Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

History: History of the United States to 1877

Finding Journal Titles

TDNet Journal Tracker

TDNet is a clearinghouse of all the libraries' journal subscriptions. Use TDNet to check if journals and appropriate publication years are available electronically or in print. If you already have a journal citation, or you are looking for a particular journal title, use this source.

Selected Journals

These are only selected magazines & scholarly journals in the field of American History.  Many are available electronically, while others may be available in paper or microforms.  To see the complete list of journal holdings for MSU Libraries, go to "Journal & Magazine Titles (TDNet)" on the library's home page. 

Recent Books

Selected Databases

To find articles on subjects dealing with American History from magazines or scholarly journals, use the indexes and databases below. Note this is not a comprehensive list, click on the link to Indexes & Databases on the Missouri State University Libraries homepage to view the entire list.

Reference Books

The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Chronological history of U.S. foreign relations
MSU Meyer Ref E183.7.B745 2003 3 volumes.

Colonialism : an international, social, cultural, and political encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref JV22 .C65 2003 Vol. 1-3

Encyclopedia of American History
MSU Meyer Ref E174.E53 2003

Encyclopedia of American Indian contributions to the world
MSU Meyer Ref E54.5.K46 2002

Encyclopedia of American war heroes
MSU Meyer Ref E181.N882002

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
MSU Meyer Ref KF4548.E53 2000 Vol. 1-6

Encyclopedia of the new American nation : the emergence of the United States, 1754-1829
MSU Meyer Ref E301 .E53 2006 Vol. 1-3

Famous first facts : a record of first happenings, discoveries, and inventions in American history
MSU Meyer Ref AG5 .K315 2006

Global encyclopedia of historical writing
MSU Meyer Ref D13 .G47 1998

Historic documents
MSU Meyer Ref E839.5H57 2003

Historical encyclopedia of American labor
MSU Meyer Ref HD8066 .H57 2004 Vol. 1-2

History of women in the United States : state-by-state reference
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1410 .H58 2004 Vol. 1-4

Immigration in U.S. history
MSU Meyer Ref JV6450 .I565 2006 Vol. 1-2

Landmark supreme court cases : the most influential decisions of the supreme court of the United States
MSU Meyer Ref KF8742 .H37 2004

Native Americans
MSU Meyer Ref E93 .N32 2002

Propaganda and mass persuasion : a historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present
MSU Meyer Ref HM1231 .C85 2003

Scribner encyclopedia of American lives
MSU Meyer Ref CT213 .S37 1998

World history of tax rebellions : an encyclopedia of tax rebels, revolts, and riots from antiquity to the present
MSU Meyer Ref HJ2250 .B87 2004