Building a Joyful Life with Your Child Who Has Special NeedsAll parents want the best for their child, and for parents of children with special needs, this can mean that their own well-being is neglected. Drawing from their own experiences of parenting children with special needs, interviews and workshops with parents, and research findings, Nancy J. Whiteman and Linda Roan-Yager explore practical ways in which parents can develop a resilient and positive attitude towards caring for their child with special needs. This book considers the challenges of caring for children with physical, developmental and mental health disorders and proposes methods such as learning to see events through your child's own eyes, celebrating their strengths and achievements and recognising how others can help your child.
Child Development and Child PovertyThis new book gathers the latest research from around the globe in these fields of study and focuses on such topics as social development of children with visual impairment, child poverty in rich countries, parenting styles in relation to poverty and the relation between poverty and the psychological disturbances of war-traumatized adolescents.
Child Development for Child Care and Protection Workers : Second EditionChild Development for Child Care and Protection Workers is a classic text for students and practitioners in the child care and protection field which summarises important current thinking on child development and applies it directly to practice. The book covers key issues such as resilience and vulnerability and the impact of protective or adverse environments. Different stages of development (infancy, school age and adolescence) are discussed, and attachment theory is used to offer insights into the impact of abuse and neglect on development.
Children, Childhood and Everyday LifeChildren live their lives across various social settings, including homes, kindergartens, schools and different kinds of institutions. The different contributions of this book focus on children's perspectives, and on how children learn and develop through taking part in activities in social communities such as families, peer groups, classrooms, and day care institutions. This collection illustrate different ways of dealing with varying social contexts, and the research presented involves questions about children's world-making, anchored in children's daily lives.
How Mothers Shaped Successful Sons and Created World History : The School of InfancyThis is the first book to address the urgency of a mother's desire to convey to her child what matters most to her and in particular to her son. It is by this vehicle of cultural transmission that women have principally acted in history to convey to their sons the legacy of their cultural experience. In tracing the cultural formation of sons by their mothers, this book opens a window on the intergenerational transmission of culture.
Reparenting the Child Who Hurts : A Guide to Healing Developmental Trauma and AttachmentsFinally, a parenting book which demystifies the latest thinking on neurobiology, physiology and trauma and explains what the research means for the everyday life of parents of children who hurt. As experts on adoption and fostering who are adoptive parents themselves, Caroline Archer and Christine Gordon explain how this knowledge can help parents to better understand and care for their child. They explain why conventional parenting techniques are often not helpful for the child who has experienced early trauma and explore why therapeutic reparenting is the only way to help repair the unhealthy neurobiological and behavioural patterns which affect the child's development.
The Well-Being, Peer Cultures and Rights of ChildrenThis volume is comprised of empirical research and theoretical papers within three key areas, namely children's well being, children and youth peer cultures, and the rights of children and youth. These empirical studies include children's voices and experiences from four continents (Asia, Europe, North America and South America) and a range of methodological and theoretical orientations. A clear connection to social policy at a national and international level is made in many of these studies.
Childhood and Adolescence in Society : Selections From CQ ResearcherAbout CQ Researcher ReadersIn the tradition of nonpartisan and current analysis that is the hallmark of CQ Press, CQ Researcher readers investigate important and controversial policy issues. Childhood and Adolescence in Society aims to promote in-depth discussion, facilitate further research, and help readers formulate their own positions on crucial issues in the field, such as child soldiers, teen pregnancy, and violence and bullying.
Fast Facts on Adolescent Health for Nursing and Health Professionals : A Care Guide in a NutshellThis latest addition to the ìFast Factsî series, authored by nursing luminary Judith Herrman, is a pithy, authoritative guide to adolescent health designed specifically for nurses at all levels and other health professionals. It is the only book written for health care professionals who work with adolescents in schools, community agencies, neighborhoods, and other settings. It contains abundant resources for best servingóand having a positive impact onóthis population. Designed to provide speedy information retrieval, the guide describes a broad spectrum of health and health care issues particular to adolescents, reviews current data, explores behaviors and risk factors, and addresses nursing implications for treatment.
