LibGuides: Journal Articles and other Information Resources : Fashion to Human Rights

Coverage

Fashion
Film
Folklore
Gender Studies
Genealogy
Geography

Fashion

Ambrose Digital Videos Contains over 500 streaming video programs in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and the physical and life sciences, typically from 25-60 minutes in length
WGSN (Key Database) WGSN contains up-to-date information about the apparel, style, design, and retail industries collected from all over the world.

See also Art, Business, Dance, History, General Journal Databases (covering Multiple Subjects), Music, and Theatre in this Subject Guide

Film

Communication and Mass Media Complete (Key Database) Provides full-text coverage for nearly 300 journals, along with indexing and abstracts for over 600 journal titles in the communication and mass media fields
Films on Demand Videos categorized in over 700 areas of study. The content includes documentaries, curriculum-focused videos, broadcast journalism features and archival primary source materials.
Music Index A comprehensive guide to all styles and genres of music covering over 700 international music periodicals from 1970 to present.

See also Communication, Communication Science Disorders, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), Humanities, Music, and Videos in this Subject Guide

Folklore

MLA Directory of Periodicals Lists over 4,400 currently indexed periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography Consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in more than 4,400 journals and series from 1926-present.
World Folklore and Folklife (Key Database) This database allows users to research folktales by subject, tale type, region or country, as well as myths, campus legends, proverbs and sayings

See also Anthropology, English, Humanities, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), Literature, and Sociology in this Subject Guide

Gender Studies

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Provides essay-length articles on all aspects of sex and gender, including gender studies, race, ethnicity, sexuality, and social institutions.
Gender Studies Database (Key Database) Combines several databases relevant to women's and men's studies, as well as sexual diversity, child development and adolescent studies, and family and society studies, with coverage from 1972 and earlier to present
Psych Articles A companion to PsycINFO, this database contains full-text articles from over 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and other groups.
Psych INFO Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.

See also Anthropology, History, Psychology, Social Sciences, and Sociology in this Subject Guide.

Genealogy

Heritage Quest Online (Key Database) This genealogical/historical database contains information on persons, families, and places, with much of it from primary sources.

Geography

A to Z Maps Online This comprehensive database includes modern maps of the world, regions, countries and states, featuring Google Earth "Skins," interactive maps, animated maps, antique maps, flag images, and educational and teaching tools.
Columbia Gazateer of the World A geographical dictionary of places and locations, including information on demography, physical geography, political boundaries, industry, trade, and service activities
Current Geographical Publications (Key Database) Provides a "current contents" listing from over 300 geographical journals found in the American Geographical Society Library
Encyclopedia of Geography Provides information on all aspects of geography, including physical and human geography, history of geography, biographies, and GIS
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change Contains over 750 articles about global warming, climate change, and the impact on specific countries and regions of the world
Environment Complete Contains over 900 full-text journals and nearly 200 full-text monographs on environmental topics
Encyclopedia of Pollution Provides scientific data and information on all aspects of pollution and its impact on the environment and society
Geo Ref Provides bibliographic and indexing access to the geoscience literature of the world, with coverage from 1785 to present for North America, and 1933 to present for international
Globalization and Security: An Encyclopedia Covers political and economic aspects in the complex relationship between globalization and security, especially in a post-9/11 world.
GreenFILE A multidisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and related topics
International Medieval Bibliography Containing 300,000 citation records on all subjects related to the Middle Ages (400-1500 AD), and covering the geographical areas of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa
Nations of the World Provides updated information in areas of politics, economics, and business for every country in the world
Political Science Complete This resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations
Political Handbook of the World This authoritative resource provides government and political information for over 200 countries in the world.
Statesman’s Yearbook Contains up-to-date, brief articles on all countries in the world and information on international organizations.

See also Defense and Security, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), Geology, International Relatioins, Public Affairs, and Social Sciences in this Subject Guide

Coverage

Geology
Health
History
Hopsitality
Humanities
Human Rights

Geology

Current Geographical Publications Provides a "current contents" listing from over 300 geographical journals found in the American Geographical Society Library
Environment Complete Contains over 900 full-text journals and nearly 200 full-text monographs on environmental topics
GreenFILE A multidisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and related topics.
GeoRef (Key Database) Provides bibliographic and indexing access to the geoscience literature of the world, with coverage from 1785 to present for North America, and 1933 to present for international
JSTOR Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology

See also Analytical Sciences, Environment, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), Geography and Science (Natural Sciences) in this Subject Guide

