Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Film: Books

This subject guide is meant to provide means to find cinematic and media information.

Finding Books

SWAN – Use SWAN to find books, government documents, maps, media, and other materials located in the library.

MOBIUS – is a statewide consortium of mostly college and university libraries. Search the MOBIUS catalog to borrow books from other consortium members and request books for delivery to MSU’s libraries. Most MOBIUS items arrive in 2-3 days. Go to Circulation for pick-up. If you fill out a notification form at Circulation, they will e-mail you when your item arrives.

Prospector - is a unified catalog of academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Through Prospector you have access to 30 million books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other materials held in these libraries. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library.

WORLDCAT – is OCLC’s union catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. The database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries across North America, offers millions of bibliographic records, and includes records representing 400 languages. It is the Amazon.com of the library world. Interlibrary loan features are integrated into the database. 

Interlibrary Loan – If you cannot find the items you need at Meyer, or through MOBIUS & Prospector, the Interlibrary Loan Department will order the materials you need. Some fees may apply. The online order form is at Interlibrary Loan, phone: (417) 836-4540

Downloading E-Books

Downloading EBSCO E-Books

A short video tutorial on how to download e-books off EBSCOhost.

Finding Media

SWAN Catalog

Use SWAN to find films by subject, specific title, director, language and more!

Ways to narrow your search:


After your initial search, find the "Modify Search" tab at the top of the results page in the catalog.  This will bring you to a page with boxes that alow you to add limits to your initial search. 

You can also reach this page by selecting "Advanced Search" from the right side of the SWAN home page.

The "Add Limits" box allows you to choose a specific library, format or even language.  You can also limit your searches temporally by year of publication.  Try selecting DVD/Blu-ray to narrow your search.


Searchpath Tutorial

Find out more about SWAN and other library resources by taking our short, online tutorial.


Logo

Springfield-Greene County Library District

Search the Catalog

Students living on campus and Greene county residents can use our local public library.  Click here to request an online card.  The Park Central Branch and the Midtown Carnegie Branch are the locations closest to the Springfield campus (You can take the Bear Line Shuttle's gold and maroon routes to the square downtown to get to the Park Central Branch).  If you can't find the media item in our library and need it quickly, the public library is a great place to check.


If you can't find the media item in our library and don't need it quickly, try using MOBIUS or Prospector.  Both are a consortium of libraries from the state of Missouri and Colorado, respectively.  The consortium’s purpose is to share library materials, information, and services using accessible, cost effective methods.  Items usually arrive within two weeks.

                                         

 

Google Web Search

Recent Books

Books in the Reference Collection

The following books are located in the Reference Department.  You can locate the books by their call numbers provided.  Note that “Ref” in front of the call number indicates that the item is shelved in the Reference collection and DOES NOT circulate.

 

American plays and musicals on screen: 650 stage productions and their film and television adaptations
MSU Meyer Ref PS338.M67 H57 2005

Encyclopedia of American independent filmmaking
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .L63 2002

Encyclopedia of early cinema
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of fantastic film: Ali Baba to Zombies
MSU Meyer Ref PN1995.9 .F36 Y68 2000

Encyclopedia of film themes, settings and series
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997 .8.A76 2001

Encyclopedia of novels into film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997.85 .T54 2005

Encyclopedia of stage plays into film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997 .85 .T544 2001

Encyclopedic dictionary of women in early American films, 1895-1930
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998.2 .L686 2005

Enser's filmed books and plays : a list of books and plays from which films have been made, 1928-2001
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997.85 .E55 2003

Fantasy and horror: a critical and historical guide to literature, illustration, film, TV, radio, and the Internet
MSU Meyer Ref Pn56 .F34 Z58 1999

Film encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .K34 2001

Guide to British cinema
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.5.G7 M327 2003

Halliwell’s who’s who in the movies
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .H323x

International dictionary of broadcasting and film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1990.4 .B64 2000

Women film directors: an international bio-critical dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998.2 .F67 1995