Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Film: Web Resources

This subject guide is meant to provide means to find cinematic and media information.

Quick Search

Use this box to quickly navigate to a particular area on this page:

Finding Media

SWAN Catalog

Use SWAN to find films by subject, specific title, director, language and more!

Ways to narrow your search:


After your initial search, find the "Modify Search" tab at the top of the results page in the catalog.  This will bring you to a page with boxes that alow you to add limits to your initial search. 

You can also reach this page by selecting "Advanced Search" from the right side of the SWAN home page.

The "Add Limits" box allows you to choose a specific library, format or even language.  You can also limit your searches temporally by year of publication.  Try selecting DVD/Blu-ray to narrow your search.


Searchpath Tutorial

Find out more about SWAN and other library resources by taking our short, online tutorial.


Logo

Springfield-Greene County Library District

Search the Catalog

Students living on campus and Greene county residents can use our local public library.  Click here to request an online card.  The Park Central Branch and the Midtown Carnegie Branch are the locations closest to the Springfield campus (You can take the Bear Line Shuttle's gold and maroon routes to the square downtown to get to the Park Central Branch).  If you can't find the media item in our library and need it quickly, the public library is a great place to check.


If you can't find the media item in our library and don't need it quickly, try using MOBIUS or Prospector.  Both are a consortium of libraries from the state of Missouri and Colorado, respectively.  The consortium’s purpose is to share library materials, information, and services using accessible, cost effective methods.  Items usually arrive within two weeks.

                                         

 

Google Web Search

Various Film Websites

Educational

AFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television, and digital media. AFI maintains America's film heritage through the AFI catalog of feature films.

Choose from subjects such as documentary, romantic comedy, science fiction and more.

Earlycinema.com aims to provide an introduction to the first decade of motion pictures and the developments which helped shape cinema as we know it today. The site is by no means a complete account of the development of cinema, and concentrates on the major events in cinema's history encouraging further reading and research.

Here we feature the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections is an online database that provides public access to digitized materials; the database contains more than 2500 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera.  The database also includes complete copies of more than 250 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927. 

This division of the Library of Congress has the responsibility for the acquisition, cataloging and preservation of the motion picture and television collections. Its purpose is to provide access and information services to an international community of film and television professionals, archivists, scholars and researchers.

ScreenSite is a service of the Telecommunication and Film Department of the University of Alabama. It is available free of charge to anyone interested in the study of film, television, and related media.  Currently the site stresses its function as a link directory, but with the occasional article.

Offers a growing collection of archival film materials relating to the Holocaust, primarily from 1920-1948. More recent materials are also available, including outtakes from Claude Lanzmann's Shoah.

African American

blackfilm.com’s mission is to promote and support diversity in filmmaking.  blackfilm.com is an online resource which links the Black film community while cultivating national and international audiences interested in their work. The site provides a forum for filmmakers, scholars and organizations to present information and promote artistic expression.

The Black Film Center/Archive was established in 1981 as a repository of films and related materials by and about African Americans. Included are films which have substantial participation by African Americans as writers, actors, producers, directors, musicians, and consultants, as well as those which depict some aspect of black experience.

The Black Hollywood Education and Resource Center, a nonprofit, public benefit organization, is designed to advocate, educate, research, develop, and preserve the history, and the future, of blacks in the film and television industries.

International

A set of annotated links on the following topics: Annuals and Directories, Africa: Films and Television, Black Representation in cinema and television, Books about film, Alfred Hitchcock, Horror, Mexican and Chicano cinema, Shakespeare on the screen, Tarantino, Westerns, Women and Film, Women in television and the mass media, Fritz Lang, David Lynch, Free Cinema, and Werner Herzog. All are available in PDF format.

This site offers a brief history of Mexican cinema. It includes an extensive list of films (with photos), biographies of directors and movie stars and selected bibliography on Mexican cinema.

Enjoy documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions on the web.

Documentaries

Academic streaming source for the best in social issue and documentary film.

A collection of rare documentaries about American roots culture streaming on the web.

Free streaming video of documentaries.

Women

A website developed and maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

Women Make Movies is a multicultural, multiracial, non-profit media arts organization which facilitates the production, promotion, distribution and exhibition of independent films and videotapes by and about women.

An alphabetical list of reviews of Womens' films.

LGBT

The Backlot covers Hollywood and mainstream popular culture viewed from a gay guy’s perspective.

