- Access to Extension and Experiment Station Publications
- AgNIC's compilation of Tree Fruits sites
- Agricultural Marketing Service of the USDA - Quality Standards
- American Pomological Society
- Appalachian Fruit Research Station
- Apples and Oranges - A Comparison by S A. Sandford, Annals of Improbable Research (AIR) Vol. 1, No. 3,May/June 1995
- ATTRA's Overview of Organic Fruit Production
- Berries - Factsheets, Infosheets and Publications
- Berry Basket Newsletter, The
- Berry plants for women's nutrition & medicine, by Katsi Cook and Akwesasne Mohawk
- Building Plans File of the Tennessee Agricultural Extension Service
- California Rare Fruit Growers Association
- California Tree Fruit Agreement
- Classifying Fruit
- Comprehensive Listing of Alternate and Botanical Names for Horticultural Crops
- Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries, Inc. (CBHL)
- Crop Profiles from the USDA
- Edible Landscaping & Gardening: Plant Descriptions, Cultivation Tips, Lore, Trivia, Cultivars by Ben Sharvy
- eHow: Home and Garden
An informative website on how to grow ornamentals, edibles, trees, and other gardening basics.
- Ethnobotany, Definitions and Scope of
From the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden, Coral Gables, Florida. (.pdf format)
- Fabulous Fruits
Topics include: Top Ten Fruits, Fruits that are Kind to the Intestines, 31 Favorite Fruits and the Nutrients They Contain, Top 10 Fiber-rich Fruits, Top 7 Vitamin C-containing Fruits
- Flower and Fruit Vocabulary
From the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden, Coral Gables, Florida. (.pdf format)
- Freezing Fruits by Pat Beck
Nutrition Specialist, North Dakota State University Extension Service, May 1996 FN-182(Revised) AUGUST 2004
- Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Shipments by Commodities, States and Months
FVAS-4, Calendar year 1999 (.pdf format)
- From Harvest to Health
From Harvest to Health is a program developed by University Extension and the Missouri Department of Agriculture to promote locally grown products. Products include apples, grapes, honey, peaches, raspberries and strawberries.
- Fruit Facts
Fact sheets on many of the more uncommon or regional fruits.
- Fruit Gardening in the Landscape: Fruit Gardening in Texas
- Fruit Nutrition Facts
Nutritional information, facts, history, types of cultivars/varieties, harvesting and storage techniques, and so forth are highlighted for each fruit.
- Fruit Pages
Everything you want to know about fruit. A comprehensive look at fruit and human nutrition, losing weight, nutrition charts and information about the different fruits.
- Fruit Production for the Home Gardener
A manual from Penn State Cooperative Extension. Covers: Controlling Wildlife Damage in the Home Fruit Garden; Pome Fruits: Apples and Pears; Stone Fruits: Peaches, Nectarines, Plums, Apricots, and Cherries; Grapes; Brambles; Strawberries; Blueberries; Gooseberries and Currants; Elderberries; Hardy Kiwi.
- Fruit publications
From the University of Arkansas.
- Fruitarian Universal Network - Frequently Asked Questions
"A fruitarian is a person who eats fruit and only fruit."
The Internet site for the global fresh produce business.
- Fruits of Warm Climates by Julia F. Morton
This online book describes many of the fruits grown in warm climates including figs, tangelos, and lychees.
- FRUITS: Energy and nutrition values per 100 g eatable part
Grapes are listed alphabetically in the full table of fruits.
- Gardening Launch Pad: Fruits and Nuts
- Grow Fruit & Nuts in the Suburbs & Homesteads-Index to information by Species
- Horticulture Publication Listing
Dozens of great fruit culture publications are accessible through this site from the College of Agriculture and Home Economics at New Mexico State University.
New Zealand's largest horticulture Internet-based information centre.
- Key to Major Fruit Types
Use this key to classify different types of fruits; from the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden, Coral Gables, Florida. (.pdf format)
- Lists of Cultivars from the Brooks & Olmo Register
Cultivars registered since 1994 and published in registers 36 to 41 in the journal of Hortscience.
