Law and War : International Law & American History In this classic text, Peter Maguire follows America's legal relationship with war, both before and after the Nuremberg trials of the 1940s.
Reflections on the Law of War : Collected Essays
The 11th of September and the International Law of Military Operations
The Law Against War : The Prohibition on the Use of Force in Contemporary International Law The Law against War is a translated and updated version of a book published in 2008 in French (Le droit contre la guerre, Pedone). The aim of this book is to study the prohibition of the use of armed force in contemporary positive international law.
The Law of Occupation : Continuity and Change of International Humanitarian Law, and Its Interaction with International Human Rights Law
The War on Terror and the Laws of War : A Military Perspective In The War on Terror and the Laws of War, six legal scholars with experience as military officers bring practical wisdom to the contentious topic of applying international law to the battlefield.

Legal Research

Methodologies of Legal Research : Which Kind of Method for What Kind of Discipline?

Legal Theory

A Sceptical Theory of Morality and Law ‘A Sceptical Theory of Morality and Law'aims ultimately to cast light on some contentious issues in the philosophy of law, including the nature of rights and of judicial interpretation. The answers one gives, however, rest on the moral theory one finds most convincing.
Framing Democracy : A Behavioral Approach to Democratic Theory Unfortunately, the empirical and philosophical studies of democracy have largely proceeded in isolation from each other. As a result, philosophical treatments of democracy have overlooked recent developments in psychology, while the empirical study of framing effects has ignored much contemporary work in political philosophy. In Framing Democracy, Jamie Terence Kelly bridges this divide by explaining the relevance of framing effects for normative theories of democracy
Imagining Legality : Where Law Meets Popular Culture Imagining Legality: Where Law Meets Popular Culture is collection of essays on the relationship between law and popular culture that posits, in addition to the concepts of law in the books and law in action, a third concept of law in the image—that is, of law as it is perceived by the public through the lens of public media. Imagining Legality argues that images of law suggested by television and film are as numerous as they are various, and that they give rise to a potent and pervasive imaginative life of the law.
Natural Law in Court Natural-law theory grounds human laws in universal truths of God's creation. The task of the judicial system was to build an edifice of positive law on natural law's foundations. R. H. Helmholz shows how lawyers and judges made and interpreted natural law arguments in the West, and concludes that historically it has advanced the cause of justice.
Philosophical Foundations of Criminal Law
Reflections on 'The Concept of Law' The Concept of Law is one of the most influential works of philosophy of the twentieth century, redefining the field of legal philosophy and introducing generations of students to philosophical reflection on the nature of law. Since its publication in 1961 an industry of academic research and debate has grown up around the book, disputing, refining, and developing Hart's work. Under the sheer volume of competing interpretations of the book the original contexts - cultural and intellectual - that shaped Hart's project can be obscured.
Rehumanizing Law : A Theory of Law and Democracy In a popular sense, 'law' connotes the rules of a society, as well as the institutions that make and enforce those rules. Although laws are created and interpreted in legislatures and courtrooms by individuals with very specialized knowledge, the practice and making of law is closely tied to other systems of knowledge. To emphasize this often downplayed connection, Rehumanizing Law examines the law in relation to narrative, a fundamental mode of human expression. Randy D. Gordon illustrates the bridge between narrative and law by considering whether literature can prompt legislation. Using Upton Sinclair's The Jungle and Rachel Carson's Silent Spring, Gordon shows that literary works can figure in important regulatory measures
Social Order and the Limits of Law: A Theoretical Essay Professor Jenkins develops a systematic theory of the origins, the ends, and the functions of law. He then applies this theory to the problems that law encounters and the conditions that it must satisfy if it is to be an effective force in society.
Solomon's Knot: How Law Can End the Poverty of Nations : How Law Can End the Poverty of Nations Sustained growth depends on innovation, whether it's cutting-edge software from Silicon Valley, an improved assembly line in Sichuan, or a new export market for Swaziland's leather. Developing a new idea requires money, which poses a problem of trust. The innovator must trust the investor with his idea and the investor must trust the innovator with her money. Robert Cooter and Hans-Bernd Schäfer call this the 'double trust dilemma of development. 'Nowhere is this problem more acute than in poorer nations, where the failure to solve it results in stagnant economies. In Solomon's Knot, Cooter and Schäfer propose a legal theory of economic growth that details how effective property, contract, and business laws help to unite capital and ideas.
The Epistle on Legal Theory The Epistle on Legal Theory is the oldest surviving Arabic work on Islamic legal theory and the foundational document of Islamic jurisprudence. Its author, Muhammad ibn Idris al-Shafi'i (d. 204H/820AD), was the eponymous founder of the Shafi'i legal school, one of the four rites in Sunni Islam. This fascinating work offers the first systematic treatment in Arabic of key issues in Islamic legal thought.

