LibGuides: E-Books: Library Science (Libraries)

Overview

General Library Science
Academic Libraries
Censorship, Academic Freedom, and Intellectual Freedom

General Library Science

Library Management 101 : A Practical Guide Knowing the principles of general management is both useful and necessary for LIS students, but learning management techniques specific to the world of libraries is no less important. Created to fill a surprising educational void, this edited volume focuses on best practices from library management experts teaching in LIS programs across the country.
Planning Our Future Libraries : Blueprints for 2030 This edited collection brings together library leaders with some of the brightest new minds in the profession to envision the future of libraries. Drawing from their personal experiences, they bring their barrier-breaking perspectives to the task of reinventing the library in all its forms.
The Quality Infrastructure : Measuring, Analyzing, and Improving Library Services A library's infrastructure of programs and personnel is its most valuable asset, providing the foundation for everything it does and aspires to do, which is why assessment is so vitally important. In this collection of case studies, Murphy and her team of contributors describe how quality assessment programs have been implemented and how they are used to continuously improve service at a complete cross-section of institutions.
The Transformed Library : E-books, Expertise, and Evolution A respected veteran of libraries who has witnessed first-hand the many changes in the library world, Woodward provides a balanced, realistic look at the situation confronting both libraries and information professionals.
The Whole Library Handbook 5 : Current Data, Professional Advice, and Curiosa The Whole Library Handbook, now in its fifth edition, is an encyclopedia filled with facts, tips, lists, and resources essential for library professionals and information workers of all kinds, all carefully handpicked to reflect the most informative, practical, up-to-date, and entertaining examples of library literature.

Academic Libraries

Academic Archives: : Managing the Next Generation of College and University Archives, Records, and Special Collections This new definition of academic archives programs has redefined the role, and training, of academic archivists. This book gives you the tools to fill that role, including collection strategies, a management plan for electronic records, and development strategies for starting a campus records management program, and an understanding of the emerging trends affecting all archivists.
College Libraries and Student Culture : What We Now Know This important book deepens our understanding of how academic libraries can better serve students 'needs, and also serves as a model for other researchers interested in a user-centered approach to evaluating library services.
Envisioning Future Academic Library Services : Initiatives, Ideas and Challenges This topical edited collection will stimulate strategic and innovative thinking and question the status quo. It will be a'must read'for leaders and future leaders of the profession, who will be challenged to align library services with the changing demands of the academic community and the work environment.
Fundamentals for the Academic Liaison The changing higher education environment requires a new kind of relationship among faculty, academic liaisons, and students. A core resource for any LIS student or academic librarian serving as a liaison, this handbook lays out the comprehensive fundamentals of the discipline, helping librarians build the confidence and cooperation of the university faculty in relation to the library.
Joint Libraries : Models That Work The joint-use college/public library can be an ideal solution to serving patrons while managing overextended resources, and this illuminating book scrutinizes successes and failures of the joint-use model. Three founding faculty librarians of a joint-use college/public library discuss the factors that should go into evaluating when and where a joint library is suitable.
Reflecting on the Future of Academic and Public Libraries Academic and public libraries are much different today than they were even 15 years ago. With even bigger changes on the horizon, what lies in store? This volume offers ideas to academic and public librarians about the future of library services.
Technological Innovation : Perceptions and Definitions Everyone agrees that innovation is a worthy aim, but what does innovation actually entail? And what does it mean for a library organization? For this issue of Library Technology Reports, Jason Vaughan reviewed professional literature, both scholarly and mainstream, and surveyed library directors to learn their views on how technological innovation is impacting today's libraries.
The Academic Library Administrator's Field Guide The daily administration of an academic library often leaves you needing quick advice on the topic at hand. Nelson, an experienced administrator writing from first-hand knowledge, delivers such advice in 30 topical chapters. Each chapter begins with an “Assertion,” a one-sentence summary allowing you to rapidly scan the book and find what you need.