Health

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library Provides a summary of the best available research on various nutrition topics. Content is organized in two broad categories: Library and evidence-based Guidelines.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Nutrition Care Manual This manual contains research- and evidence-based nutrition care information for more than 100 diseases, conditions, and topics.
CINAHL Provides citations and full-text articles published in nursing journals, including information on consumer health, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. Indexing coverage is from 1982 to present.
Cochrine Library Six medical databases which contain results and reviews on the health care effects of evidence-based clinical trials and research studies.
Consumer Health Complete Coverage of all aspects of consumer health and wellness, with full-text articles, books, encyclopedias, periodicals, pamphlets, and videos.
Cost of Living Index Provides up-to-date income and cost comparisons for over 300 urban areas in the U.S., including housing, utilities, transportation, health care, groceries, and other goods and services
Draw It to Know It Containing tutorials, slides, and other features, this health-related database focuses on the structure of overall human neuroanatomy.
Encyclopedia of Mental Health Provides easy-to-understand information on a variety of disorders, treatments, and therapies, focused specifically on mental health topics
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine Provides evidence-based applications and diagnostic and treatment techniques covering all aspects of the sports medicine field
MEDLINE (Key Database) A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
Points of View Reference Center Provides pro/con arguments on over 280 topics, with over 1,300 essays, magazines, newspapers, news transcripts, & primary source documents.
PsychINFO Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA
Public Affairs Index Covers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment, human rights, international conflicts, energy, etc.
Public Health in the 21st Century (Key Database) Addresses public health issues globally, including health care policy issues and public health education.
Pub Med (Key Database) This medical literature database contains citations which may link to full-text articles from medical and life science journals around the world
Salem Health Salem Health is the online version of five resources: Magill's Medical Guide, Psychology & Mental Health, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Addictions & Substance Abuse, and Infectious Diseases & Conditions.
SPORTDiscuss With comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, physical fitness/wellness, exercise, sports medicine, and other topics, this database contains nearly 1,400,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.
StatRef Online Electronic Medical Library An easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals, providing access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions.
Wiley Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology This resource provides information, theories, approaches, and training resources for persons working with mental health disorders

See also Business, Consumer Science, Environment, Law, Medicine, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Physical Education, Political Science, Social Sciences, and Social Work in this Subject Guide

History

America: History and Life America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,800 journals published worldwide.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 These contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789-1838.
Daily Life Through History Daily Life Through History focuses on American history and cultural topics, such as food, clothing, religion, and social customs.
Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy: A Diplomatic History Spanning from colonial times to present, this resource covers all aspects of U.S. foreign policy, including foreign aid, war, environmental diplomacy, the response to terrorism,
Historical Abstracts (Key Database) Provides indexing and abstracts to the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
History of American Presidential Elections, 1789-2008 Covering all U.S. Presidential elections from 1789-2008, this resource provides historical analyses of the campaigns, conventions, and candidates for each election
Project MUSE
Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Reader's Guide Retro Readers' Guide Retrospective contains more than 3 million citations to articles in 375 general interest periodicals published between 1890-1982, making it an ideal tool for primary and secondary source material ranging from the dawn of the 20th century through two world wars and the Great Depression up to the 1980's.
Salem History The online, full-text equivalent of fourteen print resources: The Decades: the Thirties, Forties, Fifties & Sixties in America; Great Athletes; Great Events from History: Modern Scandals; Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, the Incredibly Wealthy, African Americans, and Inventors & Inventions; Innovators: Computer Technology Innovators, Internet Innovators; Milestone Documents: American History, African American History.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 The "Serial Set" contains Congressional reports, documents, and other primary source government information from 1817-1994.
U.S. Health Policy and Politics With excerpts from approximately150 primary source documents, this resource provides useful background information on all aspects of the health care industry.

Hospitality

See also Business, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), and Recreation and Leisure in this Subject Guide

Hospitality & Tourism Complete (Key Database) Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with full text for more than 250 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books

Humanities

Academic Search Complete Containing nearly 9,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database provides coverage for nearly every area of academic study
Ambrose Digital Videos Contains over 500 streaming video programs in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and the physical and life sciences, typically from 25-60 minutes in length
Humanities International Complete Contains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought
Project Muse Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.

See also African American Studies, Art, English, Film, Folklore, General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), History, Literature, Middle Ages, Music, Philosophy, Poetry, Religion in this Subject Guide

Human Rights

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Provides over 300 articles on all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history
Public Affairs Index Covers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment,human rights, international conflicts, energy.

See also Defense and Security, Geography, International Relations, Public Affairs, and Social Sciences in this Subject Guide