Maritime Law

Changes in the Arctic Environment and the Law of the Sea Changes in the Arctic Environment and the Law of the Sea is based on the 33rd Annual Conference of the Center for Oceans Law and Policy, a primary sponsor, along with the Law of the Sea Institute of Iceland as well as with the U.S. Arctic Commission, the University of Alaska (Fairbanks) and the Law of the Sea Institute, Law School (Boalt Hall), University of California, Berkeley.
Dispute Resolution in the Law of the Sea Focusing on the functioning of the dispute settlement system under the 1982 UN Convention on the Law of the Sea since its entry into force, this monograph offers a comprehensive study of dispute resolution in the contemporary law of the sea.
Functional Jurisdiction in the Law of the Sea
International Maritime Security Law International Maritime Security Law, by James Kraska and Raul Pedrozo, defines an emerging interdisciplinary field of law and policy comprised of norms, legal regimes, and rules to address today's hybrid threats to the global order of the oceans
Law of the Sea Bulletin Issued three times a year, the Bulletin provides cogent and timely information on issues related to the Convention on the Law of the Sea -'the constitution for the ocean'and contains the most recent legal materials relevant to the law of the sea. It includes national legislation, bilateral agreements and multilateral treaties, as well as, information on decisions of the International Court of Justice, arbitral tribunals and other dispute settlement procedures.
Maritime Law : Issues, Challenges and Implications Maritime law is a distinct body of law which governs maritime questions and offenses. It is a body of both domestic law governing maritime activities, and private international law governing the relationships between private entities which operate vessels on the oceans. It deals with matters including marine commerce, marine navigation, shipping, sailors, and the transportation of passengers and goods by sea.
Maritime Security : An Introduction Whether the problem is weapons of mass destruction or cargo theft, Maritime Security provides invaluable guidance for the professionals who protect our shipping and ports.
Maritime Security and the Law of the Sea Maritime Security and the Law of the Sea examines the rights and duties of states across a broad spectrum of maritime security threats. It provides comprehensive coverage of the different dimensions of maritime security in order to assess how responses to maritime security concerns are, and should be, shaping the law of the sea.
Modern Law of the Sea : Selected Essays
Negotiating the New Ocean Regime
Selected Contemporary Issues in the Law of the Sea Drawing on papers presented at Trinity College, Dublin, in 2010, 15 international expert contributors cover diverse law of the sea aspects such as straight baselines, high seas/EEZ jurisdiction (including human rights issues), and the definition of, and jurisdiction over, piracy and submissions to the CLCS relating to outer continental shelf claims in disputed areas
The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
The Oceans in the Nuclear Age : Legacies and Risks Ocean affairs are deeply woven into the history of the nuclear age. Ranging from wastes to security, this study frames the complex relationships between the oceans and the nuclear age and illuminates patterns of impact and response in ocean law.
United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea
United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea at Thirty : Reflections The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, which opened for signature in 1982, is now celebrating its 30th anniversary. On this occasion, the delegates who took part in drafting the Convention agreed to bring together their personal recollections and reflections in the present commemorative publication. The result is a very personal tribute to the negotiations which led to the adoption of the Convention.
Who Rules the Waves? : Piracy, Overfishing and Mining the Oceans

Natural Law

Aristotle and Natural Law The book argues that Aristotle appropriated the concept of natural law, first formulated by the defenders of naturalism in the 'nature versus convention debate 'in classical Athens. Thereby he contributed to the emergence and historical evolution of the meaning of one of the most important concept in the lexicon of Western political thought.
Natural Law and Natural Rights First published in 1980, Natural Law and Natural Rights is widely heralded as a seminal contribution to the philosophy of law, and an authoritative restatement of natural law doctrine. It has offered generations of students and other readers a thorough grounding in the central issues of legal, moral, and political philosophy from Finnis's distinctive perspective.
Natural Law in Court Natural-law theory grounds human laws in universal truths of God's creation. The task of the judicial system was to build an edifice of positive law on natural law's foundations. R. H. Helmholz shows how lawyers and judges made and interpreted natural law arguments in the West, and concludes that historically it has advanced the cause of justice.

Patent Law

Protecting Your Ideas : The Inventor's Guide to Patents Protecting Your Ideas: The Inventor's Guide to Patents is a succinct, straightforward guide to the system. This guide presents the steps involved in obtaining patent protection for inventions. It is easy to read and brimming with essential information and advice compounded from FAQs posed by the author's academic and industrial clientele.
Rethinking Patent Law Scientific and technological innovations are forcing the inadequacies of patent law into the spotlight. Robin Feldman explains why patents are causing so much trouble. She urges lawmakers to focus on crafting rules that anticipate future bargaining, not on the impossible task of assigning precise boundaries to rights when an invention is new.

