Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Journal Articles and other Information Resources : Home

Covers electronic journal articles, encyclopedias, and other resources

Getting Started!

Welcome to the Subject Guide on Electronic Journal Articles and other Information Resources at MSU!

To navigate the guide, use the tabs at the top to find different kinds of materials. 

This Subject Guide is designed to help you find electronic journal articles here at Missouri State University. These articles are located in journals, which are in databases that are presented by their subjects in this Guide.

The subjects are arranged alphabetically and listed in the middle column on this page. They are also listed by broad areas, or themes, in the right column of this page. Each subject provides links to bulleted databases holding articles on that subject; at the end of the bulleted list are some suggested, similar subjects for you to "see also."

One good place to start research is using the General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects), found under the next Tab on the top right. These can retrieve diverse articles on your topic from many disciplines. Then, go on to search under the specific subject(s), e.g. chemistry, economics, or philosophy, of your topic.

In the bottom two tabs of this Guide, other types of documents besides articles, such as encyclopedias or government information sources, are presented in databases by their document type.

If you need help, please contact me personally (see profile at right) or the Reference & Government Information desk at 417-836-4535.

For Help!

For help click on the Ask a Librarian link from the library homepage for the following types of assistance:

Fall/Spring Chat Hours:
Monday-Thursday: 8am - 12mid
Friday: 8am - 6pm
Saturday: 9am - 6pm
Sunday: 12noon - 10pm
Holiday, finals, and intersession hours may vary.

 

  • When offline, use email service.This service is intended to answer short, factual questions from the students, faculty, and staff of MSU.

  • If not affiliated with MSU, please use this service only if your question concerns the university or some unique resource of the university or library.

    Research Consultation Service For in-depth help with a research project, use the Research Consultation Request form to set up an appointment for one-to-one help.   

    Email-based reference service Use for quick ready-reference questions.

    Walk-In Assistance  Go to the Reference and Government Information desk on the first floor of Meyer Library where librarians, staff, and student assistants are on duty to help, or go to any of our public service desks for assistance, or phone 417-836-4535.

Overview

This guide provides links to digital journal articles in the following subjects: 

  • General Journal Databases (Covering Multiple Subjects)

  • Accounting

  • African American Studies

  • Agriculture

  • Analytical Sciences

  • Animal Science

  • Anthropology

  • Apparel, Style, Design

  • Archaeology

  • Art

  • Associates Degrees

  • Astronomy

  • Bibliographic Databases (Covering Information Resources)

  • Biographies

  • Biology

  • Biomedical Sciences

  • Business

  • Careers

  • Chemistry

  • Children

  • Children’s Literature Sources

  • Communication

  • Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Consumer Science

  • Counseling

  • Criminology

  • Current Events

  • Dance

  • Defense and Security

  • Dictionaries

  • Diplomacy

  • Economics

  • Education

  • Encyclopedias

  • Energy

  • English

  • Environment

  • Fashion

  • Film

  • Folklore

  • Gender Studies

  • Genealogy

  • Geography

  • Geology

  • Government Information Sources

  • Health

  • History

  • Hospitality

  • Humanities

  • Human Rights

  • Immigration

  • International Relations

  • Journalism

  • Law

  • Library Science (Libraries)

  • Literature

  • Management and Marketing

  • Maps

  • Mass Media

  • Mathematics

  • Medicine

  • Middle Ages

  • Music

  • Native Peoples

  • Newspapers

  • Nursing

  • Nutrition

  • Occupational Therapy

  • Open Access Journals, Theses, and Dissertations

  • Pharmacy

  • Philosophy

  • Physical Education

  • Physical Therapy

  • Physics

  • Physics and Astronomy

  • Poetry

  • Political Science and Politics

  • Professional Development

  • Psychology

  • Public Affairs

  • Recreation & Leisure

  • Reference Sources

  • Religion

  • Science (Natural Sciences)

  • Social Sciences

  • Social Work

  • Sociology

  • Space

  • Specifications and Standards

  • Sports & Sports Medicine

  • Statistics

  • Technology & Construction Management

  • Terrorism

  • Testing

  • Theatre

  • Travel and Tourism

  • United Nations Sources

  • Videos

  • Vocational Programs

  • Weather and Climate

Contact

Bill Edgar

Reference Librarian

Email: Billedgar@missouristate.edu

Phone: 417-836-4529

Areas of Information

The subject guide presents digital encyclopedias, government documents, and databases containing journals in the following broad areas:

  • Types of Information Sources (Under the Tabs in the Bottom Two Rows)

  • Humanities

  • Natural Sciences

  • Performing Arts

  • Professional Disciplines

  • Social Sciences

Types of Information  Resources

  • Biographies

  • Children’s Literature Sources

  • Dictionaries

  • Encyclopedias

  • Government Information Sources

  • Maps

  • Newspapers

  • Reference Sources

  • United Nations Sources

  • Videos

Humanities

  • African American Studies

  • Art

  • English

  • Film

  • Folklore

  • History

  • Literature

  • Middle Ages

  • Music

  • Philosophy

  • Poetry

  • Religion

 Natural Sciences

  • Analytical Sciences

  • Animal Science

  • Archaeology

  • Astronomy

  • Biology

  • Chemistry

  • Geology

  • Mathematics

  • Physics

  • Science

  • Space

  • Statistics

  • Weather and Climate

Performing Arts

  • Dance

  • Film

  • Folklore

  • Music

  • Poetry

  • Theatre

Professional Disciplines

  • Accounting

  • Agriculture

  • Analytical Sciences

  • Animal Science

  • Apparel, Style, Design

  • Art

  • Associates Degrees

  • Business

  • Careers

  • Communication

  • Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Computer Science

  • Counseling

  • Criminology

  • Defense and Security

  • Diplomacy

  • Education

  • Energy

  • Fashion

  • Film

  • Health

  • Hospitality

  • Journalism

  • Law

  • Library Science (Libraries)

  • Management and Marketing

  • Medicine

  • Music

  • Nursing

  • Nutrition

  • Occupational Therapy

  • Pharmacy

  • Physical Education

  • Physical Therapy

  • Political Science and Politics

  • Professional Development

  • Psychology

  • Public Affairs

  • Recreation & Leisure

  • Social Work

  • Sports & Sports Medicine

  • Statistics

  • Technology & Construction Management

  • Testing

  • Travel and Tourism

  • Vocational Programs

Social Sciences

  • Anthropology

  • Archaeology

  • Communication

  • Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Consumer Science

  • Criminology

  • Economics

  • Education

  • Gender Studies

  • Geography

  • International Relations

  • Mass Media

  • Political Science and Politics

  • Professional Development

  • Psychology

  • Public Affairs

  • Recreation & Leisure

  • Social Sciences

  • Social Work

  • Sociology

  • Technology & Construction Management

  • Testing

  • Travel and Tourism