Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

GEP Research Basics: Finding Articles

Online Indexes to Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete  Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study 

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 151 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration;

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to over 420 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

Newspaper Articles

 World News Digest This online news digest is updated weekly and summarizes current events. You can browse by decade and year by year the most important events, year’s top stories, historic events, key issues and people.  There is also a “What Happened That Day” feature. 

Lexis-Nexis Academic — provides newspaper articles dated after 1980.

 Newsbank - Full-text database of news articles from two Missouri newspapers: Kansas City Star (1991 to present) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1988 to present).

Springfield Newspaper Index  is part of the Springfield-Greene County Public Library's Ozark News and Historical Index, which indexes Springfield newspapers (1867-2002) and provides selected topical indexing to regional periodicals primarily from the 1970s to 1990s.

Newspaper Articles dated before 1980:

To find newspaper articles dated prior to 1980, you will need to use print newspaper indexes, which list newspaper articles organized by topic and year.  The following indexes are available in the Reference Department:

New York Times Ref AI21 .N45 

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Ref AI21.S79 B44

Los Angeles Times  Ref AI21.L65 L67   

Chicago Tribune  Ref  AI21.C45 C47

Washington Post  Ref AI21.W33 O54x 

To use an index, select the volume with the correct year and look up your topic.  Make a note of the newspaper title, year, date, page and section where your article is located.  Try looking for articles from different newspapers across the country for unique information and perspectives on the topic.   Remember the reference staff is available to assist you!

Take the information about the article you’ve found to the Microforms Department, located in the basement (first floor) of Meyer Library.  The Microforms Department contains the microform collection, current newspapers, and periodicals.  The library maintains back issues of newspapers and some magazines on microform instead of keeping paper copies.  Microform readers are available that can be used to view and print articles from microform.  If you need assistance, Microform Department staff will be happy to help you.

Popular Magazines

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (5 user limit)

Contains more than 3 million citations to articles in 375 general interest periodicals published between 1890-1982. Note: This database is not full-text  you will need to click on the TOUR link to access the library catalog and find the journal's call number. Libray staff can help you locate the article within the bound periodicals.

Search Tips

Tips for Finding Articles in the MSU Libraries

Where do I start?

  • Start by choosing a database.  There are some databases for various topics listed in this guide.  Note that the library catalog does not provide references to individual articles. 
  • Break your topic down into keywords.  If your topic is "how oil leaks from dams on the Columbia River have affected fish populations" then your keywords would be: oil, Columbia River, fish
  • Combine keywords using AND.  Type your keywords using AND to combine them into the search box: oil AND fish AND Columbia River

Are all journal articles available electronically?

Many journal articles can be accessed in full text from our databases but there are some titles that may only be available in print.  When the full text is available you can read the read the entire article on your computer, print it out, save it, or even email it to yourself. 

How do I find the full text of an article?

Some articles will be available electronically in full text.  You will see a link or icon that says PDF or HTML full text when the full text is available through that database.  You can find out if an article is available either as a full text electronic article or in a printed journal in the library by clicking on the Tour, Search for Full Text link in many of our databases. 

Whenever possible you will get a link to the full text electronic article.  If full text is not available, you may get links to check the library catalog or TDNet.  TDNet will let you know what issues of a journal are available online or in print. 

What if I still need help?

Contact us at the library.  Our information is listed on the Home tab. Our job is to help you so feel free to ask us.  

Articles and Databases

Listed below are a few of the online databases that are located on the library's home page .  To locate the full list of databases, click on Articles and Databases.  Then, either choose by Subject or by Title of the database. 

Searching EbscoHOST

The following video tutorial offers a quick look at basic searching on EbscoHOST

Searching JSTOR

A quick demonstration using JSTOR's advanced search option, tutorial created by the librarians at Lone Star College

Searching Project MUSE

Learn to search for books and journal articles

TDNet Journal Tracker Tutorial

Log-in Information

You will need to login when accessing the library databases from off Missouri State's campus.  When you click on a database title, you will see a screen that says "Library Proxy Login."  Just enter your User ID (without @sgf) and Password. 

Visit the Trouble Shooting page if you have problems logging in.

If you need further assistance you can contact the Help Desk at 417-836-5891.

 

 

Finding Journal Titles

TDNet Journal Tracker

TDNet is a clearinghouse of all the libraries' journal subscriptions. Use TDNet to check if journals and appropriate publication years are available electronically or in print. If you already have a journal citation, or you are looking for a particular journal title, use this source.

Subject Indexes

In addition to our general article databases, we have numerous subject indexes where you can find journal articles within a specific field or discipline of study.

For a complete description of our many subject databases check out our By Subject Listing.

Subject Database of the Week!

SocINDEX with Full Text

This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.

 

 

Lexis-Nexis-Newspaper Articles

Lexis-Nexis Academic Overview: This short tutorial will show you how to search for resources using Lexis-Nexis Academic and how to work with your results.