Frameline’s mission is to strengthen the diverse lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and further its visibility by supporting and promoting a broad array of cultural representations and artistic expression in film, video and other media arts.

The Queer Film Society (QFS) is a consortium of LGBT film critics, historians, artists, and scholars dedicated to the exploration and celebration of queer images in world cinema.  The QFS website endeavors to be a global gathering spot for the reviews and film writing of its membership and other LGBT film critics, historians, artists, and scholars.

Miscellaneous

Video and images of opening titles from movies and TV.

A well-arranged listing with links to most important media related web sites.

One of the most complete gatherings of the makes and models (plus screen-captures) of cars, trucks, bikes, and other moving vehicles featured on screen.

525 free movies online.  The collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & DramaFilm Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns & John WayneSilent FilmsDocumentaries, and Animation.

An enormous collection of avant-garde text, sound, and video. UbuWeb does not acquire the rights for all of its materials, so use their resources at your own risk!

Reviews

Provides access to over 160,000 film synopses, reviews of the highest-rated titles (including all Oscar-winning Best Pictures), complete case and credit information, and over 21,000 biographies. Searchable by movie title, person or keyword; it includes dozens of genres and hundreds of sub-genres. Theatrical release and movie award information is included. Non-fiction, documentary and special interest film is covered.

Filmsite—also known as Greatest Films—is a unique website containing interpretive, descriptive review commentary and background history on many of the best Hollywood and American classic films in the last century.

Internet database of American and foreign films, including complete cast and crew, plot summaries, reviews, user ratings, awards, memorable quotes, and trailers.

The site is somewhat similar to Rotten Tomatoes, but the scoring results sometimes differ very drastically, due to Metacritic's method of scoring that converts each review into a percentage before taking a weighted average and listing different numbers of reviews.

MRQE is a database of movie reviews for over 90,000 titles. The continually growing site provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies.

This is a link to The New York Times' online version of their print movie review section. 

The site is new, and the work on it continues, but we hope you find this treasure-trove of observations and opinions as exciting and provocative as the movies themselves.

A website devoted to reviews, information, and news of films—widely known as a film review aggregator. Its name derives from the cliché of audiences throwing tomatoes and other vegetables at a poor stage performance.

Awards

Screenplays; production files; biography files; subject files; Academy History Collection; special collections-scripts, production notes, sketches, music scores, business correspondence; photographs; books-in English and foreign; periodicals-over 1,000.

Bafta.org is the online home of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.

The Critics' Choice Movie Awards are bestowed annually by the BFCA to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. Since its inception in 1995, the Critics' Choice Movie Awards has been a star-studded bellwether event of the movie awards season. The BFCA (Broadcast Film Critics Association) consistently picks nominees and winners that go on to garner more Academy Award® nominations and wins than the Golden Globes® or any other movie awards shows.

Known worldwide for its glittering Golden Globe Awards ceremony held every January and its multi-million dollar donations to charity, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association had humble origins that stemmed solely from a group of journalists' desire to efficiently and accurately cover all aspects of the world of entertainment.

Study the fascinating history of the Golden Popcorn and its many unsavory winners in this exhaustive record of everything Movie Awards.

Associations

The AMPTP, the entertainment industry's official collective bargaining representative, negotiates 80 industry-wide collective bargaining agreements on behalf of over 350 motion picture and television producers.

ASA's mission is to help screenwriters hone their skills and sell their screenplays; dedicated to creating a dialog between screenwriters, producers, filmmakers, actors, and industry to ensure mutual success.

The Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA) is the global trade association of the independent motion picture and television industry and the voice and advocate for the Independents worldwide.

MPAA's core mission is advancing the business and art of filmmaking, protecting the creative and artistic freedoms of filmmakers, and ensuring the satisfaction of audiences worldwide.  The major motion picture studios has served as the voice and advocate of the motion picture and television industry around the world.

SAG-AFTRA is committed to organizing all work done under our jurisdictions; negotiating the best wages, working conditions, and health and pension benefits; preserving and expanding members’ work opportunities; vigorously enforcing our contracts; and protecting members against unauthorized use of their work.

General Directory

Facilitating access to information about scholarly societies across the world since 1994.

Film Schools

Offers listings of film schools in the US and abroad, a glossary of film terms, and a limited list of scholarships for film studies.

A brief response to the question "what are the best film schools"? International scope. Includes links to programs, and discusses their relative merits.

Maintains an online "library of annotated film schools."