AFI Top 100List Of Feature FilmsInternational Films ListItem Status ExplanationsCirculation Polices
Injury Prevention for SingersMusic TheaterRepertoire Guides
MUS 239: Intro. to World MusicMUS 538: Piano PedagogyMUS 744: The Rite of Spring (graduate seminar)MUS 543/683: Music of the RenaissanceMUS 544/684: Music of the Baroque EraMUS 546/686: Music of the Romantic Era
WoodwindsBrassPiano, Organ, CarillonStrings
This is the "Home" page of the "Music & Media " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries home page
Includes research guides on jazz studies, music education, piano pedagogy, world music, instrumental and vocal resources, and much more!
Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.missouristate.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Collections

Music materials are located on the Lower Level of Meyer Library in Music & Media Collections, which combines what was formerly the Music Library in Ellis Hall with Media Collections.  These materials, along with the music online resources, are chosen primarily to support the curricular and informational needs of the Missouri State University Department of Music.  The library faculty and staff in Music & Media Collections also strive to maintain a strong and balanced collection of materials and online resources in all areas of music for the benefit of researchers throughout the University and the region, as well as for visiting scholars and the general public.  We will be happy to help you locate music books, scores, sound recordings, videos, listening/viewing equipment, Finale computers, music online resources, and other materials for your music research and enjoyment.  For more information about the film collections, see the Media Guides tab here or check out the Film Subject Guide.

 

Finding Materials

SWAN Catalog

Use SWAN to find books, scores, sound recordings, videos, and more!


To begin your search, we recommend starting with the default Keyword search option, limiting your results to Missouri State (as shown below). When using the Keyword search option, it is usually not necessary to type in the entire title; instead, use the least-common words. For example, if you are wanting to find the song "The Love Song of Har Dyal" by Charles Ives, entering har dyal ives should be enough to pull up the books that contain that particular song.


 

Ways to narrow your search:

Find the "Modify Search" key on the results pages in the catalog. This will bring you to the Advanced Keyword Search page with the drop-down boxes.


You can now add limits to your search by selecting specific "Other Formats" from the "Add Limits" box. Try selecting Scores, Music Audio, or Video/Film to narrow your search. 
Note: We generally don't recommend placing any limitors under "Specific Library Location" (i.e., MSU Meyer-Music Coll.), since items of interest may be located elsewhere in Meyer Library.

 



Searchpath Tutorial

Find out more about SWAN and other library resources by taking our short, online tutorial.


Mobius


A statewide consortium of mostly college and university libraries. Search the MOBIUS catalog to borrow books from other consortium members and request books for delivery to MSU’s libraries. Most MOBIUS items arrive in 2-3 days. Go to Circulation for pick-up. If you fill out a notification form at Circulation, they will e-mail you when your item arrives.


 

Logo

Springfield-Greene County Library District

Search the catalog

Students living on campus and Greene county residents can use our local public library. Click here to request an online card. The Park Central branch and the Midtown branch are the locations closest to the Springfield campus. (You can take the shuttle to the square downtown to get to the Park Central branch). If you can't find a book inour Library and need it quickly, the public library is a great place to check.

 

 

Contact Us

Service Desk
(417) 836-5434


Susanna Reichling
SueReichling@MissouriState.edu
Daytime Supervisor/Media Reserves
(417) 836-6455

Scott Fischer
ScottFischer@MissouriState.edu
Evening Supervisor
(417) 836-6455
 
Links:

Music and Media Collections

 

General Contact Information

Duane G. Meyer Library

Street Address:

850 S. John Q. Hammons Pkwy

Springfield, MO 65897

 

Mailing Address:

901 S. National Ave.

Springfield, MO 65897

Campus Map
 

Hours

Normal Music & Media Collection hours are:
 
Mon.-Thurs: 7:00 am - 2:00 am*
Friday: 7:00 am - 6:00 pm*
Saturday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm*
Sunday: noon - 2:00 am*
*Please note that circulation services close 15 minutes before the library closes.
 
Hours change during summers, breaks, and holidays.  To check hours for a certain day go to the MSU Libraries' Master Calendar.
 

Questions or Comments

Please feel free to email us if you have any questions or comments you would like to share.

Music&Media@library.missouristate.edu

 

Social Networking

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip