LibGuides: E-Books: Medicine

Overview

Anesthesiology
Cardiology
Dermatology
Emergency (Critical Care) Medicine
Endocrinology
Gastroenterology
Geriatrics
Hematology
Hepatology

Anesthesiology

Anaesthesia : An Introduction The book is structured as follows. It opens with an overview of general anaesthesia, regional anaesthesia, and sedation. Requisite knowledge of physiology and pharmacology is outlined. Comprehensive coverage is then provided of core topics: perioperative management of patients undergoing surgical procedures, anaesthetic techniques, anaesthetic subspecialities, pain, anaesthetic equipment, and the anaesthetic environment. For this fifth edition of the book, all original material has been thoroughly reviewed and updated.
Fundamentals of Anaesthesia Fundamentals of Anaesthesia encapsulates the modern practice of anaesthesia in a single volume. Written and edited by a team of expert contributors, it provides a comprehensive but easily readable account of all of the information required by the FRCA Primary examination candidate and has been expanded to include more detail on all topics and to include new topics now covered in the examination.
Physics in Anaesthesia

Cardiology

ASPC Manual of Preventive Cardiology Endorsed by the American Society for Preventive Cardiology, this highly practical resource focuses on the application of current guidelines and practice standards in the clinical management of cardiovascular risk factors. The Manual presents concise descriptions of each major cardiovascular risk factor, and practical, to-the-point discussions of current best practices in clinical management.
Cardiac Arrhythmia Recognition : An Easy Learning Guide This workbook is a no-fuss, practical guide containing all the information you need to get to grips with cardiac monitoring. It will help you recognise common cardiac arrhythmias and guide you in what actions to take when they occur. Presented in a clear and simple format, this workbook builds on your understanding.
Cardiac Arrhythmias The diagnosis and management of heart rhythm abnormalities is often viewed as a complex and inaccessible area of modern cardiology shrouded in technical detail. Fast Facts: Cardiac Arrhythmias demystifies the subject with a straightforward approach to rhythm abnormality, asking how the patient with arrhythmia presents, how the problem should be investigated and how the arrhythmia can be managed
Cardiac Rehabilitation Cardiac rehabilitation (CR)is a branch of rehabilitation medicine dealing with optimizing physical function in patients with cardiac diseases. CR services are generally provided in an outpatient setting as comprehensive, long-term programs involving medical evaluation, prescribed exercise, cardiac risk factor modification, education and counseling. While the'glue'of cardiac rehabilitation is exercise, programs are evolving to become comprehensive prevention centers where all aspects of preventive cardiology care are delivered. This includes nutritional therapies, weight loss programs, management of lipid abnormalities with diet and medication, blood pressure control, diabetes management and stress management
Cardiology Emergencies Cardiology Emergencies covers the presentation, investigation, and management of acute cardiac problems that require speedy diagnosis and management. Created as a resource for residents and students, as well as an easy reference guide for physicians, this handbook is organized for quick access and learning.
Chest Pain : Causes, Diagnosis, and Treatment This new book gathers and presents topical data on the causes, diagnosis and treatment of chest pain including integrated studies of western and traditional Chinese medicine on Cardiac Syndrome X with chest pain, angina and chest pain, a look at the available prediction instruments that can be used for the classification of acute coronary syndrome (ACS), and ambient nitrogen dioxide and female emergency room visits for chest pain.Imprint: Nova Biomedical
Congenital Heart Disease: A Surgical Color Atlas : A Surgical Color Atlas Congenital Heart Disease: A Surgical Color Atlas is a pictorial illustration with over 750 stunning photographs and line drawings that highlight important surgical, anatomic and pathologic points of congenital heart disease.
Contemporary Cardiovascular Disease Risk Factors in Special Populations Despite recent advances in diagnosis and management of cardiovascular disease, risk factors for CVD are still underrecognized in many special populations. Increased awareness is needed to better prevent, diagnose and manage CVD in women, Hispanics, African Americans, and other special populations in which CVD is a leading cause of death.
Contemporary Diagnosis and Management of Cardiac Arrhythmias Cardiac arrhythmias can be effectively treated with medication if they have been properly diagnosed. This handbook examines the pathogenesis of disruptions in normal cardiac rhythm and discusses pharmacologic treatment options.
Encyclopedia of Cardiovascular Research This book presents and discusses current research in the study of cardiovascular disorders. Topics discussed include cardiac rehabilitation in women; effects of exercise on the prevention and rehabilitation of diastolic heart failure; cardiac rehabilitation in children with congenital heart disease; prenatal diagnosis of congenital fetal heart disease; single ventricle anatomy, physiology, repair and outcome; cardiac tumors; pulmonary hypertension in the down syndrome population; oxidative stress and heart failure; right ventricular failure in cardiac surgery and coronary artery bypass grafting for chronic and acute heart failure.
Heart Failure : Symptoms, Causes, and Treatment Options This new book presents topical research in the study of heart failure including the potential use of inotropic agents in the treatment of congestive heart failure; radiation induced hazards in intervention cardiology; the utilization of different imaging methods to assess myocardial viability; the molecular mechanisms underlying the pathogenesis of heart failure; health-related quality of life issues for heart failure patients and others.
Horizons in World Cardiovascular Research
Integrative Cardiology Integrative Cardiology is an exploration of a new and much-needed perspective in cardiac care: the intelligent synthesis of conventional medicine with alternative approaches not typically part of Western medical curriculum.
Oral Infections and Cardiovascular Disease This book provides a comprehensive overview of current knowledge about research in oral infections and their association with cardiovascular diseases. Several epidemiological, clinical and other scientific aspects are covered in this book through the work of medical experts.
Oxford American Handbook of Cardiology Despite major advances in prevention and treatment, cardiovascular disease remains the leading cause of death in the United States. The vast number of patients with cardiovascular disease coupled with ongoing clinical advances makes the Oxford American Handbook of Cardiology a must-buy for residents, fellows, and students, as well as an excellent reference guide for general practitioners.
Perinatal Cardiology: A Multidisciplinary Approach : A Multidisciplinary Approach Perinatal cardiology is an important developing field as high quality ultrasound is used on a growing number of pregnant women, and diagnosis prior to birth will become a more common occurrence. In addition, highly sensitive noninvasive diagnostic tools, advances in neonatal care and anesthesia, evolution of transcatheter interventional procedures and performance of complicated surgical procedures in the neonate and young infant have advanced to such an extent that almost all congenital cardiac defects can be diagnosed and “corrected.”
Problem Solving in Cardiology
Remote Patient Monitoring in Cardiology
The 4 Stages of Heart Failure This book applies practical clinical concepts to the latest four-stage model of heart failure from preclinical risk and early asymptomatic disease to classic symptomatic heart failure and finally advanced heart failure. This framework emphasizes a tailored approach to ongoing heart failure assessment to guide therapy and improve outcomes.
Thrombosis : Causes, Treatment, and Prevention

Dermatology

Acne : Etiology, Treatment Options and Social Effects
Advances in Dermatological Sciences Advances in Dermatological Sciences collates major scientific research achievements over the last two years in a diverse range of dermatological research fields. Examples of key topics covered include experimental models, toxicology, regulatory, exposure assessment, therapeutics, cosmetics and decontamination.
Burns : Epidemiology, Management and Impact on Muscle and Joint Functions
Contemporary Diagnosis and Management of Skin and Soft-tissue Infections The third edition of this valuable handbook features a new chapter on methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infections, which are a growing problem in community and hospital environments.
Dermatitis : Causes, Symptoms and Treatment Options
Evidence-Based Dermatology Evidence-based Dermatology, Second Edition is a unique book in the field of clinical dermatology. Written and edited by some of the world's leading experts in evidence-based dermatology, it takes a highly evidence-based approach to the treatment of all major and many of the less common skin conditions.
Inflammatory Skin Disorders The Demos Surgical Pathology Guides series presents in summary and visual form the basic knowledge base that every practicing pathologist needs every working day. Series volumes cover the major specialty areas of surgical pathology, and coverage emphasizes the key entities and diagnoses that pathologists will see in practice, and that they must know whether in training or practice.
Melanoma Emerging Cancer Therapeutics is a trinary hard cover periodical that is designed to provide an up-to-date evidence-based review of a dedicated emerging cancer therapy topic of interest to clinicians and scientists involved in the care of patients receiving cancer treatment.
Pathology of Skin Infections
Psoriasis : Types, Triggers and Treatment Strategies
Rook's Textbook of Dermatology, 4 Volume Set The late Arthur Rook established the Textbook of Dermatology as the most comprehensive work of reference available to the dermatologist. Covering all aspects of skin disease from basic science through pathology and epidemiology to clinical practice, the text is recognized for its unparalleled coverage of diagnosis.
Scars and Scarring : Causes, Types and Treatment Options
Skin Cancer : Recognition and Management The second edition of Skin Cancer: Recognition and Management is a definitive clinical reference which comprehensively examines the wide range of premalignant and malignant cutaneous disorders, including melanoma, Kaposi's sarcoma and other sarcomas, cutaneous lymphoma, cutaneous metastatic disease and cutaneous markers of internal malignancy, with emphasis on the most recent advances in diagnosis and management.