- Listserves and mailgroups within the fruit industry
- Living & Raw Foods
- Lorette System of Pruning, The by Mark Lee
Describes, summarizes and illustrates the fruit tree pruning system of Louis Lorette of France from the early 1900's. The site also includes scanned pages from the book, Pruning of Fruit Trees by Paul Champagnat, published in English by Crosby Lockwood and Sons of London in 1954.
- Measurements, Conversion Units & Calculations Useful to Farmers (ATTRA)
Provides dozens of links to calculators such as, Fertilizer Calculation for Home Gardens & Lawns, Land Area Calculator, Calculating Manure and Manure Nutrient Application Rates, Bushels, Test Weights and Calculations, and Weights and Processed Yields of Fruits and Vegetables in Retail Containers.
- Mid-Atlantic Regional Fruit Loop, The
The goal of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Fruit Loop is to provide information resources that are useful to commercial fruit producers, county and regional agricultural agents, fruit industry professionals, Master Gardeners, and home orchardists. Content for the "Loop" has been provided by fruit professionals from Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, the USDA/ARS, Virginia, and West Virginia."
- MidFEx, short for Midwest Fruit Explorers
Is a non-profit organization of amateur backyard fruit growing enthusiasts. Most of the members live in the counties surrounding Chicago.
North American Fruit Explorers, Inc.
- OASIS: Online Advice & Shopper Information System
"OASIS is your one-stop source for information about selecting, preparing & using fresh vegetables."
- Opportunities for Fruit Production in Saskatchewan by Bob Bors
Department of Plant Sciences, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada. (in .pdf format)
The Fruit & Vegetable Storage Expert System Database
- Organic Production Links
From the Northwest Berry and Grape InfoNet.
- Pennsylvania Tree Fruit Production Guide
From Penn State Cooperative Extension. This guide emphasizes the most recently developed production methods that use alternative pest control strategies, such as integrated pest management, to reduce pesticide use. To use such systems, the grower needs to have a complete understanding of the fruit planting as an entire system.
- Planning For Profit Enterprise Budgets, Value Added and Food Processing
Sponsored by the Farm Business Management Information Network for British Columbia, Canada (FBMInet-BC).
- Planning For Profit: Berries & Vines
- Planning For Profit: Tree Fruits
- Plant Physiology Information Website
Home Page for Ross Koning.
- Plants for a Future Database
This Species Database contains details of nearly 7000 plants, all of which are either edible, have medicinal properties or have some other use such as fibers, oils or soaps. For each plant the database contains details of the uses of the plants, as well as information on the environment it will grow in, and cultivation details.
- Produce Marketing Association
"Here you'll harvest an abundance of information and recipes that make the bountiful varieties, delicious flavors and healthy benefits of fruits, vegetables, nuts and herbs come alive.”
- Propagating Deciduous Fruit Plants Common to Georgia
Describes techniques for propagating apples, figs, peaches, pears and other fruits. An excellent treatise on grafting techniques.
- Small Fruits of New York, NY Agricultural Experiment Station, 1925 by U. P. Hedrick.
Pictorial archive of historic New York State fruit. Images are arranged by type of fruit: Brambles (Red and Hybrid Raspberries; Black Raspberries; Blackberries, Dewberries, Hybrid Berries), Bush Fruits (Currants, Gooseberries), and Strawberries. Images are in JPEG format.
- Southern Region Small Fruit Consortium (SRSFC)
Sponsored by: Clemson University, North Carolina State University, and the University of Georgia.
- Southwest Michigan Research and Extension Center
- System-wide Information for Genetic Resources
This page includes links to information on global plant germplasm banks and genetic stock centers.
- UMass Fruit Advisor, The
- USDA Risk Management Agency Feasibility Studies
Studies include Blueberry, Bramble, and Strawberry. The executive summary is a text article and the full study is in pdf format.
- World Markets for Organic Fruit and Vegetables
World Markets for Organic Fruit and Vegetables--Opportunities for Developing Countries in the Production and Export of Organic Horticultural Products. Online publication from the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), Rome, 2001.
Is the research and extension center of Washington State University dedicated to the tree fruit sciences.
- XPLOR - Horticultural publications
From the University of Missouri Extension.