Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Jazz: Jazz Journals

A guide to research materials for the serious jazz scholar as well as books, sound recordings, and videos for the jazz enthusiast.

Recommended Journals from Our Print Collection

The most recent issues of these journals are available for browsing in our current periodicals section. NOTE: Each issue of Jazziz comes with a full-length compilation CD -- these are available for checkout from our sound recordings collection. Compilation themes include Christmas (CD 5228 Dec 2000; CD 5279 Dec 2001), Women in Jazz (CD 5279 July 2001; CD 6790 Spring 2010; CD 7167 Spring 2013), Love (CD 5458 Feb 2004; CD 5496 Feb 2003), and Critics Choice (typically in January of each year).

Jazz Times

Jazziz

Downbeat

Jazz Educators Journal (through 2001 only)

Search Tips

Tips for Finding Articles in the MSU Libraries

Where do I start?

  • Start by choosing a database.  There are some databases for various topics listed in this guide.  Note that the library catalog does not provide references to individual articles. 
  • Break your topic down into keywords.  If your topic is "how oil leaks from dams on the Columbia River have affected fish populations" then your keywords would be: oil, Columbia River, fish
  • Combine keywords using AND.  Type your keywords using AND to combine them into the search box: oil AND fish AND Columbia River

Are all journal articles available electronically?

Many journal articles can be accessed in full text from our databases but there are some titles that may only be available in print.  When the full text is available you can read the read the entire article on your computer, print it out, save it, or even email it to yourself. 

How do I find the full text of an article?

Some articles will be available electronically in full text.  You will see a link or icon that says PDF or HTML full text when the full text is available through that database.  You can find out if an article is available either as a full text electronic article or in a printed journal in the library by clicking on the Tour, Search for Full Text link in many of our databases. 

Whenever possible you will get a link to the full text electronic article.  If full text is not available, you may get links to check the library catalog or TDNet.  TDNet will let you know what issues of a journal are available online or in print. 

What if I still need help?

Contact us at the library.  Our information is listed on the Home tab. Our job is to help you so feel free to ask us.