Anthropological Index OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThe Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum, which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology from academic institutions and publishers around the world. This online index includes all entries from its print index version, with records back to 1957.
SocINDEX with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
ATLA ReligionThis link opens in a new windowThe ATLA Religion Database is a major research tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with most coverage from 1949 to the present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life provides citations and abstracts to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with coverage dating back to 1954. This database covers all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Pro Tips
Use connector words
cats AND kittens
cats OR kittens
cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Archaeology in America: An EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowArchaeology in America provides readers with an accessible overview of the archaeological site in North America, including the history of the people who left the artifacts, and the nature of the ongoing research.
American Indian ExperienceThis link opens in a new windowThe American Indian Experience provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America. It includes full-text books, hundreds of primary documents and media, treaties, speeches, and captivity narratives as well as traditional storytelling, a wealth of maps, photographs, and video.
Encyclopedia of AnthropologyThis link opens in a new windowProvides over 1000 entries on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Special attention is given to: hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.
Daily Life Through HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) "supports courses in American history and literature and is an outstanding, cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
Remote Access to Resources
Accessing from off campus: When you are on campus, the databases and resources are readily accessible. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.