Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Social Work: Books

Recent books, reference works, databases, journals, and websites about the field of social work

Finding Books

SWAN – Use SWAN to find books, government documents, maps, media, and other materials located in the library.

MOBIUS – is a statewide consortium of mostly college and university libraries. Search the MOBIUS catalog to borrow books from other consortium members and request books for delivery to MSU’s libraries. Most MOBIUS items arrive in 2-3 days. Go to Circulation for pick-up. If you fill out a notification form at Circulation, they will e-mail you when your item arrives.

WORLDCAT – is OCLC’s union catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. The database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries across North America, offers millions of bibliographic records, and includes records representing 400 languages. It is the Amazon.com of the library world. Interlibrary loan features are integrated into the database. 

Interlibrary Loan – If you cannot find the items you need at Meyer, or through MOBIUS, the Interlibrary Loan Department will order the materials you need. Some fees may apply. The online order form is at Interlibrary Loan, phone: 836-4540

Selected E-Books

Selected Recent Books

Reference Books

The following books are located in the Reference Department.  You can locate the books by their call numbers provided.  Note that “Ref” in front of the call number indicates that the item is shelved in the Reference collection and does not circulate.

Addictions : a comprehensive guidebook
MSU Meyer Ref RC564 .M327 1999

Author's guide to social work journals
MSU Meyer Ref HV85 .A93 1997

Baker encyclopedia of psychology & counseling
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .B25 1999

Blackwell companion to social theory
MSU Meyer Ref H61 .B4773 2000

Blackwell encyclopaedia of social work
MSU Meyer Ref HV12 .B53 2000

Child development: a practitioner's guide
MSU Meyer Ref HV713 .D395 1999

Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref HQ767.84 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of community : from the village to the virtual world
MSU Meyer Ref HM756 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref HV5804 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of family life Vol. 1-5
MSU Meyer Ref HQ534 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of homelessness Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HV4493 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of juvenile justice
MSU Meyer Ref HV 9104.E58 2003

Encyclopedia of marriage and the family Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ9 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of mental health
MSU Meyer Ref RC437 .K34 2001

Encyclopedia of parenting theory and research
MSU Meyer Ref HQ755.8 .E523 1999

Encyclopedia of psychology Vol. 1-8
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .E52 2000

Encyclopedia of social work. National Association of Social Workers. Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref HV35 .S6

Encyclopedia of sociology. 2nd Edition
MSU Meyer Ref HM425 .E5 2000. 5 Volumes

Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001

Family law. West Group, 2000
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7880 .M5 Vol.21-21A

Family's guide to the individualized family service plan
MSU Meyer Ref HV888.5 .C75 1995

Handbook of adolescent psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF724 .H33 2004

Handbook of family measurement techniques
MSU Meyer Ref HQ728.H2672001

International encyclopedia of marriage and family
MSU Meyer Ref HQ9 .E52 2003

Macmillan encyclopedia of death and dying
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1073 .M33 2003

Measures for clinical practice
MSU Meyer Ref BF176.C66 2000

Social science encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref H41 .S63 1996

Social work almanac
MSU Meyer Ref HV90 .G53 1995

Social work dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref HV12 .B37 2003

Subject Guide

Crystal Gale's picture
Crystal Gale
Contact:
110E Meyer Library
417-836-4345

Downloading E-Books