Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

Religious Studies: Biography

Web Resources

http://Biography.com — The Web site of the Biography Channel

http://INFOPLEASE.com/people.html — Includes biographies by category as well as a search feature 

http://IMDB.com — Internet Movie Database with biographies of actors

http://www.distinguishedwomen.com — Biographies of women, including search by subject and name.  Links provided to additional Web sites on women in history.

Online Databases

The following online databases are located on the library's home page .  To locate this list of databases, click on Articles & Databases.  Then, choose "Other Research Databases - By Type" and click on Biography.  Note that several of the databases limit the number of users.

American National Biography — Biographies of deceased persons who influenced American history

Biographies Reference Bank Select — Biographical profiles of current celebrities, authors, historical figures, etc.

Dictionary of Scientific Biography — Biographies of natural scientists and mathematicians

Discovering Collection — Biographies in areas of literature, history, geography, science, and social studies

Marquis Who’s Who on the Web — current biographies

Oxford African American Studies Center — biographical and research articles on African American history and culture

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography — Detailed biographical essays and pictures of deceased persons with significant connection to British historyBottom of Form

Reference Books

The Reference Department has the following reference books focusing on biographical information:

Biography and Genealogy Master Index  Ref CT2134.B5x

Current World Leaders  Ref D839.C875

Biography Index  Ref CT213.Z1 B5

Current Biography  Ref  CT100 .C8

Who’s Who in World Politics: from 1860 to the Present Day  Ref D21.3 .P35 1996

The International Who’s Who of Women  Ref CT3202.I58x

Who’s Who of American Women  Ref E747.W65

The International Who’s Who  Ref CT120.I5

Who’s Who: An Annual Biographical Dictionary, with which is Incorporated “Men and Women of the Time”    Ref DA28 .W6

The Reference Department also has numerous books focusing on biographical information about of specific areas: artists, actors, scientists, writers, etc.  Use SWAN to access these additional reference books and books from the library’s general collection.  Note that books with call numbers beginning with Ref are located in the Reference Collection.