Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Education: Books

Finding Books

SWAN – Use SWAN to find books, government documents, maps, media, and other materials located in the library.

MOBIUS – is a statewide consortium of mostly college and university libraries. Search the MOBIUS catalog to borrow books from other consortium members and request books for delivery to MSU’s libraries. Most MOBIUS items arrive in 2-3 days. Go to Circulation for pick-up. If you fill out a notification form at Circulation, they will e-mail you when your item arrives.

WORLDCAT – is OCLC’s union catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. The database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries across North America, offers millions of bibliographic records, and includes records representing 400 languages. It is the Amazon.com of the library world. Interlibrary loan features are integrated into the database. 

Interlibrary Loan – If you cannot find the items you need at Meyer, or through MOBIUS, the Interlibrary Loan Department will order the materials you need. Some fees may apply. The online order form is at Interlibrary Loan, phone: 836-4540

Recent Books

Books in the Reference Collection

The following books are located in the Reference Department.  You can locate the books by their call numbers provided.  Note that “Ref” in front of the call number indicates that the item is shelved in the Reference collection and does not circulate.

Cyclopedic education dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref. LB15 .S73 1998

Critical dictionary of educational concepts : an appraisal of selected ideas and issues in educational theory and practice
MSU Meyer Ref. LB15 .B29 1990

Education : a guide to reference and information sources
MSU Meyer Ref. LB15.Z1 B89 2000  Ebook also available online.

Encyclopedia of education
MSU Meyer Ref. LB15.E47 2003

Encyclopedia of educational research
MSU Meyer Ref. Overflow LB15 .E48 1992

Encyclopedia of school psychology
MSU Meyer Ref. LB1027.55 .E523 2005

Encyclopedia of special education : a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals
MSU Meyer Ref. LC4007 .E53 2007 Vol. 1-3

Handbook of research on the education of young children
MSU Meyer Ref. LB1119 .H25 2006

Higher education in the United States : an encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref. LA225 .H54 2002  Ebook also available online. 

Learning theories, A to Z
MSU Meyer Ref. LB15 .L4695 2002

Early Childhood Education
Handbook of adolescent psychology
MSU Meyer Ref. BF724 .H33 2004

Handbook of research on the education of young children
MSU Meyer Ref. LB1119 .H25 1993

Pioneers of early childhood education : a bio-bibliographical guide
Only available electronically.

Multicultural Education
Encyclopedia of multicultural education
MSU Meyer Ref. LC1099.3 .M58 1999

Special Education
Special-needs reading list : an annotated guide to the best publications for parents and professionals
MSU Meyer Ref. HV888.Z1 S84 1998

Measurement, Assessment and Testing
Handbook of family measurement techniques
MSU Meyer Ref. HQ728.H2672001

Master the praxis I : PPST exam
MSU Meyer Ref Desk LB2367.75 .M37 2007 

Master the praxis II exam
MSU Meyer Ref Desk LB2367.75 .L48 2007

Mental measurements yearbook
MSU Meyer Ref. BF431.Z1 M46 2001

Tests in print
MSU Meyer Ref. Overflow BF431.Z1 T47 Also available electronically.

Subject Guide

Downloading E-Books