Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

GEP Research Basics: Career Resources

Reference Books

Search Tips

Try truncation! Trucating words will help you find all the different variations of a word.

For example: nurs* and career*

will bring up both nurse, nurses, and nursing and career or careers. 

 Check out the Boolean tutorial on the tutorials page too!

Missouri State Career Center

Online Indexes to Articles

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 

Business Source Complete  designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.  

Emerald eJournal Collection  provides full-text access to 144 journals from Emerald Publishing, with indexing and citation access for yet another 33 titles. Full-text access varies with some journals beginning in 1994 while other titles are in full text only for the past four years. Generally, indexing and citation coverage goes back ten years unless the journal began more recently.

LearningExpress Library  a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass to further their education or career, improve their testing skills, or gain citizenship.

LexisNexis Academic  is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings.

NewsBank   full-text database of news articles from 28 of "America's news magazines", as well as regional and state events and issues from two Missouri newspapers: the Kansas City Star from 1991 to present, and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1988 to present.

Wall Street Journal  offers full-text coverage of all articles by Wall Street Journal staff writers from 1984 to date, including the current day’s news.

College & Career Resources