Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Film: Articles Databases

This subject guide is meant to provide means to find cinematic and media information.

Finding Journal Titles

TDNet Journal Tracker

TDNet is a clearinghouse of all the libraries' journal subscriptions. Use TDNet to check if journals and appropriate publication years are available electronically or in print. If you already have a journal citation, or you are looking for a particular journal title, use this source.

Selected Journals

The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Finding Media

SWAN Catalog

Use SWAN to find films by subject, specific title, director, language and more!

Ways to narrow your search:


After your initial search, find the "Modify Search" tab at the top of the results page in the catalog.  This will bring you to a page with boxes that alow you to add limits to your initial search. 

You can also reach this page by selecting "Advanced Search" from the right side of the SWAN home page.

The "Add Limits" box allows you to choose a specific library, format or even language.  You can also limit your searches temporally by year of publication.  Try selecting DVD/Blu-ray to narrow your search.


Searchpath Tutorial

Find out more about SWAN and other library resources by taking our short, online tutorial.


Logo

Springfield-Greene County Library District

Search the Catalog

Students living on campus and Greene county residents can use our local public library.  Click here to request an online card.  The Park Central Branch and the Midtown Carnegie Branch are the locations closest to the Springfield campus (You can take the Bear Line Shuttle's gold and maroon routes to the square downtown to get to the Park Central Branch).  If you can't find the media item in our library and need it quickly, the public library is a great place to check.


If you can't find the media item in our library and don't need it quickly, try using MOBIUS or Prospector.  Both are a consortium of libraries from the state of Missouri and Colorado, respectively.  The consortium’s purpose is to share library materials, information, and services using accessible, cost effective methods.  Items usually arrive within two weeks.

                                         

 

Articles Databases: Most appropriate

A collection of over 500 programs in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and the physical and life sciences, typically ranging in length from 25 to 60 minutes. A number of re-mastered well-known series are available, such as Bronowski’s Ascent of Man; Attenborough’s The Living Planet; James Burke’s Connections; History of Civil Rights in America; History of the U.S. Constitution; and, the entire BBC Shakespeare series. There are also core concept videos in the sciences, including ones for astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, meteorology, and both classical and modern physics. Each core contains roughly 12-15 videos converting major concepts of the discipline. Other programs available include climate change, fracking, equal rights, and water issues. Closed captioning is available for all of the programs, and the license allows for linking to videos within course pages.

Providing the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

Films On Demand is a streaming video service of over 6,000 high-quality, educational videos. This specific collection focuses on the subjects of Sociology and History, but contain highly interdisciplinary films. The content includes documentaries, curriculum-focused videos, broadcast journalism features and archival primary source materials. 

JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.

This database provides comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music.

The world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand! Key features include: over 2550 full-length videos, available anytime, anywhere; create custom clips: edit and add them to individual playlists; subtitles available in over 5 languages; search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.

Project Muse is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

Article Databases: Also Useful

Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.

Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.

Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

From hip hop to Händel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM is the first stop for the researcher who wants clear, verified bibliographic information that is fully cited, abstracted, and indexed.

Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection

The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Film literature index
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.Z1 F55

International film index 1895-1990
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998 .I58x 1991 vol. 1-2

TDNet Journal Tracker Tutorial

Google Scholar