Emergency (Critical Care) Medicine

Acute Medicine 2015
Assessment Skills for Paramedics This is book, for both the student paramedic and qualified paramedic, provides key information on the appropriate assessment skills needed when attending an emergency call. This book is a more accessible and concise alternative or supplement to the encyclopedias available – for use ‘on the job 'and perfect for exam revision.
Challenging and Emerging Conditions in Emergency Medicine This book focuses on the unusual and complex disease presentations not covered in detail in the standard textbooks, helping you manage patients with conditions such as congenital heart disease, cystic fibrosis, morbid obesity, intellectual disability and intestinal failure.
Critical Care Procedure Book
Emergency Medicine : Avoiding the Pitfalls and Improving the Outcomes Emergency Medicine is a brand new book focusing on the common pitfalls and mistakes that can occur when dealing with high-risk conditions during standard medical practice. Concise chapters focus on clinical relevance, addressing the mistakes, the consequences and the knowledge necessary to avoid high-risk mistakes. An essential book for all staff dealing with emergencies.
Evidence-Based Emergency Medicine Evidence-based Emergency Medicine is the first book of its kind in emergency medicine to tackle the problems practicing physicians encounter in the emergency setting using an evidence-based approach. It summarizes the published evidence available for the diagnosis and treatment of common emergency health care problems in adults.
Foundations For Paramedic Practice : A Theoretical Perspective This book addresses the theoretical elements of paramedic courses including psychology and sociology and provides clear links to practice.
Paramedics : From Street To Emergency Department Case Book A pratical book which will help both practising and student paramedics prepare to deal with 25 of the most commonly seen pre-hospital care scenarios, as well as to revise for practical exams.
The Evolving Role of Emergency Departments in the United States This report explores the evolving role that hospital emergency departments play in the U.S. health care system. EDs evaluate and manage complex and high-acuity patients, are the major point of entry to inpatient care, and serve as “the safety net of the safety net” for patients who cannot get care elsewhere. The report examines the role that EDs may come to play in either contributing to or reducing the rising costs of health care.
The Paramedic's Guide to Research : An Introduction This book, written specifically for paramedic students, will answer the call for paramedic specific textbooks and will give relevant examples and context for this newly established profession.

Endocrinology

Clinical Endocrinology and Diagnostic Imaging This monograph is based on the authors'extensive experience in the areas of clinical endocrinology and diagnostic imaging, their clinical and research work and insight gained from teaching medical students and doctors in the Czech Republic and abroad.
Endocrine Emergencies, Endocrinology in Intensive Care and Preoperative Care
Handbook of Clinical Pediatric Endocrinology Commended in the Endocrinology category of the 2008 BMA Medical Book Competition The Handbook of Clinical Pediatric Endocrinology provides an up-to-date clinical guide presenting best (and, where possible, evidence-based) practice in the diagnosis, treatment and management of pediatric endocrine disorders. It is a companion title to Brook's Clinical Pediatric Endocrinology, which is well established as the leading international work of reference in the field of pediatric endocrinology, covering endocrine disorders, their diagnosis and treatment.
Hypothyroidism : Diagnosis and Screening, Genetic Influences and Treatment Options
Obesity : An Atlas of Investigation and Management
Oxford Handbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes This unique pocket guide to endocrinology and diabetes has been fully revised for the new edition. Written in conjunction with the Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes, it covers clinical investigation and management of both common and rare conditions, and includes the protocols and explicit clinical information necessary for the management of individual patients with endocrine and diabetic disorders.
Parathyroid : Anatomy, Functions and Disorders

Gastroenterology

A Practical Guide to Reflux : Causes, Consequences, and Care This book provides a comprehensive look at this common disease written in medical journal style but designed to be read by anyone with an interest in the condition. The book can be used as a reference source or as a general knowledge enhancer.
Appendicitis : Symptoms, Diagnosis, and Treatments
Fast Facts: Colorectal Cancer Fast Facts: Colorectal Cancer delivers concise and highly practical information on all aspects of this all too common disease. This fully updated third edition provides invaluable information for the primary care team, who are key to the screening and diagnosis of the disease, and essential to the provision of optimal support services.
Conquering Irritable Bowel Syndrome This book aims to help empower people who suffer with IBS as well as their families. What is IBS? Why do some people get the disease? What can be done about it now that truly works? Take control and read on.
Crohn's Disease : Classification, Diagnosis and Treatment Options
Diarrhea : Causes, Types, and Treatments
Fistulas and Fissures : Types, Symptoms, Causes, and Treatment
Gastric Cancer : Risk Factors, Treatment and Clinical Outcomes
Gastroenteritis : Epidemiology, Management, and Prevention In this book, the authors present research in the study of the epidemiology, management and prevention of gastroenteritis. Topics discussed include benign infantile convulsions associated with mild gastroenteritis; the etiologic agents of viral gastroenteritis; traveler's diarrhea; and eosinophilic and E. coli gastroenteritis. (Imprint: Nova Biomedical)
Gastroenterological Endoscopy Written and edited by internationally renowned specialists, the second edition of Gastroenterological Endoscopy covers the entire spectrum of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures for the upper and lower GI tract and provides an up-to-date overview of GI disorders.
Gastrointestinal Disorders : Symptoms, Treatment, and Prevention In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the symptoms, treatment and prevention of gastrointestinal disorders.
Gastrointestinal Imaging
Hemorrhoids : Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment The authors of this book review and discuss recent innovations of post-hemorrhoidectomy pain control and wound healing. Stapled haemorrhoidopexy (SH) as an attractive alternative to conventional haemorrhoidectomy (CH) is looked at as well. In addition, new techniques (Doppler guided transanal haemorrhoidal dearterialisation) with new devices in order to attain improved patient satisfaction (THD and haemorrhoid laser procedure) is analyzed.
Hernias : Types, Symptoms and Treatment A hernia is the protrusion of an organ or the fascia of an organ through the wall of the cavity that normally contains it. A hiatal hernia occurs when the stomach protrudes into the mediastinum through the esophageal opening in the diaphragm. This new book presents topical research in the study of the types, symptoms and treatment of hernias.
Integrative Gastroenterology In this volume, an international panel of leading experts provides a wealth of information for health care practitioners and consumers on the rationale, methods, modalities, and efficacy of integrative solutions for gastrointestinal disorders.
Irritable Bowel Syndrome : Diagnosis, Pathogenesis and Treatment Options
Oxford American Handbook of Gastroenterology and Hepatology A comprehensive pocket guide for clinicians and residents, the Oxford American Handbook of Gastroenterology and Hepatology provides authoritative guidance and up-to-date information on the field. The Handbook gives thorough coverage of both diagnosis and therapy, includes an easy-to-reference emergency section, and maintains a focus on practical disease management.
Oxford Case Histories in Gastroenterology and Hepatology Based around the core curriculum for specialist trainees in gastroenterology and hepatology, this book contains 50 well-structured, peer-reviewed cases gathered from the Oxford Hospitals, comprehensively covering the various disorders of the gastrointestinal system. .
Pancreas : Anatomy, Diseases, and Health Implications
Reflux Disease : Causes, Symptoms, and Treatment This new book focuses on varied topics relating to reflux disease including: the role of mucosal inflammation in reflux disease, pharmacologic treatment of GERD, pediatric gastroesophageal reflux disease, paraesophageal hernias and laparoscopic antireflux procedures, minimally invasive treatments of gastroesophageal reflux disease, obstructive sleep apnea and GERD, and others.
Textbook of Gastroenterology Over the past twenty years, thousands of physicians have come to depend on Yamada's Textbook of Gastroenterology. Its encyclopaedic discussion of the basic science underlying gastrointestinal and liver diseases as well as the many diagnostic and therapeutic modalities available to the patients who suffer from them was—and still is—beyond compare.

Geriatrics

Aging Bones : A Short History of Osteoporosis
Compact Clinical Guide to Geriatric Pain Management : An Evidence-Based Approach for Nurses
Depression in Later Life Part of the Oxford Psychiatry Library, this concise pocketbook will provide an accessible account of what depression in older people is like, why it is important and what treatments help. The text will highlight which areas of depression are of special relevance to later life, how to diagnose depression in an older person, the overlap with dementia and various other physical illnesses, and important pharmacological considerations.
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice : Fourth Edition
Fifty-five Case Histories in Acute Geriatric Care : Bedside Skills and Beyond
Fundamentals of Geriatric Pharmacotherapy Fundamentals of Geriatric Pharmacotherapy, Second Edition gives practitioners the information they need to improve outcomes and personalize care for elderly patients.
Geriatrics Designed for the busy practitioner, Geriatrics presents 97 alphabetically arranged topics covering all major concerns in geriatric rehabilitation ranging from age-related changes to end-of-life care.
Gerontology Nursing Case Studies : 100 Narratives for Learning
How to Manage Pain in the Elderly This evidence-based handbook on managing pain in the elderly is designed for nurses to use at the bedside. Includes pain assessment, pain medication management, complementary methods for pain relief, chronic pain management, interventional pain management, and palliative care.
Our Aging Bodies Our Aging Bodies provides a clear, scientifically based explanation of what happens to all the major organ systems and bodily processes—such as the cardiovascular and digestive systems—as people age.
Oxford American Handbook of Geriatric Medicine Written by leading American practitioners, the Oxford American Handbooks of Medicine each offer a pocket-sized overview of an entire specialty, featuring instant access to guidance on the conditions that are most likely to be encountered. Precise and prescriptive, the handbooks offer up-to-date advice on examination, investigations, common procedures, and in-patient care
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care : The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care, Third Edition The third edition of this encyclopedia provides 273 comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care. … In addition, many of the entries include see also references that help readers easily navigate the book. Entries are written at an undergraduate level and would be useful for practitioners, students, and caregivers…

Hematology

Advances in Malignant Hematology This comprehensive book captures and compiles new and current information on hematologic malignancies. New knowledge of cellular disease processes, molecular pathology, and cytogenetic, epigenetic and genomic changes has influenced the current outlook toward haematological malignancies.
Coagulation Disorders : Diagnostic Standards of Care Coagulation Disorders is designed to show clinical pathologists, lab managers, medical technologists, and residents how to avoid common errors in test selection and result interpretation in diagnostic coagulation.
Deep Vein Thrombosis : Symptoms, Diagnosis & Treatments This book provides a comprehensive review of current diagnosis and treatment of DVT.
Handbook of Hematology Research : Hemorheology, Hemophilia and Blood Coagulation Hematology is the branch of medicine that deals with diseases of the blood and blood-forming organs. Hemophilia is one of the most important diseases of hematology research. Medically, the classical treatment of hemophilia is transfusion therapy, which has been widely used for years. However, the transfusion can bring several complications for hemophiliac patients, such as the onset of blood borne infectious diseases. This book discusses such diseases, as well as the new trend in blood product safety management. Until present, the new modality of gene therapy is the hope for successfully treating hemophilia.
Hematology and Immunology : Diagnostic Standards of Care
Hematomas : Types, Treatments and Health Risks This book presents topical research in the study of the types, treatments and health risks associated with hematomas. Topics discussed include the physiotherapeutic treatments of hematomas; cerebrospinal hematoma; infected hematomas; the etiology of pelvic hematomas; intracranial hematomas in pediatric patients; massive retroperitoneal hematoma following vaginal correction of vault prolapse and retropharyngeal hematomas. (Imprint: Nova Biomedical)
Manual of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Given that there have been considerable advances in the treatment and management of oncologic diseases in children, the fifth edition of this successful clinical manual will be entirely updated to incorporate all current protocols and developments.This edition will be a comprehensive book on patient management, replete with algorithms and flow diagrams on diagnosis and management.
Problem solving in haematology
Routine Blood Results Explained
Sickle Cell Disease : A New Vision for an Old Problem
The Bleeding Disease : Hemophilia and the Unintended Consequences of Medical Progress The Bleeding Disease recounts the promising and perilous history of American medical and social efforts to manage hemophilia in the twentieth century.

Hepatology

Chronic Hepatitis B And C: Basic Science To Clinical Applications The scope of the book is very broad, covering a wide range of areas in HBV/HDV and HCV research, including both basic and clinical science. The selected topics range from epidemiology, immunology, molecular virology and oncology, to clinical therapy.
Cirrhosis : Causes, Treatment Options and Potential Complications
Female Hepatology : Favorable Role of Female Factors in Chronic Liver Disease
Hepatitis B : New Research Hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection is a problem of global health importance and represents a significant cause of morbidity and mortality worldwide. HBV can be transmitted parenterally, sexually and perinatally. Despite progress on prophylaxis, diagnostic and treatment of HBV infection, it remains one of the major causes of chronic liver disease, cirrhosis or hepatocellular carcinoma.
Hepatitis C and Liver Transplantation This book provides a single reference for all transplant professionals involved in the care of HCV patients who have unique problems not encountered in other liver transplant patients.
Hepatitis C Virus : Epidemiology, Pathogenesis & Treatment This book presents topical research in the study of the epidemiology, pathogenesis and treatment of Hepatitic C Virus
Liver Cirrhosis : Causes, Diagnosis, and Treatment This book presents topical research in the study of liver cirrhosis, including etiologic types of end stage chronic liver disease; hepatocellular carcinoma screening in the cirrhotic patient; hepatic myofibroblasts and their role in liver fibrogenesis; the role of trace elements in the pathogenesis of liver cirrhosis and cell-based therapy for liver cirrhosis. (Imprint: Nova Biomedical Press)
Liver Disease and Peritonitis : Causes, Treatment and Prevention In this book, the authors present topical research in the study of the causes, treatment and prevention of liver disease and peritonitis.
Liver Failure : Etiologies, Neurological Complications and Emerging Therapies
Oxford American Handbook of Gastroenterology and Hepatology A comprehensive pocket guide for clinicians and residents, the Oxford American Handbook of Gastroenterology and Hepatology provides authoritative guidance and up-to-date information on the field. The Handbook gives thorough coverage of both diagnosis and therapy, includes an easy-to-reference emergency section, and maintains a focus on practical disease management.
Oxford Case Histories in Gastroenterology and Hepatology Based around the core curriculum for specialist trainees in gastroenterology and hepatology, this book contains 50 well-structured, peer-reviewed cases gathered from the Oxford Hospitals, comprehensively covering the various disorders of the gastrointestinal system.

Overview

History of Medicine
Immunology
Infectious Disease
Medical Ethics
Medical Law
Nephrology
Neurology
Obstetrics/Gynecology
Oncology
Ophthalmology
Pediatrics
Philosophy of Medicine
Psychiatry
Pulmonology
Rheumatology
Surgery
Vascular Medicine

History of Medicine

Clio in the Clinic : History in Medical Practice In Clio in the Clinic, twenty-three doctors, each of whom is also an accomplished historian, write autobiographically about how they use history in their practice of medicine. Their stories of clinical experiences show that historical thinking can serve in the diagnosis and care of patients
Hamilton's History of Medicine and Surgery
History of Medicine : A Scandalously Short Introduction An accessible overview of medical history, this new edition is greatly expanded, including more information on medicine in the United States, Great Britain, and in other European countries. The book continues to be organized conceptually around the major fields of medical endeavor such as anatomy, pharmacology, obstetrics, and psychiatry and has grown to include a new chapter on public health.Years
History of Medicine : A Very Short Introduction This title explores the history of Western medicine, examining the key turning points, discoveries, and controversies in its rich history from classical times to the present.
Medical Thinking: A Historical Preface Lester S. King, M.D., focuses on those aspects of medicine that remain constant through the centuries--the problems that doctors always face and the critical judgment needed to solve them. According to Dr. King, modern technological advances are really new ways of answering old questions, while the basic modes of medical thinking have not changed. Originally published in 1982
Medicine's 10 Greatest Discoveries
The Words of Medicine : Sources, Meanings, and Delights This book is a history of the medical vocabulary presented in topical (rather than dictionary) form. While most other books on medical words are arranged as dictionaries, rather than topically, and are much more selective in their presentation, this book entertains a comprehensive and historical approach to the subject.
Western Medicine : An Illustrated History Covering all periods from Ancient Greece to the present day, this richly illustrated history of medicine offers information and insight on a wide variety of topics. The great milestones of medical history - among them the discovery of the circulation of the blood, vaccination against smallpox, the invention of the X-ray, the development of penicillin - are charted.

Immunology

A History of Transplantation Immunology Those entering the field of transplantation are frequently unaware of the topics historical roots and even of the background on which modern discoveries in tolerance, histocompabatibility antigens, and xenotransplantation are based. A History of Transplantation Immunology is an account, written by one of the founding fathers of the field, of how tissue and organ transplantation has become one of the most successful branches of late 20th century medicine
Allergies : Answers at Your Fingertips
Anaphylaxis - Principles and Practice
Antibiotics – Are They Curing Us or Killing Us? : The Catastrophic Impact of the Over-prescription of Antibiotics on Our Health
Antibody Drug Discovery The objective of this volume is to provide a series of guides to those evaluating and preparing to enter particular areas within the field and to offer specialized perspectives to established researchers.
Autoimmune Disorders : Symptoms, Diagnosis, and Treatment This book presents current research in the study of autoimmune disorders with a focus on autoimmune liver diseases; Graves hyperthyroidism; system lupus erythematosus; Behcet's disease; and Sjogren's syndrome.
Autoimmunity : Role, Regulation and Disorders
Chronic Inflammation : Causes, Treatment Options and Role in Disease
Encyclopedia of Immunology Research This book presents current research in the study of immunology. Topics discussed include TLR agonists as immune adjuvants; modulating immune response with CpG-Oligodeoxynucleotide through the skin; evolution of immunosuppression in liver transplantation; the role of pharmacogenomics in tailoring immunosuppressive therapy for liver transplant recipients; sunlight induced immunosuppression; antibiotic resistance and probiotics; antibiotic resistance in food lactic acid bacteria and nanobiotics to combat bacterial drug resistance.
Essential Immunology for Surgeons Written by recognised experts in their field from both the UK and the US, and extensively referenced for further reading, Essential Immunology for Surgeons provides a concise, up-to-date, and readable account of immunology in general and its translation into key areas of clinical practice.
Food Allergies : Enjoying Life with a Severe Food Allergy
Food Allergies : Symptoms, Diagnosis, and Treatment This new book reviews research from around the globe in the study of food allergies including fish allergy diagnosis and detection; allergy mitigation by dietary components; the pathophysiology and mechanisms of food allergy; emergency department anaphylaxis management and management of children with food allergies.
Immunogenicity Immunogenicity is the ability of a particular substance, such as an antigen or epitope, to provoke an immune response. This book presents current research in the study of immunogenicity, including such topics as the molecular aspects involved in the immunogenicity against viral epitopes; fish immunogenicity and antigenicity to improve fish DNA vaccines; influenza infection and immunological memory responses; and the immunogenicity of B and T epitopes, among others
Immunology
Immunology: The Making of a Modern Science : The Making of a Modern Science The field has attracted a continuous stream of the brightest theoretical and experimental scientists for over forty years. This book conveys the philosophies and approaches of sixteen of the most successful of these scientists in the form of a series of narratives that describe the circumstances that led to a major discovery in immunology
Immunology in Clinic Practice There is a large and rapidly growing body of literature on the immunology in clinic practice. In this book, the authors have made an effort to brief descriptions of recent immunological developments in clinic practice.
Immunotherapy : Activation, Suppression, and Treatments This new book reviews research on immunotherapies including antifungal immunotherapy; active and specific immunotherapeutical strategies for the prevention and treatment of cancer; allergen immunotherapy; dendritic cell/tumor fusion cell vaccine in cancer therapy and CRLA-4 inhibition in malignant melanoma.
Infection and Immunity This concise text explores the interactions between pathogens and the immune system. Taking a disease-based approach, it explains how micro-organisms adapted to growth in human hosts can evade the immune system and cause disease.
Insect Immunology This work is the first book-length publication on the topic of insect immunology since 1991, complementing earlier works by offering a fresh perspective on current research. Interactions of host immune systems with both parasites and pathogens are presented in detail, as well as the genomics and proteomics, approaches which have been lacking in other publications.
Living with Germs : In Health and Disease Living with Germs looks at the defence mechanisms by which we come to terms with them, whether by eliminating them, stopping them from eliminating us, or simply learning to live with them. This is the first book to look at the subject of immunology in a relevant and approachable style. Using anecdotal and autobiographical material, John Playfair has produced a lively, well-written, and up-to-date look at immunology
Lupus Nephritis : Frontiers and Challenges Lupus nephritis (LN) is a major cause of morbidity and mortality, affecting over half of systemic lupus erythematosis (SLE) patients, both adult and pediatric. The accelerating advances in molecular and cellular immunology have paved the way for development biologic agents that target specific pathways that contribute to the inflammatory response, but there is no strong evidence of their safety and efficacy.
The Age of Immunology : Conceiving a Future in an Alienating World In this fascinating and inventive work, A. David Napier argues that the central assumption of immunology that we survive through the recognition and elimination of non-self has become a defining concept of the modern age.
The War Within Us : Everyman's Guide to Infection and Immunity The War Within Us is an ideal introduction to the basics of immunity and infection for general readers and students. It also serves as a quick reference book for physicians, researchers, and other health workers. Parasite versus host The conflict: how we defend ourselves The microbe's response to our defence How microbes cause diseasThumbnail sketches of seven selected diseases

Infectious Disease

Encyclopedia of Infection Research This book presents current research in the study of infections, with a particular focus on bacterial endocarditis, e. coli infections, eye infections and infectious pregnancy complications.
Essentials of Clinical Infectious Diseases This practical handbook provides readers with a quick but comprehensive overview of the major infectious disease topics and clinical approach to diagnosis and management. Written in outline format with 46 short, focused chapters, this ready reference is essential reading for physicians looking for guidance in navigating the constellation of symptoms and myriad treatment options for patients with infectious diseases
Infectious Diseases : A Clinical Approach Most textbooks on infectious diseases take a disease-specific and/or organ-specific approach. In this book a patient-centred approach is taken. The starting point is the patient's presenting problem and its evolution. The focus is on clinical diagnosis and principles of management.
Infectious Diseases : A Geographic Guide Infectious Diseases: A Geographic Guide is divided according to United Nations world regions and addresses geographic disease profiles, presenting symptoms and incubation periods of infections.
Infectious Diseases: A Geographical Analysis : Emergence and Re-emergence
The Social Ecology of Infectious Diseases In this book, forty experts in the fields of infectious diseases, the life sciences and public health explore how demography, geography, migration, travel, environmental change, natural disaster, sexual behavior, drug use, food production and distribution, medical technology, training and preparedness, as well as governance, human conflict and social dislocation influence current and likely future epidemics

Medical Ethics

Arguments and Analysis in Bioethics
Bioethics : Issues and Dilemmas This new book presents research in the expansive field of bioethics including biomedical ethics in obstetrics, ethical decision making in the health care system, the feasibility of using human oocytes for stem cell research, as well as mandatory circumcision in Sub-Saharan Africa to prevent HIV and AIDS and environmental ethics to preserve the world for future generations.
Emerging Values in Health Care : The Challenge for Professionals Professional values in healthcare are in a state of constant and increasingly rapid change. While all professions now emphasise teamwork and collegiality in practice, fewer are inclined to consider shared or differing values across professions. This interdisciplinary volume explains how health care professions and their values have changed over the last forty years, charting where they have come from, where they are now, and how they might develop in the future.
Hippocratic, Religious, and Secular Medical Ethics : The Points of Conflict Where should physicians get their ethics? Professional codes such as the Hippocratic Oath claim moral authority for those in a particular field, yet according to medical ethicist Robert Veatch, these codes have little or nothing to do with how members of a guild should understand morality or make ethical decisions. While the Hippocratic Oath continues to be cited by a wide array of professional associations, scholars, and medical students, Veatch contends that the pledge is such an offensive code of ethics that it should be summarily excised from the profession.
Human Dignity, Human Rights, and Responsibility : The New Language of Global Bioethics and Biolaw
Issues at the Borders of Life Covers the ethical issues related to euthanasia
On Moral Medicine : Theological Perspectives on Medical Ethics In print for more than two decades, On Moral Medicine remains the definitive anthology for Christian theological reflection on medical ethics. This third edition updates and expands the earlier award winning volumes, providing classrooms and individuals alike with one of the finest available resources for ethics-engaged modern medicine.
Patient, Heal Thyself : How the 'New Medicine' Puts the Patient in Charge Since physicians are not trained to make value judgments, the pendulum has swung greatly toward the patient in making decisions about their treatment. Veatch shows how this is presently true only for value-loaded interventions (abortion, euthanasia, genetics) but is coming to be true for almost every routine procedure in medicine--everything from setting broken arms to choosing drugs for cholesterol.
Practical Decision Making in Health Care Ethics : Cases and Concepts, Third Edition For nearly fifteen years Practical Decision Making in Health Care Ethics has offered scholars and students a highly accessible and teachable alternative to the dominant principle-based theories in the field.
Practical Ethics for General Practice
Reconceiving Medical Ethics This volume of original work comprises a modest challenge, sometimes direct, sometimes implicit, to the mainstream Anglo-American conception of the discipline of medical ethics. It does so not by trying to fill the gaps with exotic minority interest topics, but by re-examining some of the fundamental assumptions of the familiar philosophical arguments, and some of the basic situations that generate the issues.
The Ethics of Organ Transplantation These questions and others are thoughtfully probed in this collection of essays, which features articles from theologians, philosophers, physicians, biomedical ethicists, and an attorney.
The Future of Bioethics Bioethics, born in the 1960s and 1970s, has achieved great success, but also has experienced recent growing pains, as illustrated by the case of Terri Schiavo. In The Future of Bioethics, Howard Brody, a physician and scholar who dates his entry into the field in 1972, sifts through the various issues that bioethics is now addressing--and some that it is largely ignoring--to chart a course for the future.
Truly Human Enhancement : A Philosophical Defense of Limits The transformative potential of genetic and cybernetic technologies to enhance human capabilities is most often either rejected on moral and prudential grounds or hailed as the future salvation of humanity. In this book, Nicholas Agar offers a more nuanced view, making a case for moderate human enhancement -- improvements to attributes and abilities that do not significantly exceed what is currently possible for human beings.

Medical Law

Bioethics : Select Laws and Issues From Around the World
Birth Rites and Rights This multi-disciplinary collection of essays from the Cambridge Socio-Legal Group is concerned with the varying circumstances, manner, timing and experiences of birth. It contains essays from a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine, anthropology, history and sociology, examining birth from the perspectives of mother, doctor, midwife and father.
Human Dignity in Bioethics and Law
Human Subjects Research Regulation : Perspectives on the Future The current framework for the regulation of human subjects research emerged largely in reaction to the horrors of Nazi human experimentation, revealed at the Nuremburg trials, and the Tuskegee syphilis study, conducted by U.S. government researchers from 1932 to 1972. This framework, combining elements of paternalism with efforts to preserve individual autonomy, has remained fundamentally unchanged for decades. Yet, as this book documents, it has significant flaws -- including its potential to burden important research, overprotect some subjects and inadequately protect others, generate inconsistent results, and lag behind developments in how research is conducted.
Law and the Regulation of Medicines The principal purpose of this book is to tell the story of a medicine's journey through the regulatory system in the UK, from defining what counts as a medicine, through clinical trials, licensing, pharmacovigilance, marketing and funding. The question of global access to medicines is addressed because of its political importance, and because it offers a particularly stark illustration of the consequences of classifying medicines as a private rather than a public good.
Legal Issues for the Medical Practitioner A handy resource of common medico-legal topics in everyday medical practice for students and practitioners, risk management personnel, health care administrators, nurses, paramedics and lawyers in the field; providing a quick reference to the basic legal knowledge for safe practice as well as a first-line reference to further in-depth research.
The Law of Healthcare Administration The Law of Healthcare Administration, Sixth Edition offers a practical examination of healthcare law from the management perspective. It is a thorough treatment of healthcare law in the United States, written in plain language for ease of use. The 2010 Affordable Care Act is given extensive coverage, focusing on the implications for corporate integrity programs, fraud enforcement, patients' access to care, and physician/hospital relations. Objectives, summaries, and discussion questions highlight important points in each chapter.
The Law of Life and Death Are you alive? Most people believe that some law defines our status as living (or not) for all purposes. But Foley shows that “not being dead” isn't necessarily the same as being alive, in the eyes of the law. The need for more organ transplants and conservation of health care resources is exerting pressure to expand the legal definition of death.
The Medical Malpractice Myth The plaintiffs and lawyers always win; doctors, and the nonlitigious, always lose; and affordable health care is the real victim. This, according to Tom Baker, is the myth of medical malpractice, and as a reality check he offers The Medical Malpractice Myth, a stunning dismantling of this familiar, but inaccurate, picture of the health care industry.
The Surgical Litigation Crisis : Medical Practice and Legal Reform The authors bring together a new legal and medical analysis of history and developments in the area of malpractice litigation. The book provides a valuable resource for doctors, lawyers and patients/consumers, especially in terms of its in-depth examination of the components of the surgical litigation crisis and legal reform.

Nephrology

Acute Renal Failure In Practice Acute Renal Failure in Practice, edited by practising renal physicians, is the essential guide to the clinical management of patients with acute renal failure and its complex, life-threatening metabolic sequelae. This book explains the workings of the normal kidney, illustrates the aetiology and pathophysiology of acute renal disease, and provides practical treatment guidelines relevant to the day-to-day needs of the practising clinician.
Around The World With Nephrology: An Autobiography This is the story of a boy raised up in a village in Poland during World War II, with his father deported to concentration camps throughout the war. The book contains 13 chapters covering the author's childhood, education, and his career-long contributions to the field of nephrology.
Dialysis: History, Development And Promise This book describes the past, present and future of dialysis and dialysis-related renal replacement therapies so that the reader can acquire a firm grasp of the medical management of acute and chronic renal failure.By becoming thoroughly conversant with the past and present of dialysis, a health care professional will be in a much better position to provide the best standard of care to patients suffering from renal failure.
Eating Well with Kidney Failure : A Practical Guide and Cookbook
Fast Facts: Renal Disorders As many patients will not be seen by nephrologists, it is essential that all healthcare professionals, in hospitals and in the community, have an awareness of renal disease – the presenting signs, differential diagnoses, treatment strategies and approach to the management of complications. Fast Facts: Renal Disorders is an easy-to-read, evidence-based guide to renal diseases and disorders for all doctors, nurses and medical students
Handbook of Common Problems in Clinical Nephrology 'Handbook of Common Problems in Clinical Nephrology'has been written to assist clinicians in assessing and treating problems that arise in the course of patient care. The recommendations are general guidelines which may or may not apply to a particular patient.
Kidney Dialysis and Transplants : The 'at Your Fingertips' Guide
Kidney Failure Explained : Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Dialysis and Kidney Transplants but Were Afraid to Ask
Living Well with Kidney Failure : A Guide to Living with Kidney Failure This indispensable reference manual gives you, your family and friends the information you really need to know about managing your renal condition; covering every aspect of living with kidney disease - from diagnosis, drugs and treatment, to diet, relationships and sex.
Nephrology and Clinical Chemistry : The Essential Link Clinical chemistry is a science that requires specific knowledge and teaching. The e-book covers several topics in clinical nephrology. Patients suffering from severe chronic kidney disease may be quasi asymptomatic. This lack of overt symptomatology suggests that clinical laboratory tests are of the highest importance.
Oxford Desk Reference: Nephrology The editors have produced a comprehensive summary of nephrology which focuses on aspects of renal disease that are important to the clinician, and have brought together the key recommendations found in current evidence-based guidelines and presented them in a uniform and accessible format. It has been designed and written so that locating information is both quick and simple, and the layout of the chapters allows the reader to identify and assimilate information rapidly.
Present And Future Therapies For End-stage Renal Disease The aim of the book is to update the reader on renal replacement therapy as of 2009. It is a textbook that can be read cover to cover and still serve as a fine reference guide. The book is targeted at anyone interested in kidney replacement therapy, from students and patients to the professorial level.
Renal Disorders
Renal Failure : Prevention, Causes and Treatment
Understanding Chronic Kidney Disease : A Guide for the Non-specialist
Vital Nephrology : Your Essential Reference for All Aspects of Renal Care

Neurology

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis : A Guide for Patients and Families:Third Edition ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig's disease, cannot be cured but it can be treated. A great deal can be done to treat the symptoms of ALS, to improve an individual's quality of life, and to help families, caregivers, and loved ones to cope with the disease. This extensively revised and rewritten new edition of the bestselling Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: A Guide For Patients and Families addresses all of those needs, and brings up-to-date important information to those living with the reality of ALS.
Case-Based Neurology If it is true that a picture is worth a thousand words, a visual memory of a good clinical case will be retained and absorbed in a way that traditional text readings are not. Abundantly illustrated throughout, Case-Based Neurology offers an overview of a wide range of common neurological conditions.
Cerebral Palsy : From Diagnosis to Adult Life The book has been designed to provide readers with an understanding of cerebral palsy (CP) as a developmental as well as a neurological condition. It details the nature of CP, its causes and its clinical manifestations.
Encyclopedia of Neurologic Disorders
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
Headaches : Causes, Treatment, and Prevention In this book, the authors present topical research in the study of the causes, treatment and prevention of headaches.
Manual of Child Neurology : Problem Based Approach to Common Disorders The manual presents a simplified, organized, and comprehensive problem based approach to common pediatric neurological disorders directed to the level of medical students, pediatric residents, general practitioners and general pediatricians. This e-book is thus a concise outline with practical tips to facilitate proper diagnosis and management of various neurological disorders.
Manual Of Pediatric Neurology Manual of Pediatric Neurology is an easy-to-read and easy-to-access text based on clinical scenarios. The book comprises a collection of chapters that address frequently encountered conditions in all clinical settings.
Motor Neuron Diseases : Causes, Classification, and Treatments
Multiple Sclerosis : A Guide for the Newly Diagnosed: Fourth Edition This book has been written for those newly diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. It is a guide to learning about the disease, its potential impact on your life, and the medical treatments now available for managing it successfully.
Multiple Sclerosis : Causes, Diagnosis, and Management This book presents current research in the study of the causes, diagnosis and management of multiple sclerosis. Topics discussed include the reactivity profile of B cells and autoantibodies in MS; the role of fatty acids in neurodegenerative diseases; the possible mechanisms that the Epstein-Barr virus is exploiting to trigger MS and immunoglobulin free light chains in the diagnosis of multiple sclerosis.
Neurological Disorders : New Research In this book, the authors present current research in the study of neurological disorders including advanced structural and functional MRI techniques used in Parkinson's disease; the role of neuropoietic cytokines in neural injury; neurological complications associated with anti-tumor necrosis factor alpha (TNF-a) treatment; effect of aging on changes in nociception and Cav2a1 expression patterns; polymeric intracorporeal devices for the management of neurological disorders; and autoimmunity to neurons and axons in neurological diseases.
Neurology Emergencies This compact handbook provides all the essential specific steps for assessment and management of emergencies in neurology. Edited by an emergency medicine physician and a neurologist, these chapters are easy to review during or after a busy shift. Focus is placed on the acute patient with both common and complex neurological presentations.
Oxford American Handbook of Neurology The Oxford American Handbook of Neurology is a practical, quick-reference guide for use on the ward and in the clinic. It includes information on neurological assessment and common presentations and disorders, including sleep disorders, neurotrama, and neurosurgery. Numerous neuro-imaging studies and diagrams supplement concise, to-the-point text.
Parkinson's Disease : Behavioural & Cognitive Aspects
Pediatric Neurology This book present current research from across the globe in the study of pediatric neurology. Topics discussed include the application of MLS BAER in pediatric, mainly neonatal, neurology to detect or diagnose brainstem and auditory abnormalities; childhood epilepsy and cognition; early predictors for autism spectrum disorders; acute severe hypoxia and chronic sublethal hypoxia on the neonatal brainstem and clinical neurophysiology in preterm infants
Practical Epilepsy Written for busy practitioners and trainees, Practical Epilepsy is the only concise yet exhaustive reference encompassing the broad scope of clinical epilepsy.
Principles and Practice of Child Neurology in Infancy This book presents recommendations for investigations and treatments based on internationally accepted good practice that can be implemented in most settings. The book is divided into two parts: Principles and Clinical settings, with the latter taking a symptom-based approach.
Sleep Disorders in Neurology This book delves into the uncovered world of sleep in patients affected by neurological disorders and further explores those night hours that may be precious restoring sources of healing or else confirm, or exacerbate, daytime neurological symptoms. Within the gamut of abnormal movements during sleep, disorders such as epilepsy or Parkinson's, dementia or Guillain Barré Syndrome (GBS) will contribute to a spectrum of described nocturnal behavioral patterns or seizures, which may represent important clues in the quest for understanding and treating these syndromes.

Obstetrics/Gynecology

Controversies in Preeclampsia
Dewhurst's Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology This time honoured classic has been re-built completely: after six editions the editor has decided that a radical revision is necessary. The new edition has been developed as a result of intensive consultation with trainees in OB/GYN as to what they want, what they need and how they learn. The book is organised into two halves covering obstetrics and gynaecology.
Miscarriages : Causes, Symptoms and Prevention Miscarriage is a common problem in obstetrics and often experienced in woman's life. It occurs in about 10 percent of pregnancy and is more frequent with increasing age and in women with previous miscarriages. It has many clinical forms and different known causes, although most miscarriages remain unexplained. When counselling a patient, Doctors share anguish with their patients when they are compelled to inform them on the causes remained unexplained and on the scarce chances to prevent the recurrence. All this triggered the authors to plan and make a book on miscarriages, wishing they may add knowledge to doctors and hope to families who experience the problem
Obstetric Medicine The name change acknowledges the evolution of an emerging special interest domain as physicians are increasingly caring for pregnant women with acute and chronic medical conditions that require complex assessment and sophisticated care
Obstetric Triage and Emergency Care Protocols Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title!2012 Second Place AJN Book of the Year Award Winner in Maternal and Child Health! This up-to-date handbook of narrative practice guidelines for use in obstetric triage and emergency settings provides speedy access to critical information needed by healthcare providers in obstetrics, midwifery, emergency medicine, and family care medicine
Obstetrics and Gynecology : The Essentials of Clinical Care Written by an international team of practitioners, this book offers an overview of the most important and common clinical issues in obstetrics and gynecology, including reproductive endocrinology, gynecologic oncology, and sexuality.
Oxford Handbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology It's finally here: the brand new edition of this bestselling handbook of obstetrics and gynaecology! The new author team, combining both UK trainees and highly experienced obstetricians and gynaecologists, have put together a wealth of practical advice on diagnosing and managing common problems and emergencies.
Practical Obstetrics The 21st edition of this standard reference book – now published in English – provides indispensable, hands-on information for the delivery room, as well as before and after childbirth. The book combines proven facts and techniques with new insights through a consistent focus on practical and applied knowledge.
Problem Solving in Women's Health

Oncology

Cancer Facts: A Concise Oncology Text This work provides cancer incidence, mortality, risks, trends and management information distilled into a concise text. It aims to bridge the gap between the information in general medical and surgical texts and the large oncology reference volumes used by practicing oncologists.
Dynamics Of Cancer: Mathematical Foundations Of Oncology The book aims to provide an introduction to mathematical models that describe the dynamics of tumor growth and the evolution of tumor cells. It can be used as a textbook for advanced undergraduate or graduate courses, and also serves as a reference book for researchers.
Gynecologic Oncology Handbook : An Evidence-Based Clinical Guide Gynecologic Oncology Handbook provides a comprehensive yet concise, practical guide for fellows, residents, specialist trainees, and clinicians in the diagnosis and management of gynecologic cancers.
Handbook of Treatment Planning in Radiation Oncology This is a highly practical resource about the specific technical aspects of delivering radiation treatment. Pocket-sized and well organized for ease of use, the book is designed to lead radiation oncology trainees and residents step by step through the basics of radiotherapy planning and delivery for all major malignancies. This new, evidence-based edition retains the valued, practical features of the first edition while incorporating recent advances in the field
Integrative Oncology Noted oncologist Donald Abrams and integrative medicine pioneer Andrew Weil and their international panel of experts present up-to-date and extensively referenced chapters on a wide spectrum of issues and challenges, bound in one comprehensive, reader-friendly text in a format featuring key points, sidebars, tables, and a two-color design for ease of use.
Manual of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Given that there have been considerable advances in the treatment and management of oncologic diseases in children, the fifth edition of this successful clinical manual will be entirely updated to incorporate all current protocols and developments. This edition will be a comprehensive book on patient management, replete with algorithms and flow diagrams on diagnosis and management.
Oncology Boards Flash Review
Problem Solving in Acute Oncology
Problem Solving in Oncology
Radiation Oncology : Difficult Cases and Practical Management Radiation Oncology provides residents, fellows, and clinicians with a practical, evidence-based guide to the current management of difficult cases in radiation oncology. Emphasis is on the management of those clinical challenges commonly seen in practice that the community practitioner would normally handle without outside referral.
Radiation Oncology Primer and Review : Essential Concepts and Protocols Radiation Oncology Primer and Review describes the fundamental concepts, nomenclature and definitions of the field of radiation oncology that every trainee or practitioner needs to know. Divided into three sections, Radiation Oncology Primer and Review covers basic science, clinical science, and technical and planning issues to give the trainee a full overview of the core knowledge base of the field.
Synopsis of Clinical Oncology Authored by some of the world's leading cancer experts from wide ranging disciplines including oncology, radiation oncology, neurosurgery, orthopedic surgery, and radiology this compact volume provides authoritative state-of-the-art primer level overviews of the various cancer types, their evaluation, and treatment. Every aspect of oncology is covered with clear, up-to-date descriptions of the general principles and concepts fundamental to attaining a clinical appreciation of the foundations of cancer care
Neuropsychology of Cancer and Oncology
When Cancer Crosses Disciplines: A Physician's Handbook Ever wondered if your patient's new symptoms are a manifestation of metastatic disease, treatment effects or are altogether unrelated to the cancer diagnosis; whether herbal remedies interact with cancer treatment; when to refer for genetic testing; or how to provide informed advice regarding dietary and lifestyle modifications?

Ophthalmology

A Handbook of Ophthalmic Nursing Standards and Procedures
Computational Analysis Of The Human Eye With Applications This book is a novel and well-timed endeavor to present, in an amalgamated format, computational image modeling methods as applied to various extrinsic scientific problems in ophthalmology. It is self-contained and presents a highly comprehensive array of image modeling algorithms and methodologies relevant to ophthalmologic problems.
Diabetes and Ocular Disease : Past, Present, and Future Therapies This monograph will provide practitioners with a concise, up-to-date, practical reference for the diagnosis and management of ocular disease in diabetic patients.
Diagnostic Technologies in Ophthalmology This E-book provides the reader with a detailed up-to-date review of diagnostic technologies and their role in clinical practice. Chapters are dedicated specifically to describe the role of current technologies in the management of the leading causes of visual impairment such as age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, glaucoma, vitreo-retinal disorders, cornea and anterior segment diseases.
Encyclopedia of Eye Research This book presents important research advances in the study of eye research, as well as eye cancer research, retinal degeneration, macular degeneration, optics research, optic nerve disease and visual perception.
Fast Facts: Glaucoma Packed with superb illustrations, Fast Facts: Glaucoma is bursting with practical information on the disease, including: - A concise overview of the glaucoma subtypes and their global prevalence - A clear explanation of the pathophysiology alongside what the patient actually experiences - The questions to ask when taking a history - The key elements of a comprehensive eye examination - How to minimize the impact of the disease on the patient and reduce risk factors - The latest medical and surgical treatments
Issues in Ophthalmic Practice : Current and Future Challenges
Oxford American Handbook of Ophthalmology In a concise and contemporary new edition, the Oxford American Handbook of Ophthalmology offers highly practical yet evidence-based guidance on the diagnosis and management of ophthalmic disorders. Incorporating a systematic approach, the authors present common and/or important manifestations of the full spectrum of eye diseases. Included are useful summaries of common signs and symptoms, etiologies, diagnostic testing, and therapeutic regimens, as well as information on pre-, peri-, and post-operative eye care.
Retinal Detachment : Priniciples and Practice Retinal Detachment: Principles and Practice provides a historical review of current information on the diagnosis and treatment of retinal detachment. It is intended as both an introduction for graduate students in ophthalmology and a concise review or reference for practicing ophthalmologists.
Visual Fields

Pediatrics

Advanced Pediatric Assessment, Second Edition Now in its second edition, Advanced Pediatric Assessment is an in-depth, current guide to pediatric-focused assessment, addressing the unique anatomic and physiological differences among infants, children, and adults as they bear upon pediatric assessment. The second edition is updated to reflect recent advances in understanding of pediatric assessment for PNPs, FNPs, and other practitioners, as well as students enrolled in these advance practice educational programs
AAP Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
Fast Facts for the Pediatric Nurse : An Orientation Guide in a Nutshell
Keeping Your Child Healthy with Chinese Medicine : A Parent's Guide to the Care and Prevention of Common Childhood Diseases
Manual of Pediatric Nutrition
Pediatric Rehabilitation, Fifth Edition : Principles and Practice Named a Doody ís Core Title in 2012 and 2013!Widely acknowledged as the cornerstone reference in the field, Pediatric Rehabilitation brings together renowned specialists from all sectors of the pediatric rehabilitation community to provide the most current and comprehensive information available. The fifth edition has been substantially updated and expanded with evidence-based discussions of new theories, therapies, interventions, research findings, and controversies.
Pediatrics Pediatrics: Rehabilitation Medicine Quick Reference presents 111 alphabetically arranged topics covering all major concerns in pediatric rehabilitation. The bulk of the book catalogs the diverse diseases, injuries, complications and other problems commonly seen by practitioners who work to restore function to children with disabilities and offers a quick reference guide to providing high-quality clinical care.
American Academy of Pediatrics Quick Reference Guide to Pediatric Care
Signs and Symptoms in Pediatrics Evaluate diverse pediatric complaints efficiently and accurately with this all-new resource from the American Academy of Pediatrics! This convenient handbook helps you effectively evaluate patient complaints, and develop sound differential diagnoses and management strategies. This practice-focused new resource provides must-know information and expert advice for confidently addressing more than 80 diagnostic challenges.
Study Guide to Accompany Advanced Pediatric Assessment, Second Edition : A Case Study and Critical Thinking Review The only study guide to focus specifically on the assessment of infants and children. This companion study guide to Advanced Pediatric Assessment, Second Edition incorporates case studies, certification-style review questions, and anatomic labeling exercises to enhance and reinforce the specialized learning experience of nurse practitioner students.
Succinct Pediatrics: Evaluation and Management for Common and Critical Care Confidently evaluate evidence-based information to make timely and accurate diagnoses and treatment decisions! Starting with this volume, Succinct Pediatrics will be an ongoing series covering the entire scope of pediatric medicine.

Philosophy of Medicine

Beyond Boundaries of Biomedicine : Pragmatic Perspectives on Health and Disease
Health Humanities Reader In Health Humanities Reader, editors Therese Jones, Delese Wear, and Lester D. Friedman have assembled fifty-four leading scholars, educators, artists, and clinicians to survey the rich body of work that has already emerged from the field—and to imagine fresh approaches to the health humanities in these original essays.
Hippocrates, On the Art of Medicine Employing the logical tools of contemporary analytic philosophy, this book places the pseudo-Hippocratic treatise On the Art of Medicine in its proper philosophical, rhetorical, and medical contexts through a new translation and commentary on the Greek text.
How Doctors Think : Clinical Judgment and the Practice of Medicine How Doctors Think defines the nature and importance of clinical judgment. Although physicians make use of science, this book argues that medicine is not itself a science but rather an interpretive practice that relies on clinical reasoning.
Medicine of the Person : Faith, Science and Values in Health Care Provision Medicine of the Person is an international, multi-faith exploration of the demonstrable need to integrate the scientific basis of healthcare more fully with spiritual, religious and ethical values.
The End of Modern Medicine : Biomedical Science Under a Microscope
Truly Human Enhancement : A Philosophical Defense of Limits The transformative potential of genetic and cybernetic technologies to enhance human capabilities is most often either rejected on moral and prudential grounds or hailed as the future salvation of humanity. In this book, Nicholas Agar offers a more nuanced view, making a case for moderate human enhancement -- improvements to attributes and abilities that do not significantly exceed what is currently possible for human beings.
Where Medicine Went Wrong: Rediscovering The Path To Complexity Where Medicine Went Wrong explores how the idea of an average value has been misapplied to medical phenomena, distorted understanding and lead to flawed medical decisions. Through new insights into the science of complexity, traditional physiology is replaced with fractal physiology, in which variability is more indicative of health than is an average.

Psychiatry

A Short Introduction to Psychiatry A Short Introduction to Psychiatry is designed to give readers a clear picture of the profession of psychiatry as it is today as well as an understanding of the subject from which to develop further study. The author describes the development of the profession, the route to qualification and the scope of contemporary practice, including the work done by psychiatrists in a range of specialisms
Critical Issues in Psychotherapy : Translating New Ideas Into Practice Critical Issues in Psychotherapy examines new and existing models in psychotherapy and presents them in an accessible manner to the practitioner in training through illustrative therapy cases and practitioner commentaries. There are many new models that have emerged in psychotherapy in recent years; however; they have not often been made accessible to front line practitioners.
Depression : A Primer for Practitioners Every health care provider and mental health professional will encounter clients struggling with depression, yet many of these professionals don't receive a thorough grounding on theory, research, and clinical guidelines regarding depression, and those who do sometimes have trouble keeping abreast of the literature (a literature that includes over 60,000 empirical publications since 1980!).
Early Detection and Management of Mental Disorders
Fads and Fallacies in Psychiatry This book examines fads and fallacies, both past and present, that plague psychiatry, both in diagnosis and in treatment. These include overdiagnosis (especially of depression, bipolar disorder, ADHD, PTSD and autism), overtreatment with pharmaceuticals and the assumption that neuroscience has all the answers. Until we really understand the nature of serious mental illness, psychiatrists need to resist fads in diagnosis and treatment.
Feeling Good : The Science of Well-Being All human beings have spontaneous needs for happiness, self-understanding, and love. In Feeling Good: The Science of Well Being, psychiatrist Robert Cloninger describes a way to coherent living that satisfies these strong basic needs through growth in the uniquely human gift of self-awareness
Modern Mental Health : Critical Perspectives on Psychiatric Practice
Perspectives in Psychiatry Research This book presents and discusses current research in the field of psychiatry. Topics discussed include fear and anxiety in psychiatric disorders; developments in telepsychiatry; emotional expression of psychopathy and antisocial personality disorder and the relationship between societal crime and socio-economic status, income inequality and education. (Imprint: Nova Press)
Psychiatric Clinical Skills Psychiatric Clinical Skills is a practical guide to engaging and assessing people who have mental health problems. Written by a team of experienced clinicians, it focuses on “what to ask” and “how to ask” and covers a wide spectrum of clinical problems and settings. It includes a chapter written from the perspective of people who live with mental health problems.
Psychiatry : A Very Short Introduction
Psychiatry As a Human Science : Phenomenological, Hermeneutical and Lacanian Perspectives
Seminars in General Adult Psychiatry
The Concepts of Psychiatry : A Pluralistic Approach to the Mind and Mental Illness
The Organic and the Inner World
The Psychotherapy of Hope : The Legacy of Persuasion and Healing Directly inspired by the work of Jerome D. Frank and his field-defining book Persuasion and Healing, this volume of essays by distinguished contemporary scholars broadly assesses the current state of research and practice in psychotherapy.
The Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Theory and Practice of Psychiatry Based on years of teaching psychiatry to medical students and residents, this single-authored textbook offers a conversational yet detailed guide to modern psychiatric theory and practice.

Pulmonology

Fast Facts: Asthma Fast Facts: Asthma delivers a clear practical message – improved asthma control can be achieved through efficient commonsense delivery of asthma care, alongside strategies that improve patient self-management and medication use. This fully updated fourth edition examines the essentials of good asthma care, distilled from the latest international guidelines and best available evidence
Asthma : Causes, Complications & Treatment This book examines the causes, complications and treatment of asthma with topics including mathematical modeling in aspirin-induced asthma; the role of neuroimmune and psychological systems in the pathophysiology of bronchial asthma; special considerations of asthma in older adults; changes in the respiratory epithelium in bronchial asthma; and epidemiology of asthma during pregnancy
Chronic Obstructive Lung Diseases This clinical reference for practitioners offers a new and comprehensive look at chronic obstructive lung disease. Global in scale and importance, it is an important cause of morbidity and mortality. Bringing together a roster of internationally renowned contributors from the front lines of pulmonary medicine and research, it is aimed at practitioners in pulmonary medicine, pathology, thoracic radiology and epidemiology.
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease Fast Facts: Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease is an invaluable resource for all healthcare professionals, full of practical information on the early recognition, stabilization and successful management of this multifaceted disease
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) This pocketbook is a concise companion for all health care professionals who come into contact with patients with COPD. It covers the full spectrum of COPD management ranging from smoking cessation to advanced COPD, bridging both the primary and secondary care aspects of treatment and discussing the latest advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology and new drug treatments of this disease.
Contemporary Diagnosis, Prevention, and Management of Influenza This practice-based handbook provides clinicians with a comprehensive understanding of the pathophysiology of influenza A, including an explanation of the swine flu (H1N1), and the options for prevention and treatment. This practice-based handbook provides clinicians with a comprehensive understanding of the pathophysiology of influenza and examines the various prevention and treatment options available for this illness.
Hypoxia : Causes, Types and Management This book contains contributions from an international group of authors covering a wide range of situations in benign as well as malignant diseases, in which understanding the role of hypoxia may lead to novel diagnostic and therapeutic strategies. These include modulation of tissue oxygenation as well as treatment concepts directed specifically at hypoxic cells
Lung Cancer Lung cancer is a major cause of cancer-related deaths in men and women. However, since the first edition of Lung Cancer was published 14 years ago, rapid progress in the biology, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of the disease has been made.
Lung Transplantation : Therapies, Complications, and Outcomes This book presents research in the study of lung transplantation, including primary graft dysfunction in lung transplantation; the impact of viral pathogens in lung transplant patients; neurologic complications of lung transplantation; intensive care management of the lung transplantation patient and the surgical issues facing lung transplant surgeons.
Oxford American Handbook of Pulmonary Medicine The Oxford American Handbook of Pulmonary Medicine is an essential quick reference guide to all the major respiratory symptoms and diseases. Each topic is covered in a consistent format including practical tips for both inpatient and outpatient care settings. The handbook features a section on practical procedures plus useful pages on lung and bronchial anatomy, CT anatomy, lung function, and blood gas nomograms.
Oxford American Handbook of Respiratory Medicine The Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Medicine provides a fast, reliable look-up reference on all chest diseases. The second edition of this comprehensive Handbook has been revised throughout, with additional material on avian flu, pulmonary complications of sickle cell disease, acute and chronic oxygen therapy and updated references to the latest British Thoracic Society guidelines.
Oxford Case Histories in Respiratory Medicine Based around the curriculum for specialist trainees in respiratory medicine and designed for those preparing for exit exams, this book contains 44 well-structured, peer-reviewed cases gathered from the Oxford Hospitals, comprehensively covering the various disorders of the respiratory system.
Pulmonary Hypertension : The Present and Future

Rheumatology

A Clinician's Guide to Rheumatic Diseases in Children In this marvelously down-to-earth guide, Thomas Lehman--the head of one of the leading pediatric rheumatology programs in the world--offers a gold mine of expert advice invaluable for pediatricians who want to become more proficient in understanding, diagnosing, and treating rheumatic disease in children.
Fibromyalgia
Integrative Rheumatology In this book, researchers and clinicians highlight specific gaps in conventional rheumatologic care and examine how alternative approaches may be ideally suited to address these missed opportunities. Here, the authors introduce topics not typically addressed in conventional rheumatology texts, including nutritional therapies, exercise, herbal medicine, mind/body approaches, Ayurveda, and energy medicine.
Lupus : Symptoms, Treatment and Potential Complications
Lupus : The Essential Clinician's Guide Part of the Oxford American Rheumatology Library, this concise, authoritative pocketbook provides the most up-to-date information on the diagnosis, treatment and management of lupus. The volume describes the pathophysiology of the condition, diagnostic strategies and tools, and current and emerging therapeutic options, focusing on direct clinical applications for busy healthcare professionals.
Fast Facts: Osteoporosis This sixth edition of Fast Facts: Osteoporosis covers all of the most recent developments in the therapeutic and diagnostic arena, while maintaining the background sections that clarify the pathophysiology of osteoporosis and the homeostatic determinants of peak bone acquisition and maintenance.
Oxford Desk Reference: Rheumatology The Oxford Desk Reference: Rheumatology brings this information together in an easy-to-use format. This essential resource combines up-to-date, relevant, evidence-based information with the latest guidelines and the experience of senior consultants.
Oxford Handbook of Rheumatology Extensively revised and fully updated, this new edition of the Oxford Handbook of Rheumatology provides everything you need to understand the wide range of rheumatic conditions. Including the latest guidelines and the most up-to-date information, this is the indispensible guide for students, trainees, consultant rheumatologists, and everyone dealing with patients with musculoskeletal disease.
Problem Solving in Rheumatology
Rheumatology
Rheumatology : A Clinical Handbook Rheumatology: A clinical handbook is an essential resource for medical students who need an introduction, understanding and overview of the subject. Most competing texts either burden medical students with information they do not require, or cover rheumatology alongside orthopaedics and as a result compromise fundamentals of rheumatology. This book is different – it provides all the information students need during their rheumatology placement and signposts them to where they can find further information. A definition and brief pathophysiology for each condition is provided, which is linked to the respective clinical features.
Soft Tissue Rheumatology
Rheumatology Handbook, The The Rheumatology Handbook is a unique resource for medical students and non-specialist doctors. It represents a collaborative effort between specialists from major teaching hospitals within the UK and Ireland, with each chapter being edited by a different consultant rheumatologist with the relevant subspecialty interest.
Top 10 in Rheumatology The ‘Top 10'series aims to provide a critical mini-synopsis of the major conditions seen in a variety of medical specialties. In this volume, the diagnosis and treatment of ten major rheumatic diseases are summarised. RHEUMATOID ARTHRITIS LUPUS SJÖGREN'S SYNDROME HUGHES (ANTIPHOSPHOLIPID) SYNDROME VASCULITIS SERONEGATIVE ARTHRITIS ANKYLOSING SPONDYLITIS GOUT & PSEUDOGOUT OSTEOPOROSIS INFECTIVE ARTHRITIS

Surgery

Current Surgical Guidelines
Fundamentals of Surgical Practice Fundamentals of Surgical Practice is the essential textbook for the MRCS and the AFRCSEd. Exactly mirroring the unified syllabus, it gives the trainee a clear understanding of the core knowledge required to succeed in the examinations and stands apart from other textbooks in its direct relevance to the new examination.
Handbook Of Pediatric Surgical Patient Care Handbook of Pediatric Surgical Patient Care focuses on the decision-making process in the overall management of the pediatric surgical patient and provides guidelines for diagnosis. The book covers topics ranging from a wide spectrum of neonatal conditions and surgical critical care to other childhood afflictions, pediatric cancer and the injured child.
Surgery : Evidence-based Practice A guide to “when to” and “what to” rather than “how to,” this book provides evidence-based surgical reviews to provide credible answers to age-old surgical management questions. The management issues presented are oriented toward interventions and use evidence-based techniques to assess the safety and efficacy of new treatments and rehabilitative or preventative interventions.

Vascular Medicine

Atlas of Vascular Medicine : A Case-Based Approach to Current Management Atlas of Vascular Medicine provides concise overviews of current management of vascular diseases utilizing a case-based format. A wide range of cases is presented encompassing arterial, venous, and lymphatic diseases.
Handbook Of Vascular Disease Management, A This handbook serves to educate medical students and surgery residents regarding the most up-to-date treatments for arterial, venous and lymphatic disease. Endovascular management of these disorders has emerged rapidly and the most current techniques will be covered in detail.
Vascular Medicine : Therapy and Practice Vascular Medicine, Second Edition presents the current methods of diagnosis and treatment across the entire specialty of angiology, providing clear guidance on vascular medicine from well-known specialists. Updates include coverage of recent advances in endovascular therapy, an introductory anatomy section in each chapter, and a detailed duplex ultrasonography section for every vascular region.
Vascular Medicine and Endovascular Interventions If you plan to take the Vascular Medicine Board Examination, this book is essential. Presenting the compiled knowledge of experts in the field and emphasizing topics covered on the exam, this concise text: facilitates review and retention of material with questions and answers for each chapter

Related Subjects

See also Health, Law, and Nutrition in this Subject Guide