LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Find Articles

Basic Search Discover@MSU Video

Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video

Individual Databases Best for Occupational Therapy

OT Seeker "OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy....The trials in OTseeker were located by conducting systematic searches of the following databases: Medline, CINAHL, ERIC, EMBASE Rehabilitation and Physical Medicine, AMED, PsycINFO, the Cochrane Library, CancerLit, and Ageline." The first time you use OTseeker, you will have to create a user name and password, along with filling out a short registration form that will require confirmation before you can access this database.
CINAHL CINAHL provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Cochrane Library Four medical databases which contain results and reviews on the health care effects of evidence-based clinical trials and research studies.
ScienceDirect eJournal Collection the majority from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection
more...less...
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".
SPORTDiscus Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, physical fitness/wellness, exercise, sports medicine, and other topics back to 1800.
MEDLINE A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
PubMed This medical literature database contains citations which may link to full-text articles from medical and life science journals around the world.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
PsycINFO Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating back to the 1800s.

Pro Tips

Use connector words

cats AND kittens
cats OR kittens
cats NOT kittens

Truncation(*): find all endings of a word

nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
music* (musician, musical, musicality)

Databases Best for Background Information

Access to Library Resources

To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.

If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.

ICE Video Library

ICE International Clinical Educators (ICE) "specializes in online streaming video for faculty and students in physical therapy, occupational therapy, physical therapy assistant and occupational therapy assistant programs worldwide....

Free Databases

PEDro