Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Music : General Music Websites

Includes research guides on jazz studies, music education, piano pedagogy, world music, instrumental and vocal resources, and much more!

Key Links

Grove Music Online

   Music Encyclopedia Online

Naxos Music Library

   Streaming Sound Recordings

Naxos Video Library

   Streaming Video Recordings

SWAN

   Missouri State's Library Catalog

MOBIUS

   A Statewide Catalog

Ebrary, Music Books Online

   Includes over 1,000 music books

View Your Library Record

   You Can Renew Here

MSU Libraries Homepage

   A Fuller List of Services

Department of Music

Google Scholar

Google Web Search

Organizations/Associations

The mission of the American Guild of Organists is to enrich lives through organ and choral music.

The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.  3,600 individuals and 1,100 institutional subscribers from over forty nations participate in the Society.

The International Trumpet Guild is a non-profit organization founded in 1974 to promote communications among trumpet  players around the world and to improve the artistic level of performance,  teaching, and literature associated with the trumpet.

Founded in 1895, MMTA is a professional non-profit organization of independent and collegiate music teachers, college students, and performing artists dedicated to improving the quality of studio teaching of all kind of music teachers - piano teachers, voice teachers, and instrumental teachers.

In 1876, Theodore Presser and 62 of his colleagues founded the Music Teachers National Association with the purpose of advancing the value of music study and music-making to society while supporting the careers and professionalism of teachers of music.

The mission of the Society for American Music is to stimulate the appreciation, performance, creation and study of American musics of all eras and in all their diversity, including the full range of activities and institutions associated with these musics throughout the world.

Music Theory Resources

For a musician, ear training is one of the most important tasks. 

MacGAMUT software provides a flexible, graded ear-training and fundamentals learning environment for serious music students, from novices to the most advanced.  It offers unlimited mastery-based drill and practice in Aural Skills for Intervals, Scales, Chords, Rhythmic Dictation, Melodic Dictation, and Harmonic Dictation, and unlimited mastery-based Written and Keyboard drills for Intervals, Scales, and Chords.

Musicards.net is an ever-growing collection of highly-customizable online music theory flash cards. These music flashcards can be used by beginning music students who are becoming acquainted with key music rudiments, all the way up to intermediate and advanced students who wish to fill in gaps here and there or increase fluency with existing knowledge.

Musictheory.net is a site that allows one to apply the lessons learned in music theory through interactive execises.

teoria.com is a web site dedicated to the study and practice of music theory.  It was developed by José Rodríguez Alvira as a complement for his courses at the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico.  The website is used by conservatories, universities and music schools in North / South America and Europe.

This site is managed by Dr. Michael F. Murray from Missouri State University's Music Department.  It is designed to aid in independent ear training for classes here at Missouri State University.

General Music Resources

From reviews to new relases to staff picks, Allmusic has you covered; search by genre, mood or theme.

Classical Net features more than 9000 pages and 20,000+ images including more than 6000 CD, SACD, DVD, Blu-ray and Book reviews and over 5500 links to other classical music web sites.

The Max Hunter Collection is an archive of almost 1600 Ozark Mountain folk songs, recorded between 1956 and 1976.

The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film.

Musopen is a 501(c)(3) non-profit focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. We provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Put simply, our mission is to set music free.

The purpose of this web site is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.

Copyright & Licensing Resources

ASCAP, an organization owned and run by its members, is the leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization representing over 435,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers.

BMI collects license fees on behalf of songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.

Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), the rights licensing experts, is a global rights broker for the world’s most sought after materials, including in- and out-of-print books, journals, newspapers, magazines, movies, television shows, images, blogs and ebooks.

Stanford University's list of frequently asked questions that explain what a copyright is and what exactly it protects.

This site is maintained by the Legislation Committee of the Music Library Association (MLA) as a resource for anyone interested in issues of copyright as they apply to the fields of music and music librarianship.

In 1927, the National Music Publisher's Association established HFA to act as an information source, clearinghouse and monitoring service for licensing musical copyrights. Since its founding, HFA has provided efficient and convenient services for publishers, licensees, and a broad spectrum of music users.