Censorship, Academic Freedom, and Intellectual Freedom

Academic Freedom and the Inclusive University Battles over human rights, curriculum issues and hiring and promotion practices reveal to what extent efforts to integrate ideas of academic freedom and the inclusive university have engendered strife and debate on Canadian campuses. For some, the concept of academic freedom has become its own myth -- an icon to be revered, an article of faith, an essentialist doctrine with roots firmly planted in tradition. For others, the concept of an inclusive university -- a university reflecting the burgeoning diversity of cultures and ideologies in Canadian society -- demands realization through the transformation of university structures and practices. The four parts of Academic Freedom and the Inclusive University explore this conflict.
Academic Freedom and the Law : A Comparative Study Academic Freedom and the Law: A Comparative Study provides a critical analysis of the law relating to academic freedom in three major jurisdictions: the United Kingdom, Germany and the United States.
Academic Lives : Memoir, Cultural Theory, and the University Today Based on close readings of memoirs by such academics as Michael Bérubé, Cathy N. Davidson, Jane Gallop, bell hooks, Edward Said, Eve Sedgwick, Jane Tompkins, and Marianna Torgovnick, Academic Lives considers why so many professors write memoirs and what cultural capital they carry.
Dear Sir, I Intend to Burn Your Book : An Anatomy of a Book Burning Censorship and book burning are still present in our lives. Lawrence Hill shares his experiences of how ignorance and the fear of ideas led a group in the Netherlands to burn the cover of his widely successful novel, The Book of Negroes, in 2011.
Freedom From Speech In this Broadside, Greg Lukianoff argues that the threats to free speech go well beyond political correctness or liberal groupthink. As global populations increasingly expect not just physical comfort but also intellectual comfort, threats to freedom of speech are only going to become more intense. To fight back, we must understand this trend and see how students and average citizens alike are increasingly demanding freedom from speech.
Intellectual Freedom for Teens : A Practical Guide for Young Adult & School Librarians Year after year a majority of the titles on ALA's Banned Books list, which compiles titles threatened with censorship, are either YA books or adult books that are frequently read by teens. It's important for YA librarians to understand the types of challenges occurring in libraries around the nation and to be ready to deal with such challenges when they occur. The Young Adult Library Services (YALSA) has tailored this book specifically for these situations, providing much-needed guidance on the highly charged topic of intellectual freedom for teens.
Intellectual Freedom Manual : Ninth Edition The new edition of the Intellectual Freedom Manual is more than just an invaluable compendium of guiding principles and policies. It's also an indispensable resource for day-to-day guidance on maintaining free and equal access to information for all people
Libraries, the First Amendment, and Cyberspace : What You Need to Know
No University Is an Island : Saving Academic Freedom No University Is an Island offers a comprehensive account of the social, political, and cultural forces undermining academic freedom
Obscene in the Extreme : The Burning and Banning of John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath
Privacy and Freedom of Information in 21st-century Libraries In the November/December issue of Library Technology Reports, the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom has assembled an all-star cast of writers to explore the challenges to privacy that ongoing shifts in technology have created, and how librarians can address them.
Protecting Intellectual Freedom in Your Academic Library : Scenarios From the Front Lines
Protecting Intellectual Freedom in Your School Library : Scenarios From the Front Lines
The Crime of Reason : And the Closing of the Scientific Mind A Nobel Laureate physicist argues that ours is not an age of information but an age of disinformation and ignorance, where access to knowledge is becoming increasingly restricted and even criminalized.
There's No Such Thing As Free Speech : And It's a Good Thing, Too A renowned scholar of Milton, head of the English Department of Duke University, Stanley Fish has emerged as a brilliantly original critic of the culture at large, praised and pilloried as a vigorous debunker of the pieties of both the left and right. His mission is not to win the cultural wars that preoccupy the nation's attention, but rather to redefine the terms of battle. In There's No Such Thing as Free Speech, Fish takes aim at the ideological gridlock paralyzing academic and political exchange in the nineties.
True Stories of Censorship Battles in America's Libraries Intellectual freedom is a core value of librarianship, but fighting to keep controversial materials on the shelves can sometimes feel like a lonely battle. And not all censorship controversies involve the public objecting to a book in the collection—libraries are venues for displays and meetings, and sometimes library staff themselves are tempted to preemptively censor a work. Those facing censorship challenges can find support and inspiration in this book, which compiles dozens of stories from library front lines.

