Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Local Food: Sustainability: Find Articles

Subject guide about local food and sustainability

Finding Journal Titles

TDNet Journal Tracker

TDNet is a clearinghouse of all the libraries' journal subscriptions. Use TDNet to check if journals and appropriate publication years are available electronically or in print. If you already have a journal citation, or you are looking for a particular journal title, use this source.

Featured Article from 417Magazine

Growing food is a growing trend in southwest Missouri. All around the region, a network of food producers and food consumers is blooming. Many in 417-land are fleeing the multiple blights of industrial food, including hormones, antibiotics, genetic modification and animal cruelty. Others are looking to support their local economy. Still others are just doing it for the taste and freshness of produce that hasn't traveled 1,500 miles to their plates....

Google Scholar Search

Online Indexes to Articles

GreenFile GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. It is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and related topics. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

Academic Search Complete, is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 13,600 journals and magazines, as well as over 850 books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. "This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields.

AccessScience The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.

AGRICOLA Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), AGRICOLA covers materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. The database includes records of books, journals and other serials, audiovisual and other materials from over 5000 sources and contains in excess of 3,600,000 records from 1970 to the present. It is updated monthly.

Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment This online edition of the 2004, four-volume encyclopedia "encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere. A team of outstanding, international contributors has written over 250 entries that cover a broad range of issues facing today's soil scientists, ecologists, and environmental scientists. This four-volume set features thorough articles that survey specific aspects of soil biology, ecology, chemistry and physics. Rounding out the encyclopedia's excellent coverage, contributions cover cross-disciplinary subjects, such as the history of soil utilization for agricultural and engineering purposes and soils in relation to the remediation of pollution and the mitigation of global climate change. This comprehensive, yet accessible source is a valuable addition to the library of scientists, researchers, students, and policy makers involved in soil science, ecology, and environmental science. Also available online via ScienceDirect – featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. 

Biological Abstracts  Biological Abstracts serves as an index to articles in over 4,000 scientific serials from the biological science areas. The database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969. Topics covered include botany, pharmacology, biochemistry, microbiology, and evolutionary ecology, genetics, and more. It is produced by Biological Abstracts, Inc. (BIOSIS), a not-for-profit organization that has served as a link between the life science community and worldwide biological research for over 70 years.