Forever Young : The Teen-aging of Modern CultureThe excessive worship of adolescence and its social empowerment by adult institutions is the deeply rooted cause of a serious cultural malaise. So argues semiotician Marcel Danesi in Forever Young, an unforgiving and controversial look at modern culture's incessant drive to create a 'teen-aging' of adult life. Written for the general reader and based on five year's worth of interviews with over 200 adolescents and their parents,
Growing Up : From Eight Years to Young AdulthoodBy the same author as the classic best-selling guide, Child Development from Birth to Eight, Growing Up describes the main changes for children and young people as they grow from middle childhood to the brink of adulthood. A full description of development is placed in the context of their daily lives and those of their families. The book explores the meaning of independence for a generation that is growing up in a world that is different from that of their parents'childhood
The Adolescent ExperienceThe Adolescent Experience places the college student at the very heart of the book. The authors engage in a dialogue with the reader that is warm, caring, and often humorous as they write and share material about this time of life. The authors emphasize the role that development and society play in the lives of young people. The book has a solid research basis with a historical and multicultural focus. But most important, the book is practical and applied with the strongest prevention/health promotion material available in any basic undergraduate adolescent psychology text currently on the market
Good Practice in Safeguarding Children : Working Effectively in Child ProtectionGood Practice in Safeguarding Children considers how front-line professionals can keep the best interests of the child at the heart of their work when statutory guidance, the way agencies are integrated and the delivery of services are changing. Liz Hughes and Hilary Owen have drawn together contributors' experiences of working with safeguarding children on a broad range of issues, including neglect, trafficked children, parents with learning difficulties and child protection supervision. The contributors discuss current dilemmas in safeguarding children work and provide models of good practice, including case scenarios and exercises.
PediatricsPediatrics: Rehabilitation Medicine Quick Reference presents 111 alphabetically arranged topics covering all major concerns in pediatric rehabilitation. Organized in three sections, the first part reviews diagnostic considerations and testing while the final section highlights special considerations such as aging with pediatric-onset disability and polytrauma. The bulk of the book catalogs the diverse diseases, injuries, complications and other problems commonly seen by practitioners who work to restore function to children with disabilities and offers a quick reference guide to providing high-quality clinical care. Every entry is standardized for quick look-up in the office or clinic, and features description, etiology, risk factors, clinical features, natural history, diagnosis, red flags, treatment, prognosis, helpful hints and suggested readings
The Handbook of Child Life : A Guide for Pediatric Psychosocial CareThe book is geared toward an audience beyond the introductory level and includes information on the state of the art in each chapter covered. Wherever possible, the book demonstrates application of the contents in practice through case studies. The goal of this text is to assist in this process, drawing upon the expertise of leading figures in the field to help provide child life specialists, and other allied health professionals, with the knowledge and skills they will need to accomplish this important task.
The Social Worker's Guide to Child and Adolescent Mental HealthThe Social Worker's Guide to Child and Adolescent Mental Health provides a comprehensive guide to working with children and young people who are experiencing mental health problems, and equips the reader with the knowledge and skills to provide the best service to these vulnerable young people. The first part of the book considers what role social work can play in child and adolescent mental
Treatment of Child Abuse : Common Ground for Mental Health, Medical, and Legal PractitionersAcclaimed as a milestone resource by the Journal of Child and Family Studies, Treatment of Child Abuse has been updated and expanded with ten completely new chapters. The second edition adds the expertise of co-editors Rochelle F. Hanson, Ph.D., and John Sargent, M.D., along with chapters from many new contributors.The second edition is organized by various modes of therapy, different settings for therapies, and the individualized needs of victims correlating to types of abuse and neglect. The contributors describe evidence-based and evidence-supported treatments for traumatized children and adolescents, information on research and theory underlying the interventions, and explanations of treatment protocols. The contributors focus particular attention on special populations and cultural differences.
Early Childhood
Being Present for Your Nursery Age Child : Observing, Understanding, and Helping ChildrenThis book represents an innovative project in which parents, teachers and other professionals work collaboratively to observe children, understand them at a deep emotional level through their play and interaction with others, and facilitate their relationships with themselves as individuals and with others. The work described has been particularly important in nurturing children's creativity and fostering effective relationships between teachers, parents and children. The innovative nursery described has been an important preventative facility in promoting the wellbeing of young children. The Italian government has supported this highly esteemed project.
Handbook of Response to Intervention in Early ChildhoodFree webinars on RTI in early childhood! Register today.Response to intervention (RTI) is improving student outcomes in K–12 classrooms across the country, but how can it best be applied in early childhood settings? Find out in this authoritative handbook, the first complete resource on what we know about using RTI to promote all young children's school and social success. With cutting-edge research from more than 60 of today's leading experts, this foundational resource will be an essential reference for every early childhood administrator, whether program-, district-, or state-level. You'll get a comprehensive primer on RTI, including detailed information on its defining principles and features, its evidence base, specific RTI models, and program-level supports for implementing RTI.