Property Law

Modern Studies in Property Law - Volume 6 The Modern Studies in Property Law Conference has become well-known as a unique opportunity for property lawyers to meet and confer both formally and informally. The eighth biennial conference was held at the University of Oxford in March 2010, and this book is the sixth in the series Modern Studies in Property Law. The volume is a refereed and revised selection of the papers given at the Oxford conference, covering a broad range of topics of contemporary importance, both nationally and internationally.
The Oxford Introductions to U.S. Law : Property The Oxford Introductions to U.S. Law: Property provides both a bird's eye overview of property law and an introduction to how property law affects larger concerns with individual autonomy, personhood, and economic organization.
Property and the Law of Finders Are finders keepers? This most simple of questions has long evaded a satisfactory legal answer. Generally it seems to have been accepted that a finder acquires a property right in the object of her find and can protect it from subsequent interference, but even this turns out to be the baldest statement of principle, resting on obscure and confused authority. This first full-length treatment of finders sets them in their legal-historical context, and discovers a fascinating area of law lying at the crossroads of crime, obligations, and property.

Religious Law

Greek Sacred Law : A Collection of New Documents (NGSL) This volume consists of a general introduction to Greek sacred law and a collection of inscriptions from mainland Greece, the colonies, and the islands (except Cos) published since the late 1960s.
Islam and the Secular State What should be the place of Shari'a - Islamic religious law - in predominantly Muslim societies of the world? In this book, a Muslim scholar and human rights activist envisions a positive and sustainable role for Shari'a, based on a profound rethinking of the relationship between religion and the secular state in all societies.
Law and Truth in Biblical and Rabbinic Literature Contrary to the belief that religious law is infallible, Chaya T. Halbersham demonstrates the fundamental uncertainty in the rabbinic search for justice.
Muslim and American? : Straddling Islamic Law and U.S. Justice Hanshaw explores the often competing demands that confront American Muslims from Islamic religious law and secular law. The conflict extends into many aspects of daily life, ranging from issues concerning divorce and child custody to the interpretation of contracts.
The Islamic Challenge : Politics and Religion in Western Europe This book is based on three hundred interviews with European Muslim leaders from six European countries: Sweden, Denmark, the Netherlands, Great Britain, France, and Germany. The question of Islam in Europe is not a matter of global war and peace but raises difficult questions about the positions of Christianity and Islam in public life, and about European identities.

School Law

Knowledge in the Making : Academic Freedom and Free Speech in America's Schools and Universities How free are students and teachers to express unpopular ideas in public schools and universities? Not free enough, Joan DelFattore suggests. Wading without hesitation into some of the most contentious issues of our times, she investigates battles over a wide range of topics that have fractured school and university communities—homosexuality-themed children's books, research on race-based intelligence, the teaching of evolution, the regulation of hate speech, and more—and with her usual evenhanded approach offers insights supported by theory and by practical expertise
Regulatory and Reporting Burdens of Federal Education Acts
School Law This volume in the point/counterpoint Debating Issues in American Education reference series tackles the topic of school law. Fifteen to twenty chapters explore such varied issues as academic freedom, copyright, privacy rights of students and of teachers, due process rights, unions and collective bargaining, and more

Tort Law

Fault Lines : Tort Law As Cultural Practice Examining tort law as a cultural phenomenon and a form of cultural practice, this work makes explicit comparisons of tort law across space and time, looking at the United States, Europe, and Asia in the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. It draws on theories and methods from law, sociology, political science, and anthropology to offer a truly interdisciplinary, pathbreaking view. Ultimately, tort law, the authors show, nests within a larger web of relationships and shared discursive conventions that organize social life.
Mass Torts in a World of Settlement The traditional definition of torts involves bizarre, idiosyncratic events where a single plaintiff with a physical impairment sues the specific defendant he believes to have wrongfully caused that malady. Yet public attention has focused increasingly on mass personal-injury lawsuits over asbestos, cigarettes, guns, the diet drug fen-phen, breast implants, and, most recently, Vioxx.
The Oxford Introductions to U.S. Law : Torts Torts--personal injury law--is a fundamental yet controversial part of our legal system. The Oxford Introductions to U.S. Law: Torts provides a clear and comprehensive account of what tort law is, how it works, what it stands to accomplish, and why it is now much-disputed.

Related Subjects

See also Public Administration and Political Science in this Subject Guide.