Overview

Classification of Information
Collection Management
Digital Libraries
Information Literacy
Library Education
Library Effectiveness
Metadata
Public Libraries
Public Services (Instruction & Reference)
Records Management
School Libraries

Classification of Information

Linked Data Tools : Connecting on the Web FRBR, RDA: Resource Description and Access, and Library of Congress's commitment to a new bibliographic framework all point toward opportunities for shared, linked library data. In this issue of Library Technology Reports, Karen Coyle updates readers on the development of fundamental resources such as standards, data elements, and term lists, showing how they fit together.
Metadata in Practice
Object Reuse and Exchange (OAI-ORE) In this issue of Library Technology Reports, Michael Witt helps you do just that. If you are an Electronic Resources Librarian, Digital Archivist or work with Digital Catalogs in any capacity, this report is a must-read for you. The Open Archives Initiative Object Reuse and Exchange specification defines a set of new standards for the description and exchange of aggregations of web resources.
Organizing Information : From the Shelf to the Web Tomorrow's LIS professionals will have to be conversant with all the tools and techniques for organizing information in different domains - from the traditional library shelf to full-scale digital libraries. This core text covers the organization of the entire spectrum of information, and the principles, tools and techniques needed to do this effectively. The most up-to-date textbook yet available on this subject, this comprehensive book covers everything from traditional cataloguing and classification through to metadata, information architecture and the semantic web.
The Accidental Taxonomist The Accidental Taxonomist is the most comprehensive guide available to the art and science of building information taxonomies. Heather Hedden—one of today's leading writers, instructors, and consultants on indexing and taxonomy topics—walks readers through the process, displaying her trademark ability to present highly technical information in straightforward, comprehensible English.
The Discipline of Organizing 'This book offers a framework for the theory and practice of organizing that integrates information organization (IO) and information retrieval (IR), bridging the disciplinary chasms between Library and Information Science and Computer Science, each of which views and teaches IO and IR as separate topics and in substantially different ways
The Intellectual Foundation of Information Organization Just as the practical field of engineering has theoretical physics as its underlying base, the design of systems for organizing information rests on an intellectual foundation. The subject of this book is the systematized body of knowledge that constitutes this foundation. Integrating the disparate disciplines of descriptive cataloging, subject cataloging, indexing, and classification, the book adopts a conceptual framework that views the process of organizing information as the use of a special language of description called a bibliographic language

Collection Management

Big-Deal Serial Purchasing : Tracking the Damage The “Big Deal” looked like a good deal, a true win-win. But while the Big Deal has lowered the rate of serial price inflation, for many libraries the pricing remains unsustainable. Nearly half of libraries have seen substantial increases in serial spending during the past ten years. Where does your institution fall on the scale? Drawing from National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) data, Crawford presents a thorough study, crunching the numbers of a survey of 2,594 academic libraries through 83 revealing charts and graphs. Examining data organized by groups of academic libraries, and broken down by library size, sector, and Carnegie Classification, this issue of Library Technology Reports offers such findings and explanations as: Summary of number of institutions and full-time equivalent students
Collection Development in the Digital Age This topical edited collection is cross-sectoral and international in scope, drawing together the perspectives of practitioners and academics at the forefront of modern collection development. They explore how practitioners can take an active role influencing strategy in this new environment, draw on case studies that illustrate the key changes in context, and consider how collection development might evolve in the future.
Preparing Collections for Digitization Most libraries, archives and museums around the globe are now confronting the challenges of providing digital access to their collections. As digitization becomes more widespread, there is huge demand for detailed guidance on best practice. While much has been written on the theory, these practical aspects have often been neglected, but they are significant not only in safeguarding the collection during image capture but also in ensuring that projects run smoothly and the resulting digital collection is of high quality. This practical guide fills that gap, offering guidance covering the end-to-end process of digitizing collections, from selecting records for digitization to choosing suppliers and equipment and dealing with documents that present individual problems.

