Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Music : Music Databases & Reference

Includes research guides on jazz studies, music education, piano pedagogy, world music, instrumental and vocal resources, and much more!

Key Links

Grove Music Online

   Music Encyclopedia Online

Naxos Music Library

   Streaming Sound Recordings

Naxos Video Library

   Streaming Video Recordings

SWAN

   Missouri State's Library Catalog

MOBIUS

   A Statewide Catalog

Ebrary, Music Books Online

   Includes over 1,000 music books

View Your Library Record

   You Can Renew Here

MSU Libraries Homepage

   A Fuller List of Services

Department of Music

Citation & Style Guides

Citation and Style Guides
This Subject Guide is arranged by citation style. Click on a tab to select the style you wish to use.

Citation Managers:
Disclaimer - These do not always produce perfect citations. Be sure to double-check with the actual style guide.

Quick Search

Use this box to quickly navigate to a particular area on this page:

Music Databases

A series of 12 half-hour instructional videos on the elements of music available on demand from the Annenberg Foundation.

Carnegie Hall is pleased to make its performance archive available directly to the public for online search for the first time. This exhaustively researched database contains records of 50,000 events, both musical and non-musical, that occurred in the public performance spaces of Carnegie Hall from its opening in 1891 to present. 

Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 6066 texts including 1092 aria texts.

Music Index is a database that contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals from 1970 to the present, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

A subject guide created for browsing online music journals at the MSU Libraries. Compiled here are all the online journals with available full-texts up to the most current issue.

A Guide to More than 7,500 Print and Internet Resources; MusRef is a site devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference.      

Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library.  Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 78,696 CDs with more than 1,131,351 tracks, standard and rare repertoire.  Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.  The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month.  Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.

Naxos Video Library is an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand! Key features include: over 2550 full-length videos, available anytime, anywhere; create custom clips: edit and add them to individual playlists; subtitles available in over 5 languages; search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.

The home of Grove Music Online, the web version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Also contains other full-length music reference works including the Oxford Companion to Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Project MUSE was launched in 1995 to provide full-text access to all Johns Hopkins University Press published articles & now publishes over 250 titles online from other presses. Disciplines covered include the humanities, social sciences & mathematics.

RILM is a bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 100 languages from 5,200 journals, with coverage from 1967 to present.

Popular General Databases

Contains full text for more than 8,600 publications, and indexing and abstracts for over 12,500 journals, in nearly every area of academic study.

Containing over 236,000 biographical profiles of celebrities, authors, historical figures, and others.

Contains electronic version of over 70,000 books from more than 500 publishers, and spans all academic subject areas. Includes over 1,000 music books.

A database platform used to access and search over 50 indexes and databases.

TDNet gives the locations of journals and magazines licensed by the Missouri State University Libraries.

Full-text journal collection with 1,114 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines.  MSU owns Arts & Sciences I-IX, and Biological Sciences.  JSTOR typically provides full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. It is possible to browse by subject, choose music, and search music journals only.

Full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The news section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers.

A union catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide.

Dictionary/Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

This site includes a music dictionary with mp3 pronunciation examples.

Free online dictionary, thesaurus, spanish-english and medical dictionaries.

A guide to the pronunciation, meaning and history of more than half a million words.

Includes information about classical, folk, and popular musicians in Canada.

Other Music Reference Sources

An 18-volume early 20th century handbook of musical publications of all countries and all periods.

Contact Us

Service Desk
(417) 836-5105

Jir Shin Boey
Head, Music & Media
(417) 836-4528

Susanna Reichling
SueReichling@MissouriState.edu
Day Supervisor/Reserves
(417) 836-6455

Scott Fischer
ScottFischer@MissouriState.edu
(417) Evening Supervisor
836-6455
 
Links:

Music and Media Collections

Google Scholar

Google Web Search