Learning Through Play : For Babies, Toddlers and Young ChildrenLet the expert on Early Years Play explain the key ideas and best practice.Professor Tina Bruce, an acknowledged expert on play, has a real talent for presenting key ideas and difficult concept in a clear and straightforward manner. This definitive guide to the values behind play, the importance of play for child development from 0 to 5 years old, and best practice for cultivating play in an Early Years or Educational setting. She shows that play helps children to achieve the highest form of learning in early childhood. This is an ideal text for those studying Play at levels 3 and 4, Foundation Degrees, Undergraduate Early Childhood Studies and Primary Education courses, Postgraduate study and for those working in an Early Years setting.
Playing to Win : Raising Children in a Competitive CulturePlaying to Win: Raising Children in a Competitive Culture follows the path of elementary school-age children involved in competitive dance, youth travel soccer, and scholastic chess. Why do American children participate in so many adult-run activities outside of the home, especially when family time is so scarce? By analyzing the roots of these competitive afterschool activities and their contemporary effects, Playing to Win contextualizes elementary school-age children's activities, and suggests they have become proving grounds for success in the tournament of life—especially when it comes to coveted admission to elite universities, and beyond.
Quick Guides for Early Years : Cognitive DevelopmentSave time and gain confidence with Linda Pound's easy-to-read quick overview of the main cognitive development theories. If you are a Level 4/5, Foundation Degree, or undergraduate student in Early Years, Early Childhood Studies or primary education, or a professional working with young children, this title will be the ideal introduction to the main theories around cognitive development in early childhood. Easy to read and written by an expert, it covers the main theorists, the research methods they used, the key debates and issues they started and how the debates have changes over time
The Critical Years : Early Years Development From Conception to 5During the last ten years our understanding of early child development, from conception through to 5, has greatly increased. This includes our understanding of neuro science and brain development, the ability to modify fetal development in the womb and the move away from the traditional debate of nature versus nurture to nature via nurture. It is vitally important that childcare social workers are fully aware of these issues if we are to intervene successfully to support children in need and children that need protecting. This book introduces the new science while affirming many of the older theories. By linking theories of child development with the law, policy and guidelines, it provides students with a source that will enhance their learning, but also has meaning in day-to-day practice.
The Well-Being, Peer Cultures and Rights of ChildrenThis volume is comprised of empirical research and theoretical papers within three key areas, namely children's well being, children and youth peer cultures, and the rights of children and youth. These empirical studies include children's voices and experiences from four continents (Asia, Europe, North America and South America) and a range of methodological and theoretical orientations. A clear connection to social policy at a national and international level is made in many of these studies.
Understanding Child Development : 0-8 YearsDevelop your understanding of children's development with this key book in the'Linking Theory and Practice'series.Understand how young children develop and the practical implications of research with this classic and well-loved textbook. Thorough coverage enables students and practitioners to understand what happens within early childhood and the factors that promote secure learning and well-being. The author focuses on the most important themese - the importance of personal, social and emotional development, the significance of developing communication skills and the contribution of young children's physical development
Understanding Children's Behaviour 0-11 Years'This is a great practical textbook which provides an in-depth exploration of behaviour in a very comprehensive and clear structure. The book is rich in resources, ideas, planning and specialised materials related directly to meaningful theory. A wonderful guide for young inexperienced students as well as experienced practitioners
Understanding Early Childhood : Issues and ControversiesUnderstanding Early Childhood is an introductory text for students on early years courses which offers broad and insightful perspectives across a range of themes on the ways in which we understand and study young children.
Well-being in the Early YearsA multi-disciplinary and holistic approach to the well-being of young children to support child development modules on a variety of programmes. The emotional, physical and social well-being of young children is a prime area of the new Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and is at the forefront of current policy and debate. This text goes beyond issues of safeguarding to address how the well-being of young children can be affected by a range of circumstances and how well-being is promoted by professionals from a variety of disciplines. It looks at various aspects of well-being in the young child from a number of perspectives, and examines key issues such as special and additional needs, poverty and deprivation, abuse, race, ethnicity and culture.
Related Subjects
See also Health, Medicine, and Psychology in this Subject Guide