Digital Libraries

Collection Development in the Digital Age The last decade has seen profound changes in how library collections are developed and managed, driven by a rapidly evolving market place, more sophisticated user-expectations and fast-moving changes in technology. Digital resources are increasingly central to collections and this has changed the very concept of collection development and the role of the information professional. This topical edited collection is cross-sectoral and international in scope, drawing together the perspectives of practitioners and academics at the forefront of modern collection development.
Digital Libraries and Information Access : Research Perspectives An authoritative and truly global exploration of current research in digital libraries. Internationally-renowned academics discuss what has been achieved with digital libraries and what we can expect in the future through the prism of research
Digital Library Futures : User Perspectives and Institutional Strategies Initiatives at a cross-cultural level, where libraries, museums and archives work together in creating digital libraries, and making their cultural heritage collections available online, are emerging. Leading academic researchers from the cultural heritage and the publishers sectors approach this issue: Digital library user experience: a focus on current user research; Digital library content: what users want and how they use it; Strategies for institutions: how cultural institutions and publishers respond to the digital challenge.
Digital Media Labs in Libraries
Evaluating and Measuring the Value, Use and Impact of Digital Collections A huge investment has been made in digitizing scholarly and cultural heritage materials through initiatives based in museums, libraries and archives, as well as higher education institutions. The 'Digital Economy' is an important component of institutional planning, and much attention is given to the investment in digital projects and programmes
Information Users and Usability in the Digital Age Information users and usability constitute the main building blocks of today's electronic information world. This important new text is the first to give a holistic overview of all of the necessary issues relating to information users and the usability of information services in the digital world, including user-centred design, and the characteristics and behaviour of information users.
Research Data Management : Practical Strategies for Information Professionals This volume provides a framework to guide information professionals in academic libraries, presses, and data centers through the process of managing research data from the planning stages through the life of a grant project and beyond. It illustrates principles of good practice with use-case examples and illuminates promising data service models through case studies of innovative, successful projects and collaborations.
Using Massive Digital Libraries : A LITA Guide

Information Literacy

A Guide to Teaching Information Literacy : 101 Tips This book is a much-needed sourcebook to support library staff in the delivery of information literacy teaching, by providing practical guidance on tried and tested ideas and techniques for sessions. Full of hints and tips grounded in learning theory, it is a practical reference tool designed to be dipped into as needed when planning teaching and training.
Critical Library Instruction : Theories and Methods
Developing People's Information Capabilities : Fostering Information Literacy in Educational, Workplace and Community Contexts
Improving Students' Web Use and Information Literacy : A Guide for Teachers and Teacher Librarians The web is now an integral part of students'lives in school and in society, and they need to be ever more web alert in order to gain the most from their education. What teachers and teacher librarians badly need to help them achieve this is a professional tool that combines knowledge and use of the web, Web 2.0 tools and information literacy for schools. This book fulfils that need by providing a practical guide to using the web effectively in order to enhance learning and teaching in schools. It does this by focusing on the knowledge and skills needed by teachers and teacher librarians to be information literate web users and to develop these abilities in their students.
Information Literacy Beyond Library 2.0 This new book picks up where the best-selling'Information Literacy'meets'Library 2.0'left off. In the last three years the information environment has changed dramatically, becoming increasingly dominated by the social and the mobile. This new book asks where we are now, what is the same and what has changed, and, most crucially, how do we as information professionals respond to the new information literacy and become a central part of the revolution itself?
Information Literacy Instruction That Works : A Guide to Teaching by Discipline and Student Population, Second Edition In this updated, expanded new second edition, featuring more than 75% new content, Ragains and 16 other library instructors share their best practices for reaching out to today's unique users. Readers will find strategies and techniques for teaching college and university freshmen, community college students, students with disabilities, and those in distance learning programs.
Rethinking Information Literacy : A Practical Framework for Supporting Learning A vision for the future of information literacy teaching Based on groundbreaking research, undertaken by the authors as part of the prestigious Arcadia Programme at Cambridge University, this presents a new and dynamic information literacy curriculum developed for the 21st century information professional.
The Basics of Data Literacy : Helping Your Students (and You!) Make Sense of Data Here's the ideal statistics book for teachers with no statistics background. Written in an informal style with easy-to-grasp examples, The Basics of Data Literacy teaches you how to help your students understand data. Then, in turn, they learn how to collect, summarize, and analyze statistics inside and outside the classroom. The book's 10 succinct chapters provide an introduction to types of variables and data, ways to structure and interpret data tables, simple statistics, and survey basics from a student perspective.
The Road to Information Literacy : Librarians As Facilitators of Learning Information literacy has been identified as a necessary skill for life, work and citizenship - as well as for academic study - for all of us living in today's information society. This international collection brings together practitioner and research papers from all sectors of information work. It includes case studies and good practice guides, including how librarians and information workers can facilitate information literacy from pre-school children to established researchers, digital literacy and information literacy for citizens.
Voyage Across a Constellation of Information : Information Literacy in Interest-Driven Learning Communities What do orcs, elves, and information literacy have to do with each others? Find out in Voyage across a Constellation of Information as we take an in-depth look at information literacy practices (how people find, evaluate, and use information) in the massively multiplayer online game World of Warcraft and its online community.

Library Education

Library Effectiveness

Getting Started with Evaluation Everyone agrees that evaluation of library services is essential, but without a background in research it can be a challenge to apply abstract concepts such as strategic planning, evidence-based decision making, and accountability to real-world situations. Finally library managers have a workbook to help them master key concepts of service quality assessment, offering directed exercises and worksheets to guide them.
Measuring Your Library's Value : How to Do a Cost-benefit Analysis for Your Public Library

Metadata

Analyzing the Next-Generation Catalog : A Library Technology Report Libraries have begun a transformation from physical materials to electronic media, and the so-called next-generation catalog is emerging before our eyes. This issue of 'Library Technology Reports 'analyzes five different academic libraries to better understand their investments, detailing the outcome thus far and drawing conclusions about the next-generation catalog.
Business Metadata: Capturing Enterprise Knowledge Business Metadata: Capturing Enterprise Knowledge is the first book that helps businesses capture corporate (human) knowledge and unstructured data, and offer solutions for codifying it for use in IT and management. Written by Bill Inmon, one of the fathers of the data warehouse and well-known author, the book is filled with war stories, examples, and cases from current projects.
Data Model Patterns: A Metadata Map Data Model Patterns: A Metadata Map not only presents a conceptual model of a metadata repository but also demonstrates a true enterprise data model of the information technology industry itself. It provides a step-by-step description of the model and is organized so that different readers can benefit from different parts.
Handbook Of Metadata, Semantics And Ontologies Metadata research has emerged as a discipline cross-cutting many domains, focused on the provision of distributed descriptions (often called annotations) to Web resources or applications. Such associated descriptions are supposed to serve as a foundation for advanced services in many application areas, including search and location, personalization, federation of repositories and automated delivery of information. Indeed, the Semantic Web is in itself a concrete technological framework for ontology-based metadata.
Metadata in Practice
Metadata Management for Information Control and Business Success
Semantic Web Technologies and Social Searching for Librarians : (THE TECH SET® #20) The authors explain how to explore data and statistics through WolframAlpha, create searchable metadata in Flickr, and give meaning to data and information on the web with Google's Rich Snippets. Let Robin M. Fay and Michael P. Sauers show you how to use tools that will awe your users with your new searching skills.
The Essential Guide to Metadata for Books In The Essential Guide to Metadata for Books, you will learn exactly what you need to know to effectively generate, handle and disseminate metadata for books and ebooks.

Public Libraries

Joint Libraries : Models That Work The joint-use college/public library can be an ideal solution to serving patrons while managing overextended resources, and this illuminating book scrutinizes successes and failures of the joint-use model. Three founding faculty librarians of a joint-use college/public library discuss the factors that should go into evaluating when and where a joint library is suitable.
Libraries and the Reading Public in Twentieth-Century America Drawing on circulation records, patron reviews, and other archived materials, Libraries and the Reading Public in Twentieth-Century America underscores the evolving roles that libraries have played in the lives of American readers.
Planning for a New Generation of Public Library Buildings
Public Libraries and Resilient Cities Public libraries are keystone public institutions for any thriving community, and as such can be leaders in making cities better places to work, play, and live. In this important book, noted urban planner and librarian Dudley shows how public libraries can contribute to “placemaking,” or the creation and nurturing of vital and unique communities for their residents.
Public Libraries in the United States : Data, Trends, and State Profiles
Small Public Library Management
Finally, here's a handbook that includes everything administrators need to keep a handle on library operations, freeing them up to streamline and improve how the organization functions.

Public Services (Instruction & Reference)

Embedded Librarianship: Tools and Practices This issue of Library Technology Reports explores how embedded librarians can use free and low-cost teaching technologies to support and enhance participatory learning experiences in school and academic libraries.
Embedding Librarianship in Learning Management Systems : A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians Information literacy instruction is best when it is integrated into actual research, and in higher education that means embedding librarianship into the learning management system (LMS). This new How-To-Do-It Manual is geared towards academic librarians already working with classes in an LMS as well as those considering how to begin a pilot.
Fundamentals of Reference The all-in-one “Reference reference” you've been waiting for, this invaluable book offers a concise introduction to reference sources and services for a variety of readers, from library staff members who are asked to work in the reference department to managers and others who wish to familiarize themselves with this important area of librarianship.
Guide to Reference : Essential General Reference and Library Science Sources Ideal for public, school, and academic libraries looking to freshen up their reference collection, as well as for LIS students and instructors conducting research, this resource collects the cream of the crop sources of general reference and library science information.
Implementing Virtual Reference Services : A LITA Guide Social web technologies present an often confusing array of options for answering user reference questions. Applying 20 years' experience as a reference librarian working through the development of virtual reference and the integration of new tools and technologies into the industry, Thomsett-Scott lays out how libraries are using vendor services such as LibraryH3lp, LibAnswers, and Text a Librarian, as well as free tools like Twitter and Google Voice for their reference needs. Practitioners offer details on virtual reference services such as Twitter Search, instant messaging services such as Google Voice and Chat, and collaborative services such as My Info Quest.
Making Sense of Business Reference : A Guide for Librarians and Research Professionals In times of recession, the library is more critical than ever for those who want to start a business and need to do research, and academic and public libraries are at the heart of a growing need to research business questions. An “accidental business reference librarian by trade,” Ross explains how to provide quality reference help on issues from marketing to finance--for business people, students, and even business faculty.
Successful Enquiry Answering Every Time This best-selling 'one-stop' practical guide is designed to help all information professionals become self-sufficient in answering enquiries. Step by step, it guides the reader through all stages of research, from finding out what the enquirer really wants, to providing a polished, value-added answer, with an emphasis throughout on how to make the best use of limited resources.
The Embedded Librarian : Innovative Strategies for Taking Knowledge Where It's Needed Here is the first comprehensive survey of the growing practice of'embedded librarianship'—a strategic model for placing information professionals into partnerships with the individuals and working groups that depend upon their knowledge and expertise.
The Librarian As Information Consultant : Transforming Reference for the Information Age
The Readers' Advisory Handbookvv Readers'advisory has long ago sprinted past merely suggesting books to patrons; it now encompasses many different formats and means of communication--working with patrons of all types and ages, in and outside the actual library. To help harried librarians handle increased demand, experts Jessica Moyer and Kaite Stover assemble a group of specialists who have created a one-stop resource for all kinds of readers'advisory issues.

Records Management

Archives and Recordkeeping : Theory Into Practice A groundbreaking text designed to simplify and demystify archival and recordkeeping theory and its role in modern day practice. Its great strength is in articulating the core principles and issues that shape the discipline but also the impact and relevance they have for the 21st century professional. It will outline and explore what practitioners do as well as why they do it and how critical this underlying rationale is to their success using an accessible approach
Managing Records As Evidence and Information
Organizing Your Work Space : A Guide to Personal Productivity
Personal Archives and a New Archival Calling : Readings, Reflections and Ruminations
Personal Archiving : Preserving Our Digital Heritage This multi-authored work offers one of the first and most robust explorations of the emerging field of personal digital archiving.
Records Management : A Practical Approach

School Libraries

Global Perspectives on School Libraries : Projects and Practices This inspiring book can foster the school librarian's professional development for school library enhancement. It aims at providing amazing topics, methodologies, approaches and experiences.
Library Partnerships : Making Connections Between School and Public Libraries In this timely guide, young adult library consultant Tasha Squires delves into the many possible avenues for partnership, from summer reading programs to book talks to resource sharing and more.
Library Spaces for 21st-Century Learners : A Planning Guide for Creating New School Library Concepts Library Spaces for 21st-Century Learners: A Planning Guide for Creating New School Library Concepts focuses on planning contemporary school library spaces with user-based design strategies.
Protecting Intellectual Freedom in Your School Library : Scenarios From the Front Lines
School Librarian's Career Planner This practical, hands-on book covers the multifaceted aspects of how school librarians can successfully carve out a unique niche within the educational community, showing readers how to Present themselves to stakeholders, from the first interview through day-to-day job duties

Related Subjects

See also Communication and Education in this Subject Guide