LibGuides: Journal Articles and other Information Resources : Recreation and Leisure to Statistics

Coverage

Recreation and Leisure
Religion
Science (Natural Sciences)
Social Sciences

Recreation and Leisure

Business Insights Essentials This database provides company profiles, SWOT reports, financial data, industry statistics, as well as news coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present
Business Source Complete Providing indexing for over 5,000 business journals and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, this database offers information in nearly every area of business, including company and industry information, SWOT analyses
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (Key Database) Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with full text for more than 250 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books
Sports in America Covers sports in America from colonial times up to the present, including teams, biographies, social and legal issues

See also Consumer Science, Education, Hospitality, Physical Education, Social Sciences, and Sports and Sports Medicine in this Subject Guide

Religion

ATLA Religion (Key Database) The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with most coverage from 1949 to the present.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity Provides essays and short entries on the cultural and intellectual aspects of Eastern Orthodox Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion Contains nearly 300 articles tracing the often complex relationship between religion and politics in the modern world, including topics such as creationism and evolution, Islam, the Christian Right, and abortion.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America Describes the role of religion in the political, social, cultural, and historical framework of North America
Encyclopedia of Religion This is the electronic version of the 15-volume encyclopedia (2005, 2nd ed.) which encompasses all aspects in the field of religion
International Medieval Bibliography Containing 300,000 citation records on all subjects related to the Middle Ages (400-1500 AD), and covering the geographical areas of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa
Philosopher’s Index Provides access to research, including abstracts and some full-text linking, for nearly 570 journals, books, and other resources in all aspects of philosophy.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices Covering religions from around the world, this resource focuses less on scripture and more on the practices, cultures, and customs of people and their beliefs.
Religious Celebrations—Holidays, Festivals, and Solemn Observances Provides information on over 800 religious holidays and celebrations, past and present, and from both major and minor religious communities.
World Folklore and Folklife This database allows users to research folktales by subject, tale type, region or country, as well as myths, campus legends, proverbs and sayings

See also Art, Folklore, History, Humanities, Law, Middle Ages, and Philosophy this Subject Guide

Science (Natural Sciences)

Academic Search Complete Containing nearly 9,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database provides coverage for nearly every area of academic study
Access Science (Science Reference Materials) Provides a collection of science reference materials, including the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, along with much more.
Ambrose Digital Videos Contains over 500 streaming video programs in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and the physical and life sciences, typically from 25-60 minutes in length
Analytical Abstracts Providing indexing & abstracting to around 100 international journals from 1980 to date, this is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for the latest techniques and applications in the analytical sciences
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography Contains biographies of natural scientists and mathematicians from around the world and from all historical periods.
JSTOR Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Salem Science This is the online version of thirteen scientific & career resources: Career resources in communications & media, healthcare, hospitality & tourism, and physics; Earth Science resources in weather, water, environmental issues, global resources, etc.; and, other resources on forensic science and computer technology innovators.
Science Direct E-journal Collection Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
Science Reference Center Designed for general science students, with full-text periodicals, books, biographies, videos and images.
more...less...
Trouble accessing from off-campus? Try this link: https://purl.missouristate.edu/library/databases/SCIREFCENTER
Sci Finder SciFinder is a platform that "allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
SciTation Database platform for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals and conference proceedings. Includes SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database.

See also Analytical Sciences, Animal Science, Archaeology, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Space, Statistics, and Weather and Climate in this Subject Guide

Social Sciences

Academic Search Complete Containing nearly 9,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database provides coverage for nearly every area of academic study
JSTOR Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Project MUSE Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
SocIndex with Full Text This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
ScienceDirect ejournal Collection Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection

See also Anthropology, Archaeology, Communication, Communication Science Disorders, Consumer Science, Criminiology, Economics, Education, Gender Studies, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), Geography, International Studies, Law, Mass Media, Political Science and Politics, Professional Development, Psychology, Public Affairs, Recreation & Leisure, Social Work, Sociology, Technology & Construction Management, Testing, and Travel and Tourism

Coverage

Social Work
Sociology
Space
Specifications and Standards
Sports and Sports Medicine
Statistics

Social Work

Encyclopedia of Adolescence Provides research-based articles on the major issues involved with adolescent development and behavior.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Containing over 1,800 entries, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of the field of sociology, from historical theories to recent developments
Encyclopedia of Disability Provides over 1,000 entries which discuss the contributions and challenges of persons with disabilities.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance This 2015 online edition contains information on more than 820 jobs in over 120 career fields or industries
Encyclopedia of Gerontology Covers the latest research on the biology, psychology, and sociology of aging, in addition to covering how aging is depicted in the humanities.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This 20th ed. (2008) encyclopedia covers 400 subject areas, including gerontology, trauma, managed care, etc., as well as 200 brief biographies of key individuals in the history of social work
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Provides essay-length articles on all aspects of sex and gender, including gender studies, race, ethnicity, sexuality, and social institutions
Social Work Abstracts (Key Database) Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles and other research literature from social work and related disciplines, with coverage from 1966 to present.
SocIndex with Full Text This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
Special Education This 4th ed. (c2013) resource covers both theories and practical applications, as well as assessment instruments, in the field of special education.

See also Anthropology, Consumer Science, Health, Law, Medicine, Nutrition, Psychology, Public Affairs, Social Sciences, and Sociology in this Subject Guide

Sociology

Anthropological Index Online Based on the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum, this online index includes all entries from its print index version, with records back to 1957.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Containing over 1,800 entries, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of the field of sociology, from historical theories to recent developments
JSTOR Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Political Science Complete This resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations
Psych INFO Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
Public Affairs Index Covers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment, human rights, international conflicts, energy, etc.
SocIndex with Full Text (Key Database) This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.

See also Anthropology, Education, Gender Studies, Geography, International Relations, Law, Psychology, Physical Education, Public Affairs, Social Sciences, and Social Work in this Subject Guide

Space

Space Exploration and Humanity: A Historical Encyclopedia This work contains nearly 600 articles on all aspects of space exploration: history, political, social, cultural, and economic issues.

See also Science (Natural Sciences) in this Subject Guide

Specifications and Standards

See also Business and Testing in this Subject Guide

IHS Specs and Standards (Key Database) IHS is a leading provider of technical standards, codes, and specificiations (including government & military) from more than 370 technical societies around the world such as ANSI, ASME, ASTM, BOCA, and IEEE

Sports and Sports Medicine

Consumer Health Complete Coverage of all aspects of consumer health and wellness, with full-text articles, books, encyclopedias, periodicals, pamphlets, and videos.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
MEDLINE A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
Pub Med This medical literature database contains citations which may link to full-text articles from medical and life science journals around the world
Sports in America Covers sports in America from colonial times up to the present, including teams, biographies, social and legal issues
SPORTDiscus (Key Database) With comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, physical fitness/wellness, exercise, sports medicine, and other topics, this database contains nearly 1,400,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.

See also Health, Medicine, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physical Education, Physical Therapy, and Recreation and Leisure in this Subject Guide

Statistics

Business Insights: Essentials This database provides company profiles, SWOT reports, financial data, industry statistics, as well as news coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics Provides nearly 4,000 definitions on all aspects of statistics, including theoretical, survey, applied, and medical
Cost of Living Index Provides up-to-date income and cost comparisons for over 300 urban areas in the U.S., including housing, utilities, transportation, health care, groceries, and other goods and services
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Key Database)This is the most current and authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States
UNdata UN statistical resources in one database, covering social, economic, and demographic data.
World News Digest A full-text database used to find information and answer questions about major social and political events, world issues, statistics and people of the last 65+ years

See also Mathematics and Science (Natural Sciences)