LibGuides: COM 115 Fundamentals of Public Speaking: Persuasive Speech

Newspaper Databases

Global Newsstream (formerly Newsstand) ProQuest Newsstand offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides the very latest local, regional and national news
Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc."
New York Times The New York Times provides full-text coverage of all articles from June 1, 1980 to date, including the current day's news. Full text is in html format only. For historical coverage (1851-2009), the New York Times is available on microfilm in the Microforms Department on the lower level of Meyer Library, and an index to its articles is available in paper format (1851-2005)
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of over fifteen thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers.
USA Today USA Today offers full-text coverage of all articles by USA Today staff writers from Feb. 17, 1997 to date, including the current day's news.
Wall Street Journal

Using Nexis Uni Video

Great Pro/Con Databases

CQ Researcher
Published by Congressional Quarterly, CQ Researcher provides analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. With online coverage from 1991 to present, it features lengthy (15-20 page) reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports.
SIRS Researcher
SIRS Researcher is a highly acclaimed general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are carefully selected from 1,500 domestic and international publications according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.
Point of View Reference Bank
"Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

Using CQ Researcher Video

Using SIRS Researcher Video

Using Points of View Reference Center Video

Citation and Style Guide

Citation and Style Guides
by Tracy Stout Last Updated Jul 31, 2023 351 views this year

Pro Tips

Use connector words

cats AND kittens
cats OR kittens
cats NOT kittens

Truncation(*): find all endings of a word

nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
music* (musician, musical, musicality)